The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 03, 2009, 11:30am
Ch1town
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Throw-in sitch

A1 has the ball side out in the f/c. He passes the ball too far & it's above the cylinder, B5 jumps & knocks the ball away. Under Fed rule set, what do you have?



Thanks in advance!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 03, 2009, 11:36am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,191
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ch1town View Post
A1 has the ball side out in the f/c. He passes the ball too far & it's above the cylinder, B5 jumps & knocks the ball away. Under Fed rule set, what do you have?



Thanks in advance!
An idiot playing defense.

Pretty sure this is BI, since he hits the ball while it's in the cylinder. Can't be GT since it's not a try, though. But, I'm no expert on GT/BI, so I'll leave this for Nevada to correct.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 03, 2009, 11:47am
Ch1town
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Ok, I had a NCAA official run that sitch by me last night & BI is what he said too. I was always under the assumption that both GT & BI had to be on a try

So BI on a throw-in or a pass is possible, doesn't seem right but it is possible...

Who says there's nothing to be gained by working wreck ball



Thanks for confirming Snaqs!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 03, 2009, 12:03pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 5,687
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ch1town View Post
Ok, I had a NCAA official run that sitch by me last night & BI is what he said too. I was always under the assumption that both GT & BI had to be on a try

So BI on a throw-in or a pass is possible, doesn't seem right but it is possible...

Who says there's nothing to be gained by working wreck ball



Thanks for confirming Snaqs!
When all else fails, go to the definition of BI - 4-6. There is no mention of a shot, try or tap in that definition. However, in the definition of goaltending, 4-22, there is the mention of a try or tap in flight.
__________________
M&M's - The Official Candy of the Department of Redundancy Department.

(Used with permission.)
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 03, 2009, 12:05pm
Ch1town
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Absolutely. I don't know why I lumped the 2 together but I got it down now!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 03, 2009, 12:49pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Posts: 730
Bi/gt

That is correct. You CAN have BI during a Throw-in.
You CAN NOT have GT during a Throw-in.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 03, 2009, 12:49pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Virginia Beach, VA
Posts: 214
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ch1town View Post
Absolutely. I don't know why I lumped the 2 together but I got it down now!
But basket interferrence, i believe has to do with contacting the rim or net, right? In the original post, sir-hop-alot never hits either, just the ball. Please correct me if i'm wrong, don't have exact wording of books in front of me.

so...even if ball is above cylinder on a non-try (in this case, a throw-in) and genius defender (whom I'm jealous of, b/c i could never jump that high decides to act like a fly-swatter, it would still be goaltending?

Last edited by vbzebra; Thu Sep 03, 2009 at 12:52pm.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 03, 2009, 12:54pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,191
Quote:
Originally Posted by vbzebra View Post
But basket interferrence, i believe has to do with contacting the rim or net, right? In the original post, sir-hop-alot never hits either, just the ball. Please correct me if i'm wrong, don't have exact wording of books in front of me.

so...even if ball is above cylinder on a non-try (in this case, a throw-in) and genius defender (whom I'm jealous of, b/c i could never jump that high decides to act like a fly-swatter, it would still be goaltending?
Goal tending requires a try, so this cannot be GT since it's during a throwin still.

BI does not, and it also includes contacting the ball while it is in the cylinder. There really is no such thing as "above the cylinder," so this would be BI.

If, however, he hits the ball before it gets into the cylinder, it's nothing. Play on.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 03, 2009, 01:06pm
Ch1town
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by vbzebra View Post
But basket interferrence, i believe has to do with contacting the rim or net, right? In the original post, sir-hop-alot never hits either, just the ball. Please correct me if i'm wrong, don't have exact wording of books in front of me.
SECTION 6 BASKET INTERFERENCE

Basket interference occurs when a player:

ART.1...Touches the ball or any part of the basket while the ball is on or within the basket.

ART.2...Touches the ball while any part of the ball is within the imaginary cyclinder which has the basket ring as its lower base.

ART.3...Reaches through the basket from below and touches the ball before it enters the cylinder.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 03, 2009, 01:17pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,240
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ch1town View Post
Ok, I had a NCAA official run that sitch by me last night & BI is what he said too. I was always under the assumption that both GT & BI had to be on a try

So BI on a throw-in or a pass is possible, doesn't seem right but it is possible...

Who says there's nothing to be gained by working wreck ball



Thanks for confirming Snaqs!
There's a specific case play that's nearly identical to the OP.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 03, 2009, 01:22pm
Ch1town
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
There's a specific case play that's nearly identical to the OP.
Really, current or back in the day?

Umm where's Nevada @...
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 03, 2009, 01:30pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 5,687
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ch1town View Post
Really, current or back in the day?

Umm where's Nevada @...
I'm not Nevada, nor do I play him on TV.

But I believe 9.11.2(c) is what you're looking for.
__________________
M&M's - The Official Candy of the Department of Redundancy Department.

(Used with permission.)
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 03, 2009, 01:35pm
Ch1town
Guest
 
Posts: n/a


Thank you sir!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 03, 2009, 04:22pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 18,379
This Is Why I Pay My $12.00 To Join The NFHS ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by M&M Guy View Post
But I believe 9.11.2(c) is what you're looking for.
9.11.2 SITUATION C: Since it is a violation for thrower A1 to throw the ball directly into the basket from out of bounds, what happens if B1 touches the throw-in pass while the ball is in the cylinder above A’s basket? RULING: B1 is charged with basket interference and a two-point goal is scored. Team B is awarded the ball for a throw-in anywhere along the end lines as after a scored goal except the official shall place the ball at the disposal of a player of Team B for a throw-in from any point outside the end line. (4-6)
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

I was in prison and you came to visit me. (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 03, 2009, 05:57pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 242
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
9.11.2 SITUATION C: Since it is a violation for thrower A1 to throw the ball directly into the basket from out of bounds, what happens if B1 touches the throw-in pass while the ball is in the cylinder above As basket? RULING: B1 is charged with basket interference and a two-point goal is scored. Team B is awarded the ball for a throw-in anywhere along the end lines as after a scored goal except the official shall place the ball at the disposal of a player of Team B for a throw-in from any point outside the end line. (4-6)
Not that the rules book is without errors, but shouldn't this read "and two points are awarded to Team A."?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WF v. UNC last second sitch theboys Basketball 8 Wed Jan 14, 2009 08:46am
Sitch: FC throw-in near division line. mick Basketball 1 Wed Dec 05, 2007 06:58pm
Help with a sitch.... SeanFitzRef Basketball 4 Sat Oct 20, 2007 03:10pm
Sitch Skahtboi Softball 27 Mon Mar 20, 2006 10:11am
Sub sitch........ zebra44 Basketball 2 Sat Jan 29, 2005 12:09am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:36am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1