The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Throw-in sitch (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/54540-throw-sitch.html)

Ch1town Thu Sep 03, 2009 11:30am

Throw-in sitch

A1 has the ball side out in the f/c. He passes the ball too far & it's above the cylinder, B5 jumps & knocks the ball away. Under Fed rule set, what do you have?

Thanks in advance!

Adam Thu Sep 03, 2009 11:36am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Ch1town (Post 623738)
A1 has the ball side out in the f/c. He passes the ball too far & it's above the cylinder, B5 jumps & knocks the ball away. Under Fed rule set, what do you have?

Thanks in advance!

An idiot playing defense.

Pretty sure this is BI, since he hits the ball while it's in the cylinder. Can't be GT since it's not a try, though. But, I'm no expert on GT/BI, so I'll leave this for Nevada to correct.

Ch1town Thu Sep 03, 2009 11:47am

Ok, I had a NCAA official run that sitch by me last night & BI is what he said too. I was always under the assumption that both GT & BI had to be on a try :mad:

So BI on a throw-in or a pass is possible, doesn't seem right but it is possible...

Who says there's nothing to be gained by working wreck ball ;)

Thanks for confirming Snaqs!

M&M Guy Thu Sep 03, 2009 12:03pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Ch1town (Post 623742)
Ok, I had a NCAA official run that sitch by me last night & BI is what he said too. I was always under the assumption that both GT & BI had to be on a try :mad:

So BI on a throw-in or a pass is possible, doesn't seem right but it is possible...

When all else fails, go to the definition of BI - 4-6. There is no mention of a shot, try or tap in that definition. However, in the definition of goaltending, 4-22, there is the mention of a try or tap in flight.

Ch1town Thu Sep 03, 2009 12:05pm

Absolutely. I don't know why I lumped the 2 together :( but I got it down now!