The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Officials' Time-out signal and mechanic (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/53870-officials-time-out-signal-mechanic.html)

ILMalti Wed Jul 08, 2009 03:27pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 613388)
That's not what I said. I said it's possible to have team control without player control. Player control is required for a timeout. Team control is not relevant because it's not sufficient.

Granted I used an example, but you missed the premise that you cannot JUST grant a time out to a coach because they requested that.
this is what this thread is about NOT my example. Did I miss something?

Ch1town Wed Jul 08, 2009 03:30pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 613390)
B1 dribbling the ball down the court. Team A coach requests TO, you blow your whistle and then realize the mistake.

Timeout is to be granted in HS rules.

And when the coach of Team B gets in your a$$ don't compound the mistake by whacking him/her :D

Adam Wed Jul 08, 2009 03:30pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ILMalti (Post 613392)
Granted I used an example, but you missed the premise that you cannot JUST grant a time out to a coach because they requested that.
this is what this thread is about NOT my example. Did I miss something?

I was correcting your teminology, because it's an important distiction. Threads veer slightly off topic all the time here, so it's normal to expand on someone's thought to make sure it is clarified. In fact, this particular thread was already off topic by the time you posted the team control reference.

Using the term "team control" in reference to granting a timeout just isn't correct.

Adam Wed Jul 08, 2009 03:32pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Ch1town (Post 613393)
And when the coach of Team B gets in your a$$ don't compound the mistake by whacking him/her :D

Depends. Admit your mistake, and tell him it has to be granted now. "Sorry coach, I blew it but we have to grant the TO now."

If he doesn't drop it there, I'm willing to ring him up.

Ch1town Wed Jul 08, 2009 03:34pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 613395)
"Sorry coach, I blew it but we have to grant the TO now."

If he doesn't drop it there, I'm willing to ring him up.

No doubt, but I've seen officials go directly to the ringing up & never thought to say "sorry coach."

ILMalti Wed Jul 08, 2009 03:34pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 613394)
I was correcting your teminology, because it's an important distiction. Threads veer slightly off topic all the time here, so it's normal to expand on someone's thought to make sure it is clarified. In fact, this particular thread was already off topic by the time you posted the team control reference.

Using the term "team control" in reference to granting a timeout just isn't correct.

Granted. I should put more thought when I use an example. Your point is well taken :o

Adam Wed Jul 08, 2009 03:36pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ILMalti (Post 613397)
Granted. I should put more thought when I use an example. Your point is well taken :o

I've done it a couple hundred times myself. Nevada usually corrects me. :)

Adam Wed Jul 08, 2009 03:38pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Ch1town (Post 613396)
No doubt, but I've seen officials go directly to the ringing up & never thought to say "sorry coach."

Ooh. Ouch. Sorry is the first thing out of my mouth if the other coach is so much as looking me when I report the TO. Normally, they don't care. The only time they say anything is towards the end of the game; and I've never seen "sorry" not difuse the situation immediately.

Raymond Wed Jul 08, 2009 03:38pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 613388)
That's not what I said. I said it's possible to have team control without player control. Player control is required for a timeout. Team control is not relevant because it's not sufficient.

So when the Lead is bouncing the ball to the free throw shooter.......

ILMalti Wed Jul 08, 2009 03:41pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 613384)
Wrong. Check the case play.
Essentially, the ball is not dead and the coach can request a TO. You grant it at this point.

I did and you are correct

Reference Situation 5.8.3.E .

Thank you

Adam Wed Jul 08, 2009 03:42pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 613400)
So when the Lead is bouncing the ball to the free throw shooter.......

Touche.
"or at the disposal of." Also applies to the thrower on a throwin.

Raymond Wed Jul 08, 2009 03:44pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 613402)
Touche.
"or at the disposal of." Also applies to the thrower on a throwin.

I had to get you. :D

Adam Wed Jul 08, 2009 03:46pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 613406)
I had to get you. :D

Yeah, I had it coming. Especially in this thread. :)

Now shut up.

Camron Rust Wed Jul 08, 2009 03:48pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 613402)
Touche.
"or at the disposal of." Also applies to the thrower on a throwin.

But if the lead is bouncing the ball at that moment, it is not yet at the disposal of the shooter/thrower. It only becomes at the disposal when it reaches the shooter/thrower (or when the ball is placed on the floor at the spot).

Back In The Saddle Wed Jul 08, 2009 03:50pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 613409)
But if the lead is bouncing the ball at that moment, it is not yet at the disposal of the shooter/thrower. It only becomes at the disposal when it reaches the shooter/thrower (or when the ball is placed on the floor at the spot).

If it hasn't reached the thrower, and therefore is not at the thrower's disposal, then the ball is dead and the TO may be granted.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:38am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1