The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Officials' Time-out signal and mechanic (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/53870-officials-time-out-signal-mechanic.html)

dsqrddgd909 Mon Jul 06, 2009 08:40am

Officials' Time-out signal and mechanic
 
I have read the manual, searched here and on-line. Can't find the answer.

What is the proper signal/mechanic for an official's time out following an injury or other instance where I need to stop the game? Is it simply the Stop Clock signal? Do I report that to the table?

Thanks.

Adam Mon Jul 06, 2009 08:45am

No need to report to the table, and yes, that's the signal.

Back In The Saddle Mon Jul 06, 2009 11:07am

You'll often see officials signal a "30" or pat themselves on the chest as an additional (although unnecessary, and technically incorrect) signal. I'm not recommending those, just saying you'll see them in common usage. If the reason you're stopping the game is obvious, nobody's watching you anyway. So a whistle and stop clock is quite sufficient.

grunewar Mon Jul 06, 2009 11:12am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Back In The Saddle (Post 612715)
You'll often see officials signal a "30" or pat themselves on the chest as an additional (although unnecessary, and technically incorrect) signal. I'm not recommending those, just saying you'll see them in common usage.

GUILTY! And now, something else I will work on!

tomegun Mon Jul 06, 2009 10:26pm

This is an easy one. Officials don't have time outs.

mick Tue Jul 07, 2009 05:43am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 612673)
No need to report to the table, and yes, that's the signal.

A quick verbal or visual communication to that side of the court is not a bad thing.

mbyron Tue Jul 07, 2009 11:59am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Hugh Refner (Post 612974)
OK - just kidding. Damn, I'm sounding more like Padgett every day. BTW - I wonder what has happened to him? I started reading this board about six months ago (started posting just recently) and really liked his humor - well, most of the time.

Sure, but don't you like the break, too?

dsqrddgd909 Wed Jul 08, 2009 12:02pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by tomegun (Post 612870)
This is an easy one. Officials don't have time outs.

Did a little more research,

"3.4.6 A. If a player is injured, an officials' time-out shall be declared..."

I think that's the only place it's mentioned.

M&M Guy Wed Jul 08, 2009 12:06pm

Be careful - you don't want to be calling a T on yourself if you request over the limit... :)

grunewar Wed Jul 08, 2009 12:31pm

So.....
 
a referee can "declare" a timeout for himself, but a coach or player must "request or ask" for one and then a referee "grants" it, right? ;)

mick Wed Jul 08, 2009 12:45pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by grunewar (Post 613308)
a referee can "declare" a timeout for himself, but a coach or player must "request or ask" for one and then a referee "grants" it, right? ;)

:)
Yea, most times it'll be granted, if the Official hears or sees the request.

ILMalti Wed Jul 08, 2009 02:59pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by grunewar (Post 613308)
a referee can "declare" a timeout for himself, but a coach or player must "request or ask" for one and then a referee "grants" it, right? ;)

Quote:

Originally Posted by mick (Post 613310)
:)
Yea, most times it'll be granted, if the Official hears or sees the request.

Assuming the coach requests the time out at the appropiate time. The official ensures that it is ok to grant (example team control belongs to the coaches team etc ) That is why a time out is not immediately granted. The official needs to ensure that he/she can grant the request.

Refer you to Rule 5.8.3

mick Wed Jul 08, 2009 03:05pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ILMalti (Post 613371)
Assuming the coach requests the time out at the appropiate time. The official ensures that it is ok to grant (example team control belongs to the coaches team etc ) That is why a time out is not immediately granted. The official needs to ensure that he/she can grant the request.

Refer you to Rule 5.8.3

Sometimes I give 'em to the wrong coach.
There's a rule for that, too. Eh? :)

Adam Wed Jul 08, 2009 03:06pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ILMalti (Post 613371)
Assuming the coach requests the time out at the appropiate time. The official ensures that it is ok to grant (example team control belongs to the coaches team etc ) That is why a time out is not immediately granted. The official needs to ensure that he/she can grant the request.

Refer you to Rule 5.8.3

Really? Team control?

ILMalti Wed Jul 08, 2009 03:07pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by dsqrddgd909 (Post 613295)
Did a little more research,

"3.4.6 A. If a player is injured, an officials' time-out shall be declared..."

I think that's the only place it's mentioned.

Can you please confirm 3.4.6A.

ILMalti Wed Jul 08, 2009 03:11pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 613374)
Really? Team control?

That was an example. If coach of team A requests a time out when the ball is in posession of B1 who is say dribbling (ie team control of B), the time out request cannot be granted.

Yes really

I did qualify with EXAMPLE

ILMalti Wed Jul 08, 2009 03:13pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mick (Post 613372)
Sometimes I give 'em to the wrong coach.
There's a rule for that, too. Eh? :)

Yup there is a rule for most things :) I do say for all but not to start a new whole topic in this thread....

Let me add the rulling 5.8.3

Grants a players/head coach's oral or visual request for a time out such requests being granted ONLY when :
a) the ball is in control or disposal of a player of his/her team
b) the ball is dead....unless...

Adam Wed Jul 08, 2009 03:17pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ILMalti (Post 613376)
That was an example. If coach of team A requests a time out when the ball is in posession of B1 who is say dribbling (ie team control of B), the time out request cannot be granted.

Yes really

I did qualify with EXAMPLE

My point is that team control is irrelevant to awarding a timeout.

Adam Wed Jul 08, 2009 03:17pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ILMalti (Post 613377)
Yup there is a rule for most things :) I do say for all but not to start a new whole topic in this thread....

Let me add the rulling 5.8.3

Grants a players/head coach's oral or visual request for a time out such requests being granted ONLY when :
a) the ball is in control or disposal of a player of his/her team
b) the ball is dead....unless...

So, what happens when you blow your whistle and award the timeout to a coach whose team does not have th ball? That's what Mitch was getting at.

ILMalti Wed Jul 08, 2009 03:18pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 613379)
My point is that team control is irrelevant to awarding a timeout.

see my post to Mick and see rule 5.8.3. Team control is relevant

ILMalti Wed Jul 08, 2009 03:19pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 613380)
So, what happens when you blow your whistle and award the timeout to a coach whose team does not have th ball? That's what Mitch was getting at.

Bad call and POI. You cannot award a team for our error. or for taking advantage of the situation

Adam Wed Jul 08, 2009 03:20pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ILMalti (Post 613381)
see my post to Mick and see rule 5.8.3. Team control is relevant

No, it's not. You actually quoted the relevant part of the rule.

"Player control" is key, and yes it must be a player no that coach's team. However, "team" control is not mentioned.

A coach's team may have team control but a timeout still not be granted by rule.

Adam Wed Jul 08, 2009 03:21pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ILMalti (Post 613382)
Bad call and POI. You cannot award a team for our error. or for taking advantage of the situation

Wrong. Check the case play.
Essentially, the ball is not dead and the coach can request a TO. You grant it at this point.

ILMalti Wed Jul 08, 2009 03:22pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 613383)
No, it's not. You actually quoted the relevant part of the rule.

"Player control" is key, and yes it must be a player no that coach's team. However, "team" control is not mentioned.

A coach's team may have team control but a timeout still not be granted by rule.

Ok so now you are saying that a person dribbling a ball does not have team control? If there is player control there is team control

For completenes see rule 4.12.2

Ch1town Wed Jul 08, 2009 03:24pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ILMalti (Post 613381)
see my post to Mick and see rule 5.8.3. Team control is relevant

Kinda, sorta, in a way BUT what's more important than TC, is that someone on the team has the ball in their possession when a TO is requested.

A1 swings the ball from the left wing to A2 on the right wing. Coach/player requests TO while the pass is in the air.
Is there TC? Yes
Should we grant the TO? No

BTW, dashes (-) relate to rules & dots (.) relate to casebook plays.

M&M Guy Wed Jul 08, 2009 03:24pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ILMalti (Post 613385)
Ok so now you are saying that a person dribbling a ball does not have team control? If there is player control there is team control

But there can be team control and no player control. And a TO cannot be granted when there is no player control, even though team control exists. That was Snaq's point. (And Ch1town's)

Adam Wed Jul 08, 2009 03:24pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ILMalti (Post 613385)
Ok so now you are saying that a person dribbling a ball does not have team control? If there is player control there is team control

That's not what I said. I said it's possible to have team control without player control. Player control is required for a timeout. Team control is not relevant because it's not sufficient.

ILMalti Wed Jul 08, 2009 03:24pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 613384)
Wrong. Check the case play.
Essentially, the ball is not dead and the coach can request a TO. You grant it at this point.

Please quote situation you are referring too

Adam Wed Jul 08, 2009 03:26pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ILMalti (Post 613389)
Please quote situation you are referring too

B1 dribbling the ball down the court. Team A coach requests TO, you blow your whistle and then realize the mistake.

Timeout is to be granted in HS rules.

Raymond Wed Jul 08, 2009 03:26pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ILMalti (Post 613385)
Ok so now you are saying that a person dribbling a ball does not have team control? If there is player control there is team control

For completenes see rule 4.12.2

There is team control during an interrupted dribble and a pass in flight. Will you be granting a time-out?

ILMalti Wed Jul 08, 2009 03:27pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 613388)
That's not what I said. I said it's possible to have team control without player control. Player control is required for a timeout. Team control is not relevant because it's not sufficient.

Granted I used an example, but you missed the premise that you cannot JUST grant a time out to a coach because they requested that.
this is what this thread is about NOT my example. Did I miss something?

Ch1town Wed Jul 08, 2009 03:30pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 613390)
B1 dribbling the ball down the court. Team A coach requests TO, you blow your whistle and then realize the mistake.

Timeout is to be granted in HS rules.

And when the coach of Team B gets in your a$$ don't compound the mistake by whacking him/her :D

Adam Wed Jul 08, 2009 03:30pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ILMalti (Post 613392)
Granted I used an example, but you missed the premise that you cannot JUST grant a time out to a coach because they requested that.
this is what this thread is about NOT my example. Did I miss something?

I was correcting your teminology, because it's an important distiction. Threads veer slightly off topic all the time here, so it's normal to expand on someone's thought to make sure it is clarified. In fact, this particular thread was already off topic by the time you posted the team control reference.

Using the term "team control" in reference to granting a timeout just isn't correct.

Adam Wed Jul 08, 2009 03:32pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Ch1town (Post 613393)
And when the coach of Team B gets in your a$$ don't compound the mistake by whacking him/her :D

Depends. Admit your mistake, and tell him it has to be granted now. "Sorry coach, I blew it but we have to grant the TO now."

If he doesn't drop it there, I'm willing to ring him up.

Ch1town Wed Jul 08, 2009 03:34pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 613395)
"Sorry coach, I blew it but we have to grant the TO now."

If he doesn't drop it there, I'm willing to ring him up.

No doubt, but I've seen officials go directly to the ringing up & never thought to say "sorry coach."

ILMalti Wed Jul 08, 2009 03:34pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 613394)
I was correcting your teminology, because it's an important distiction. Threads veer slightly off topic all the time here, so it's normal to expand on someone's thought to make sure it is clarified. In fact, this particular thread was already off topic by the time you posted the team control reference.

Using the term "team control" in reference to granting a timeout just isn't correct.

Granted. I should put more thought when I use an example. Your point is well taken :o

Adam Wed Jul 08, 2009 03:36pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ILMalti (Post 613397)
Granted. I should put more thought when I use an example. Your point is well taken :o

I've done it a couple hundred times myself. Nevada usually corrects me. :)

Adam Wed Jul 08, 2009 03:38pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Ch1town (Post 613396)
No doubt, but I've seen officials go directly to the ringing up & never thought to say "sorry coach."

Ooh. Ouch. Sorry is the first thing out of my mouth if the other coach is so much as looking me when I report the TO. Normally, they don't care. The only time they say anything is towards the end of the game; and I've never seen "sorry" not difuse the situation immediately.

Raymond Wed Jul 08, 2009 03:38pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 613388)
That's not what I said. I said it's possible to have team control without player control. Player control is required for a timeout. Team control is not relevant because it's not sufficient.

So when the Lead is bouncing the ball to the free throw shooter.......

ILMalti Wed Jul 08, 2009 03:41pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 613384)
Wrong. Check the case play.
Essentially, the ball is not dead and the coach can request a TO. You grant it at this point.

I did and you are correct

Reference Situation 5.8.3.E .

Thank you

Adam Wed Jul 08, 2009 03:42pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 613400)
So when the Lead is bouncing the ball to the free throw shooter.......

Touche.
"or at the disposal of." Also applies to the thrower on a throwin.

Raymond Wed Jul 08, 2009 03:44pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 613402)
Touche.
"or at the disposal of." Also applies to the thrower on a throwin.

I had to get you. :D

Adam Wed Jul 08, 2009 03:46pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 613406)
I had to get you. :D

Yeah, I had it coming. Especially in this thread. :)

Now shut up.

Camron Rust Wed Jul 08, 2009 03:48pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 613402)
Touche.
"or at the disposal of." Also applies to the thrower on a throwin.

But if the lead is bouncing the ball at that moment, it is not yet at the disposal of the shooter/thrower. It only becomes at the disposal when it reaches the shooter/thrower (or when the ball is placed on the floor at the spot).

Back In The Saddle Wed Jul 08, 2009 03:50pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 613409)
But if the lead is bouncing the ball at that moment, it is not yet at the disposal of the shooter/thrower. It only becomes at the disposal when it reaches the shooter/thrower (or when the ball is placed on the floor at the spot).

If it hasn't reached the thrower, and therefore is not at the thrower's disposal, then the ball is dead and the TO may be granted.

Raymond Wed Jul 08, 2009 03:57pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 613407)
Yeah, I had it coming. Especially in this thread. :)

Now shut up.

I'm offended. I thought this was the kinder, gentler forum? Is the Jurassic period resurfacing?

Adam Wed Jul 08, 2009 03:57pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 613409)
But if the lead is bouncing the ball at that moment, it is not yet at the disposal of the shooter/thrower. It only becomes at the disposal when it reaches the shooter/thrower (or when the ball is placed on the floor at the spot).

Quote:

Originally Posted by Back In The Saddle (Post 613410)
If it hasn't reached the thrower, and therefore is not at the thrower's disposal, then the ball is dead and the TO may be granted.

Good grief, you're both right. BNR's point was that I focused on player control when that is not necessarily required. However, my original point, that team control is not relevant, stands. :)

OK, new rule: During a live ball, only the player holding or dribbling the ball may request a timeout. My head will spin less that way.

Adam Wed Jul 08, 2009 03:58pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 613415)
I'm offended. I thought this was the kinder, gentler forum? Is the Jurassic period resurfacing?

It was getting too touchy-feely for a moment and I was getting dizzy.

Ch1town Wed Jul 08, 2009 04:00pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 613416)
Good grief, you're both right. BNR's point was that I focused on player control when that is not necessarily required. However, my original point, that team control is not relevant, stands. :)

OK, new rule: During a live ball, only the player holding or dribbling the ball, his/her teammates or their coach may request a timeout. My head will spin less that way.

Fixed it for ya ;)

Adam Wed Jul 08, 2009 04:08pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Ch1town (Post 613420)
Fixed it for ya ;)

Nope, mine was my dream for the new rule. You just ruined it and now I'm going to cry.

Ch1town Wed Jul 08, 2009 04:11pm

My badd :D

Camron Rust Wed Jul 08, 2009 04:13pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 613388)
That's not what I said. I said it's possible to have team control without player control. Player control is required for a timeout. Team control is not relevant because it's not sufficient.


Even though it is not sufficient, I wouldn't say it is not relevant. Team control is implied by player control.

Not relevant would be like saying that the ability to be granted a timeout depends on the number of team fouls.

mbyron Wed Jul 08, 2009 04:31pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 613424)
Even though it is not sufficient, I wouldn't say it is not relevant. Team control is implied by player control.

Not relevant would be like saying that the ability to be granted a timeout depends on the number of team fouls.

When the question is, "what's sufficient to call a time out," the fact that player control implies team control is irrelevant. Team control is not sufficient. Player control is.

I won't quibble with the idea that team fouls are "more irrelevant."

Adam Wed Jul 08, 2009 04:47pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 613424)
Even though it is not sufficient, I wouldn't say it is not relevant. Team control is implied by player control.

Not relevant would be like saying that the ability to be granted a timeout depends on the number of team fouls.

I would say it's not relevant because having team control has nothing to do with the ability to request a timeout.

Not only is it not sufficient, it's not even required (at disposal). Team control never matters. The fact that it's always present during player control means nothing with regard to timeouts.

Back In The Saddle Wed Jul 08, 2009 05:23pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 613429)
I would say it's not relevant because having team control has nothing to do with the ability to request a timeout.

Not only is it not sufficient, it's not even required (at disposal). Team control never matters. The fact that it's always present during player control means nothing with regard to timeouts.

Agreed. Team control is neither required, nor sufficient for a legal time out request. At best it is casually related. Sometimes.

Just a whacky analogy: A player who is holding the ball most likely has a pivot foot. But, like team control, there are cases where a time out may be granted without an established pivot foot. However, unlike team control, having a pivot foot is sufficient for a legal time out request (assuming the request comes from the holder, a player teammate or his/her head coach). So...as relevancy goes, having a pivot foot, which we would agree is completely irrelevant to time out requests, may be less irrelevant than having team control. ;)

ILMalti Wed Jul 08, 2009 05:42pm

I am glad we are so "anal" for words used in an example. Perhaps we should apply this "anality (does such a word exist?) to the rules :)


shame on me; especially when i am so pushy about the rules
I did say my example was incorrectly thought out...:o

Camron Rust Wed Jul 08, 2009 08:21pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 613429)
I would say it's not relevant because having team control has nothing to do with the ability to request a timeout.

Not only is it not sufficient, it's not even required (at disposal). Team control never matters. The fact that it's always present during player control means nothing with regard to timeouts.


But, team control by the other team (among other things) does preclude being granted a timeout. And that is what I read the original post to be talking about...verifying that one team has control vs the other team having control. And, the fact that the other team does have team control directly means that a team can't have a timeout.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:11pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1