The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Officials' Time-out signal and mechanic (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/53870-officials-time-out-signal-mechanic.html)

ILMalti Wed Jul 08, 2009 03:11pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 613374)
Really? Team control?

That was an example. If coach of team A requests a time out when the ball is in posession of B1 who is say dribbling (ie team control of B), the time out request cannot be granted.

Yes really

I did qualify with EXAMPLE

ILMalti Wed Jul 08, 2009 03:13pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mick (Post 613372)
Sometimes I give 'em to the wrong coach.
There's a rule for that, too. Eh? :)

Yup there is a rule for most things :) I do say for all but not to start a new whole topic in this thread....

Let me add the rulling 5.8.3

Grants a players/head coach's oral or visual request for a time out such requests being granted ONLY when :
a) the ball is in control or disposal of a player of his/her team
b) the ball is dead....unless...

Adam Wed Jul 08, 2009 03:17pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ILMalti (Post 613376)
That was an example. If coach of team A requests a time out when the ball is in posession of B1 who is say dribbling (ie team control of B), the time out request cannot be granted.

Yes really

I did qualify with EXAMPLE

My point is that team control is irrelevant to awarding a timeout.

Adam Wed Jul 08, 2009 03:17pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ILMalti (Post 613377)
Yup there is a rule for most things :) I do say for all but not to start a new whole topic in this thread....

Let me add the rulling 5.8.3

Grants a players/head coach's oral or visual request for a time out such requests being granted ONLY when :
a) the ball is in control or disposal of a player of his/her team
b) the ball is dead....unless...

So, what happens when you blow your whistle and award the timeout to a coach whose team does not have th ball? That's what Mitch was getting at.

ILMalti Wed Jul 08, 2009 03:18pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 613379)
My point is that team control is irrelevant to awarding a timeout.

see my post to Mick and see rule 5.8.3. Team control is relevant

ILMalti Wed Jul 08, 2009 03:19pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 613380)
So, what happens when you blow your whistle and award the timeout to a coach whose team does not have th ball? That's what Mitch was getting at.

Bad call and POI. You cannot award a team for our error. or for taking advantage of the situation

Adam Wed Jul 08, 2009 03:20pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ILMalti (Post 613381)
see my post to Mick and see rule 5.8.3. Team control is relevant

No, it's not. You actually quoted the relevant part of the rule.

"Player control" is key, and yes it must be a player no that coach's team. However, "team" control is not mentioned.

A coach's team may have team control but a timeout still not be granted by rule.

Adam Wed Jul 08, 2009 03:21pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ILMalti (Post 613382)
Bad call and POI. You cannot award a team for our error. or for taking advantage of the situation

Wrong. Check the case play.
Essentially, the ball is not dead and the coach can request a TO. You grant it at this point.

ILMalti Wed Jul 08, 2009 03:22pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 613383)
No, it's not. You actually quoted the relevant part of the rule.

"Player control" is key, and yes it must be a player no that coach's team. However, "team" control is not mentioned.

A coach's team may have team control but a timeout still not be granted by rule.

Ok so now you are saying that a person dribbling a ball does not have team control? If there is player control there is team control

For completenes see rule 4.12.2

Ch1town Wed Jul 08, 2009 03:24pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ILMalti (Post 613381)
see my post to Mick and see rule 5.8.3. Team control is relevant

Kinda, sorta, in a way BUT what's more important than TC, is that someone on the team has the ball in their possession when a TO is requested.

A1 swings the ball from the left wing to A2 on the right wing. Coach/player requests TO while the pass is in the air.
Is there TC? Yes
Should we grant the TO? No

BTW, dashes (-) relate to rules & dots (.) relate to casebook plays.

M&M Guy Wed Jul 08, 2009 03:24pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ILMalti (Post 613385)
Ok so now you are saying that a person dribbling a ball does not have team control? If there is player control there is team control

But there can be team control and no player control. And a TO cannot be granted when there is no player control, even though team control exists. That was Snaq's point. (And Ch1town's)

Adam Wed Jul 08, 2009 03:24pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ILMalti (Post 613385)
Ok so now you are saying that a person dribbling a ball does not have team control? If there is player control there is team control

That's not what I said. I said it's possible to have team control without player control. Player control is required for a timeout. Team control is not relevant because it's not sufficient.

ILMalti Wed Jul 08, 2009 03:24pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 613384)
Wrong. Check the case play.
Essentially, the ball is not dead and the coach can request a TO. You grant it at this point.

Please quote situation you are referring too

Adam Wed Jul 08, 2009 03:26pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ILMalti (Post 613389)
Please quote situation you are referring too

B1 dribbling the ball down the court. Team A coach requests TO, you blow your whistle and then realize the mistake.

Timeout is to be granted in HS rules.

Raymond Wed Jul 08, 2009 03:26pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ILMalti (Post 613385)
Ok so now you are saying that a person dribbling a ball does not have team control? If there is player control there is team control

For completenes see rule 4.12.2

There is team control during an interrupted dribble and a pass in flight. Will you be granting a time-out?


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:55pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1