The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 28, 2002, 03:18pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Western Mass.
Posts: 9,105
Send a message via AIM to ChuckElias
Quote:
Originally posted by Brian Watson
Simply putting yourself between the defender and the person with the ball is not a foul, even if you move to maintain that screen, unless there is contact that puts the defender at a disadvantage. If you maintain a space that let's B adjust, I would let minor contact go.
Well said, Brian. I agree completely. But if A2 moves to initiate contact that hinders the defender, I would have a foul (I think).

I am thinking about a play during the NCAA tournament. I think it was this past March, but might've been in 2001. Same situation that we're discussing. A1 driving to the basket. B1 and A2 on the block. But A2 is hooking B1, holding him there, pinned to his hip, so B1 can't make a play on the ball. Lead official called it and the crowd booed and the announcers were bewildered. But when they showed the replay from the official's angle, you could see the hold as plain as day. Great call.

Chuck
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:37pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1