![]() |
|
|||
Quote:
I, as others, think the interp contradicts the written rule. But, that's JMO. It hasn't happened in any of my games yet. If it does....I'll whip out my rule book. ![]() |
|
|||
Quote:
![]() |
|
|||
Quote:
![]()
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
|
|||
If the ball hasn't yet touched the floor in the BC, then A1 is the player who causes the ball to attain BC status by catching it, however, as has been stated numerous times on here before, causing the ball to attain BC status is NOT a violation. The violation is for a team being the LAST to touch the ball BEFORE it gains BC status and the FIRST to touch it AFTER it has done so.
|
|
|||
Quote:
Quote:
![]()
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
|
|||
Quote:
control in the frontcourt, if he/she or a teammate last touched or was touched by the ball in the frontcourt before it went to the backcourt. |
|
|||
Quote:
Quote:
To me, B1 deflecting or hitting the ball in the air across the division line does not cause the ball to have backcourt status. Just like deflecting or hitting the ball over the boundary line does not cause the ball to have OOB status.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR Last edited by Raymond; Tue Apr 21, 2009 at 08:29am. |
|
|||
Quote:
The interp that came out essentially says that A2 catching it in the air is the player last touching the ball in the front court (just as you said above - the ball has yet to obtain backcourt status), and, at the same time, is the first player to touch it in the backcourt (due to the player's location). You're arguing with the wrong people, in the fact we all agree we do not follow this logic. Unfortunately we have to follow the interp, at least until they come to their senses and change it. ![]()
__________________
M&M's - The Official Candy of the Department of Redundancy Department. (Used with permission.) |
|
|||
Quote:
That why I posted earlier (not sure if it was this thread or another) that the rule itself needs some added verbiage. Maybe an exception needs to be added to the rule for this particular scenario, just like they wrote an exception for jumping in the air to/from bc/fc on throw-ins.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
|
|||
Quote:
"Last to touch, first to touch" is an easy concept to understand and follow, so I don't think it needs to be re-written at all. Just change the interp to say A2's catching in the air now gives the ball backcourt status, so B1's touch was the last touch in the frontcourt.
__________________
M&M's - The Official Candy of the Department of Redundancy Department. (Used with permission.) |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
|
|||
Quote:
How does a player "cause" the ball to go OOB?
__________________
M&M's - The Official Candy of the Department of Redundancy Department. (Used with permission.) |
|
|||
Quote:
There's no similar definition of "cause the ball to go to the BC" |
|
|||
Quote:
Team A has team control and is throwing the ball back-and-forth when B1 deflects it. If the ball lands in the BC then B1 has "caused" the ball to have BC status. If A1 catches the ball on the fly while standing in the BC then A1 "caused" the ball to have BC status.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Here's today's puzzler....... | Mark Padgett | Basketball | 6 | Sat Mar 29, 2003 11:27am |
AP throwin puzzler | Mark Padgett | Basketball | 5 | Fri Dec 22, 2000 03:09pm |