The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 20, 2009, 09:18am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,942
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
The reason that is doesn't explain it is that it simply can't happen.

Touching the ball instantly gives it BC status and you can't touch the ball before you touch the ball.
And who caused the ball to have BC status, B1 who hit the ball or A1 who caught the ball?
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 20, 2009, 09:58am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Michigan
Posts: 656
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef View Post
And who caused the ball to have BC status, B1 who hit the ball or A1 who caught the ball?
But by rule, B1 was the last to touch in the FC.
I, as others, think the interp contradicts the written rule.
But, that's JMO. It hasn't happened in any of my games yet.

If it does....I'll whip out my rule book.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 20, 2009, 01:58pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,942
Quote:
Originally Posted by CoachP View Post
But by rule, B1 was the last to touch in the FC.
I, as others, think the interp contradicts the written rule.
But, that's JMO. It hasn't happened in any of my games yet.

If it does....I'll whip out my rule book.
Just don't whip out the interp.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 20, 2009, 05:12pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef View Post
And who caused the ball to have BC status, B1 who hit the ball or A1 who caught the ball?
If the ball hasn't yet touched the floor in the BC, then A1 is the player who causes the ball to attain BC status by catching it, however, as has been stated numerous times on here before, causing the ball to attain BC status is NOT a violation. The violation is for a team being the LAST to touch the ball BEFORE it gains BC status and the FIRST to touch it AFTER it has done so.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 20, 2009, 07:52pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Wasilla Ak
Posts: 500
I'm sure the horse is dead. Can we stop beating the poor thing?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 20, 2009, 08:18pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,942
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
If the ball hasn't yet touched the floor in the BC, then A1 is the player who causes the ball to attain BC status by catching it, however, as has been stated numerous times on here before, causing the ball to attain BC status is NOT a violation. The violation is for a team being the LAST to touch the ball BEFORE it gains BC status and the FIRST to touch it AFTER it has done so.

Quote:
Originally Posted by numerous esteemed members of this forum
3) the team in team control must be the last team to touch the ball in the frontcourt and...
4) that same team must be first to touch the ball after it has been in the backcourt
Not to be a smart-a$$ , but what is the rules citation for this particular premise?
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 20, 2009, 08:39pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef View Post
Not to be a smart-a$$ , but what is the rules citation for this particular premise?
9-9-1 . . . A player shall not be the first to touch a ball after it has been in team
control in the frontcourt, if he/she or a teammate last touched or was touched by
the ball in the frontcourt before it went to the backcourt.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 21, 2009, 07:23am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,942
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
9-9-1 . . . A player shall not be the first to touch a ball after it has been in team
control in the frontcourt, if he/she or a teammate last touched or was touched by
the ball in the frontcourt before it went to the backcourt.
This is not the same meaning as
Quote:
4) that same team must be first to touch the ball after it has been in the backcourt.
I don't have a FED book with me but the NCAA rule reads: Rule 9 Section 12. Ball in Back Court Art. 1. "A player shall not be the first to touch the ball in his or her back court (with any part of his or her body, voluntarily or involuntarily) when the ball came from the front court while the player’s team was in team control and the player or a teammate caused the ball to go into the back court."

To me, B1 deflecting or hitting the ball in the air across the division line does not cause the ball to have backcourt status. Just like deflecting or hitting the ball over the boundary line does not cause the ball to have OOB status.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR

Last edited by Raymond; Tue Apr 21, 2009 at 08:29am.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 21, 2009, 08:55am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 5,687
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef View Post
This is not the same meaning as

I don't have a FED book with me but the NCAA rule reads: Rule 9 Section 12. Ball in Back Court Art. 1. "A player shall not be the first to touch the ball in his or her back court (with any part of his or her body, voluntarily or involuntarily) when the ball came from the front court while the player’s team was in team control and the player or a teammate caused the ball to go into the back court."

To me, B1 deflecting or hitting the ball in the air across the division line does not cause the ball to have backcourt status. Just like deflecting or hitting the ball over the boundary line does not cause the ball to have OOB status.
We all pretty much agree.

The interp that came out essentially says that A2 catching it in the air is the player last touching the ball in the front court (just as you said above - the ball has yet to obtain backcourt status), and, at the same time, is the first player to touch it in the backcourt (due to the player's location).

You're arguing with the wrong people, in the fact we all agree we do not follow this logic. Unfortunately we have to follow the interp, at least until they come to their senses and change it.
__________________
M&M's - The Official Candy of the Department of Redundancy Department.

(Used with permission.)
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 21, 2009, 09:06am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,942
Quote:
Originally Posted by M&M Guy View Post
We all pretty much agree.

The interp that came out essentially says that A2 catching it in the air is the player last touching the ball in the front court (just as you said above - the ball has yet to obtain backcourt status), and, at the same time, is the first player to touch it in the backcourt (due to the player's location).

You're arguing with the wrong people, in the fact we all agree we do not follow this logic. Unfortunately we have to follow the interp, at least until they come to their senses and change it.

That why I posted earlier (not sure if it was this thread or another) that the rule itself needs some added verbiage. Maybe an exception needs to be added to the rule for this particular scenario, just like they wrote an exception for jumping in the air to/from bc/fc on throw-ins.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Here's today's puzzler....... Mark Padgett Basketball 6 Sat Mar 29, 2003 11:27am
AP throwin puzzler Mark Padgett Basketball 5 Fri Dec 22, 2000 03:09pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:11pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1