The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Tue Apr 07, 2009, 01:22am
Official Forum Member

Tax Season

Hey Guys and Gals,

As tax season has come and is almost gone I just had a few questions for you officials and how you go about doing your taxes. I myself received two 1099's from two different schools because I worked at those places a lot during the seasons of football, softball, basketball, and now some baseball. Being that we have to claim that as income during tax time, what do you guys write off during taxes? Do you keep track of mileage? What are your expenses? Basically im trying to think of ways to save myself some money come tax time next year.(Im a college student also with another part time job, money means a lot!) Thanks in advance!
Old Tue Apr 07, 2009, 06:44am
9/11 - Never Forget

Send a message via Yahoo to grunewar
An oft asked question this time of year. Save everything - mileage receipts, expenses for uniforms, training, books, etc. I see a tax accountant and let him worry about it.

One sad thing about taxes is....you really find out just how little you actually make after you see how much you actually spent....
Old Tue Apr 07, 2009, 06:45am
Esteemed Forum Member

Tax Advice ...

My accountant asks for, and I provide, the following information: total income; total dues, fees, fines, insurance, etc.; total round trip mileage from home to all games, scrimmages, meetings, clinics, camps, etc.; total equipment purchases (uniforms, shoes, whistles, etc.), he allows me $5.00 per week for laundry.

I'll check with him to see if I missed something. I'll see him Sunday. It's visiting day at the prison. That reminds me. I need to bake a cake, and buy a file. He's a great accountant. He use to work for the firm of Cook, Books & Hyde. He recently took a position at the firm of Dewey, Cheatam & Howe.