The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   NCAA Tourney - Marquette v. Missouri (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/52481-ncaa-tourney-marquette-v-missouri.html)

actuary77 Sun Mar 22, 2009 06:52pm

NCAA Tourney - Marquette v. Missouri
 
Was watching the end of the Marquette v. Missouri game and I saw 2 interesting end of game situations.

1) When a Mizzou player was fouled in the act of shooting, he was grimacing and was "injured" that he was unable to attempt the free throws. As expected, a better free throw shooter from the bench subbed for him and took the free throws (he made both). After the free throws, the original "injured" player entered back to the game.

I know this is allowed in the official NCAA rules. But what surprised me was there was no restriction on when the "injured" player can come back in. So why aren't more coaches using this legal procedure of faking an injury if the fouled player is bad at free throws? Or maybe we really live in a world where most coaches honor the intent of the rule and not abuse it.

2) Is it really a throw-in violation when the player inbounding the ball stepped on the end line? The color commentator was pretty emphatic about it, but I couldn't find it in the rules.

I'm a HS official and I know that in HS, this is NOT a violation, at least not when it's after a field goal. The most you can do is stop the play and do a repeat of the throw-in.

Is it covered under the rule of the spot throw-in and it's technically leaving the spot?

Thanks.

grunewar Sun Mar 22, 2009 06:59pm

2) The Marquette player didn't step ON the endline, he clearly stepped OVER the endline by several inches. It was a great call backed up by the replay. T was all over it. The Marquette coach apparently was looking for an off-ball foul prior to the violation (my interpretation of his demonstrative behavior).

The game certainly had an exciting ending! Surely it was March Madness.

sseltser Sun Mar 22, 2009 07:00pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by actuary77 (Post 590467)
Was watching the end of the Marquette v. Missouri game and I saw 2 interesting end of game situations.

1) The officials correctly denied the replaced player reentry into the game until the clock had been correctly started and stopped.

My question: since the player who was too injured to shoot free throws can play seconds after being replaced, could the officials invoke the rule which is a techincal foul for intentionally allowing the wrong player to shoot the free throws? If he was legtimately injured, he wouldn't have been able to go back in that soon (one could assume, I hope). And the coach and team should know that he should have shot the free throws.

2) His toe touched the playing court inbounds. Part of the foot has to touch inbounds, not all of it.

JRutledge Sun Mar 22, 2009 07:02pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by sseltser (Post 590469)
1) The officials correctly denied the replaced player reentry into the game until the clock had been correctly started and stopped.

My question: since the player who was too injured to shoot free throws can play seconds after being replaced, could the officials invoke the rule which is a techincal foul for intentionally allowing the wrong player to shoot the free throws? If he was legtimately injured, he wouldn't have been able to go back in that soon (one could assume, I hope). And the coach and team should know that he should have shot the free throws.

NO!!!

Peace

Juulie Downs Sun Mar 22, 2009 07:04pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by actuary77 (Post 590467)

2) .....

I'm a HS official and I know that in HS, this is NOT a violation, at least not when it's after a field goal. The most you can do is stop the play and do a repeat of the throw-in.

Why stop the play and do a repeat? If it's not a violation, there's no reason to stop play, if it's a violation you certainly can't repeat the same play! I don't get what you're driving at here.

LocDog249 Sun Mar 22, 2009 07:09pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by actuary77 (Post 590467)
Was watching the end of the Marquette v. Missouri game and I saw 2 interesting end of game situations.

1) When a Mizzou player was fouled in the act of shooting, he was grimacing and was "injured" that he was unable to attempt the free throws. As expected, a better free throw shooter from the bench subbed for him and took the free throws (he made both). After the free throws, the original "injured" player entered back to the game.

I know this is allowed in the official NCAA rules. But what surprised me was there was no restriction on when the "injured" player can come back in. So why aren't more coaches using this legal procedure of faking an injury if the fouled player is bad at free throws? Or maybe we really live in a world where most coaches honor the intent of the rule and not abuse it.

2) Is it really a throw-in violation when the player inbounding the ball stepped on the end line? The color commentator was pretty emphatic about it, but I couldn't find it in the rules.

I'm a HS official and I know that in HS, this is NOT a violation, at least not when it's after a field goal. The most you can do is stop the play and do a repeat of the throw-in.

Is it covered under the rule of the spot throw-in and it's technically leaving the spot?

Thanks.

In #1, he tried to re-enter, but was not allowed to. NCAA states that time must run off the clock for a player to re-enter. Rule 3-4-14.

In #2, yes this is a violation as it is in HS. There are numerous rules that make this a violation. Most notably for NFHS rule 9-2-5.

My biggest question at the end of the game, is why did L not have a whistle for OOB with 1.1 seconds left? He just kinda turned to get the ball from the camera man. He seemed a little confused, like he thought the game was over.

eyezen Sun Mar 22, 2009 07:22pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by actuary77 (Post 590467)
Was watching the end of the Marquette v. Missouri game and I saw 2 interesting end of game situations.

1) When a Mizzou player was fouled in the act of shooting, he was grimacing and was "injured" that he was unable to attempt the free throws. As expected, a better free throw shooter from the bench subbed for him and took the free throws (he made both). After the free throws, the original "injured" player entered back to the game.

I know this is allowed in the official NCAA rules. But what surprised me was there was no restriction on when the "injured" player can come back in. So why aren't more coaches using this legal procedure of faking an injury if the fouled player is bad at free throws? Or maybe we really live in a world where most coaches honor the intent of the rule and not abuse it.

2) Is it really a throw-in violation when the player inbounding the ball stepped on the end line? The color commentator was pretty emphatic about it, but I couldn't find it in the rules.

I'm a HS official and I know that in HS, this is NOT a violation, at least not when it's after a field goal. The most you can do is stop the play and do a repeat of the throw-in.

Is it covered under the rule of the spot throw-in and it's technically leaving the spot?

Thanks.

1) The sub was a freshman with a 69% Ft average replacing a JR with a 77% FT average

2) God I hope you're really not a HS official

bradfordwilkins Sun Mar 22, 2009 07:42pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by eyezen (Post 590478)
1) The sub was a freshman with a 69% Ft average replacing a JR with a 77% FT average

2) God I hope you're really not a HS official

LOL Thanks for both of these... I didn't have the energy to look up #1... #2 crossed my mind several times lol.

jbduke Sun Mar 22, 2009 07:59pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 590471)
NO!!!

Peace

"Peace" rings quite hollow when you use the triple-exclamation.

JRutledge Sun Mar 22, 2009 08:01pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by jbduke (Post 590489)
"Peace" rings quite hollow when you use the triple-exclamation.

How old are you? :rolleyes:

Peace

BillyMac Sun Mar 22, 2009 09:23pm

I've Been Patiently Waiting For Just the Right Time For This:
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 590491)
Peace.

http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3596/...ce3a3d15_m.jpg

ODJ Sun Mar 22, 2009 09:41pm

Did anyone have a foul on that last shot? I did.
I know, I know, don't decide the game. C had no angle on it.

JRutledge Sun Mar 22, 2009 09:44pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ODJ (Post 590511)
Did anyone have a foul on that last shot? I did.
I know, I know, don't decide the game. C had no angle on it.

No.

Out of control player trying to cause contact on a heave. Based on what I saw, I do not think I would have called that if it was the first few minutes of the game. It has nothing to do with deciding the game, it just was not there.

Peace

just another ref Mon Mar 23, 2009 12:20am

Quote:

Originally Posted by grunewar (Post 590468)
2) The Marquette player didn't step ON the endline, he clearly stepped OVER the endline by several inches. It was a great call backed up by the replay. T was all over it. The Marquette coach apparently was looking for an off-ball foul prior to the violation (my interpretation of his demonstrative behavior).

Actually, I believe after the violation, which was undeniable, the coach was telling his team: "We have to foul."

zm1283 Mon Mar 23, 2009 12:45am

Quote:

Originally Posted by actuary77 (Post 590467)
2) Is it really a throw-in violation when the player inbounding the ball stepped on the end line? The color commentator was pretty emphatic about it, but I couldn't find it in the rules.

I'm a HS official and I know that in HS, this is NOT a violation, at least not when it's after a field goal. The most you can do is stop the play and do a repeat of the throw-in.

Thanks.

As others have asked, why would you stop the play and repeat the throw-in even he stepped ON the line? The Marquette player stepped OVER the line, which is a violation in HS and NCAA.

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 590562)
Actually, I believe after the violation, which was undeniable, the coach was telling his team: "We have to foul."

That is what I got from it also. He was telling his players to foul immediately.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:23pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1