The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 16, 2009, 12:02pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
This depends. Was the kick the first touch in bounds? If so, they got it wrong. It doesn't matter if it touches the floor or not, only whether the kick is the first player-touch of the ball (and where the throwin is after).

If the ball was tipped by another player before being kicked, the officials got it right.

Either way, they should have told the player whether it was a spot throwin or an end line throwin.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 16, 2009, 09:10pm
Fav theme: Roundball Rock
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Near Dog River (sorta)
Posts: 8,558
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
This depends. Was the kick the first touch in bounds? If so, they got it wrong. It doesn't matter if it touches the floor or not, only whether the kick is the first player-touch of the ball (and where the throwin is after).

If the ball was tipped by another player before being kicked, the officials got it right.

Either way, they should have told the player whether it was a spot throwin or an end line throwin.
VERY good advice. In fact, I've had a blunder or two in my career so now I tell *every* thrower-in what type of throw-in it is (spot or endline (with sweep of arm)) if the throw-in is on their BC endline.

It's especially important after an unusual delay, such as a timeout, injury, etc.
__________________
Pope Francis
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 16, 2009, 09:36pm
Aleve Titles to Others
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: East Westchester of the Southern Conference
Posts: 5,381
Send a message via AIM to 26 Year Gap
Think of it this way. [Assuming the kick was the first touch on the inbound] Wouldn't it be penalizing the team inbounding to have the abillity to run the end line taken away for a violation by the opponent?
__________________
Never hit a piñata if you see hornets flying out of it.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 16, 2009, 09:47pm
Fav theme: Roundball Rock
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Near Dog River (sorta)
Posts: 8,558
Quote:
Originally Posted by 26 Year Gap View Post
Think of it this way. [Assuming the kick was the first touch on the inbound] Wouldn't it be penalizing the team inbounding to have the abillity to run the end line taken away for a violation by the opponent?
Exactly.

One team should never be able to do something illegal and benefit from that specific action. A team can benefit by either advantaging their position, or de-advantaging their opponent's position.
__________________
Pope Francis
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 16, 2009, 11:05pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by 26 Year Gap View Post
Think of it this way. [Assuming the kick was the first touch on the inbound] Wouldn't it be penalizing the team inbounding to have the abillity to run the end line taken away for a violation by the opponent?
Quote:
Originally Posted by JugglingReferee View Post
Exactly.

One team should never be able to do something illegal and benefit from that specific action. A team can benefit by either advantaging their position, or de-advantaging their opponent's position.
True, but before someone smartly pointed out this fact to the NFHS committee that's exactly what the ruling was.

1999-2000 NFHS Basketball Rules Interpretations

SITUATION 20: Team A scores a field goal and B1 is taking the ball out of bounds, running the end line. When B1 inbounds, A1 intentionally kicks the ball. RULING: On the ensuing throw-in, B1 will have a designated spot throw-in. (7-5-2)

2000-01 NFHS Basketball Rules Interpretations

SITUATION 14: After a made basket by Team B, A1 has the run of the end line for a throw-in. A1’s throw-in is intentionally kicked by B1. Is Team A awarded a designated spot throw-in or may it again run the end line for the throw-in? RULING: There is no provision to allow Team A to run the end line. After any violation, the ball shall be put in play from the designated out-of-bounds spot nearest the violation. No exception to this rule is noted. (7-5-2)
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 17, 2009, 03:23am
In Time Out
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 794
found a news story about it--- glad to read this topic. interesting situation. I wonder if the ref told the player he could move.



NorCal boys basketball: St. Joe's furious comeback beats Branson - Marin Independent Journal

Joe's (25-8) scored 23 points in the last three minutes to shock the Bulls (30-5),


"After Whitfield (12 points) made a pair of free throws to make it 40-39 Branson with 20.6 seconds on the clock, Gabe Avins tried to inbound the ball for the Bulls, but it was kicked by D'Angelo Hutton. Then Avins took two steps to his right before calling a timeout. The referees originally granted the timeout, but then huddled and gave St. Joe's the ball, ruling that Avins couldn't run after the reset. However, according to the California Interscholastic Federation rulebook, Avins should have been able to roam the baseline, even after a reset."
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 17, 2009, 06:53am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by mutantducky View Post
found a news story about it--- glad to read this topic. interesting situation. I wonder if the ref told the player he could move.



NorCal boys basketball: St. Joe's furious comeback beats Branson - Marin Independent Journal

Joe's (25-8) scored 23 points in the last three minutes to shock the Bulls (30-5),


"After Whitfield (12 points) made a pair of free throws to make it 40-39 Branson with 20.6 seconds on the clock, Gabe Avins tried to inbound the ball for the Bulls, but it was kicked by D'Angelo Hutton. Then Avins took two steps to his right before calling a timeout. The referees originally granted the timeout, but then huddled and gave St. Joe's the ball, ruling that Avins couldn't run after the reset. However, according to the California Interscholastic Federation rulebook, Avins should have been able to roam the baseline, even after a reset."
Again, this assumes the throwin pass was not legally touched (tipped) prior to the kick. Without video, I have no idea if this was the case.

I feel like I'm channeling my inner Rut now.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Another running baseline question. kycat1 Basketball 3 Wed Jan 09, 2008 11:02am
running baseline fan Basketball 16 Wed Oct 17, 2007 02:15pm
Running baseline ugafan Basketball 4 Tue Jan 14, 2003 09:22am
Running The Baseline Question JAdams Basketball 17 Tue Nov 20, 2001 09:13am
Running the Baseline?? Smoke Basketball 16 Thu Oct 26, 2000 02:30pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:35pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1