The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 16, 2009, 10:03am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
Posts: 13
Pass to Head to Hoop

You know things are going your way when you make a pass that hits a defender in the forehead and drops in...

YouTube - Tri Unity vs Potters House Off the head shot
__________________
Quote:
“Hard work spotlights the character of people: some turn up their sleeves, some turn up their noses, and some don't turn up at all.”
~ Sam Ewing
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 16, 2009, 10:23am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 5,687
Did I see the official signaled only 2 points?

He was well beyond the arc - should've been 3.
__________________
M&M's - The Official Candy of the Department of Redundancy Department.

(Used with permission.)
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 16, 2009, 10:36am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
Posts: 13
two

I didn't take the time this weekend to look it up - believe they ruled because it was touched inside the arc it was a two.

You see the assistant coach wanted a three..
__________________
Quote:
“Hard work spotlights the character of people: some turn up their sleeves, some turn up their noses, and some don't turn up at all.”
~ Sam Ewing
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 16, 2009, 10:46am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 5,687
Quote:
Originally Posted by TiManGR View Post
I didn't take the time this weekend to look it up - believe they ruled because it was touched inside the arc it was a two.

You see the assistant coach wanted a three..
Touched by who? If it was touched by the offense (teammate), then yes, they would be correct. If it was touched by the defense, then no. It looked like the ball bounced off the white player.
__________________
M&M's - The Official Candy of the Department of Redundancy Department.

(Used with permission.)
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 16, 2009, 10:57am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Mid-Hudson valley, New York
Posts: 751
Send a message via AIM to Lotto
NCAA rules - 2 points?

Using NCAA rules, I would count this as two points. My rationale is that this is not a successful try from beyond the three-point line by the blue player, but rather the white player's directing the ball (with his head) into blue's basket.

Rule 5-1:
Art. 1. A goal from the field other than from beyond the three-point line
shall count two points for the team into whose basket the ball is thrown,
tapped or directed.
Art. 2. A successful try from beyond the three-point line shall count three
points for the team when the ball is thrown or directed into its basket.
a. When a player scores a field goal in the opponent’s basket, it shall
count two points for the opponent regardless of the location on the
playing court from where it was released. Such a field goal shall not
be credited to a player in the scorebook but shall be indicated with a footnote.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 16, 2009, 06:56pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by M&M Guy View Post
Did I see the official signaled only 2 points?

He was well beyond the arc - should've been 3.
No, it is a 2. We've been through this before and while the rule seems to indicated it shoud be a three, other case plays give us the intent of the rule. The intent is not to make ball that was not going towards the basket into a three points when a defender bats/heads in to the basket. That rule is very clearly intended only to apply to balls thrown in such a way that they may enter the basket as thrown....that defensive "touching" doesn't alter the chance to score a three. Sure it doesn't spell it out in so many words but the writers of the rule expect the officials reading it to have some amount of common sense.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 16, 2009, 07:15pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
No, it is a 2. We've been through this before and while the rule seems to indicated it shoud be a three, other case plays give us the intent of the rule. The intent is not to make ball that was not going towards the basket into a three points when a defender bats/heads in to the basket. That rule is very clearly intended only to apply to balls thrown in such a way that they may enter the basket as thrown....that defensive "touching" doesn't alter the chance to score a three. Sure it doesn't spell it out in so many words but the writers of the rule expect the officials reading it to have some amount of common sense.
Then why 5.2.1C?
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 16, 2009, 07:18pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scrapper1 View Post
By rule, this should be a 3. Any thrown ball that starts outside the arc and then goes in a player's own basket without touching the floor, a teammate or an official counts as 3. I think it's 5-2-1.

Having said that, there's NO WAY that this type of play should be awarded 3 points. It was obviously not a try for goal, it was just a lucky bounce.

There is a case play (I can't remember the reference) in which a 3-point try falls short of the goal, bounces off a defender and then goes in the basket. It is ruled as a 2-point basket because the try clearly ended. This, IMHO, clearly contradicts the rule but is the correct ruling.

5-2-1 needs to be re-written so that if it applies only to the "alley-oops" play (where it MIGHT have been a try) and not to "any" thrown ball (which is obviously NOT a try).
4.41.4 SITUATION B: A1’s three-point try is short and below ring level when it
hits the shoulder of: (a) A2; or (b) B1 and rebounds to the backboard and through
the basket. RULING: The three-point try ended when it was obviously short and
below the ring. However, since a live ball went through the basket, two points are
scored in both (a) and (b). (5-1)


Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
No, it is a 2. We've been through this before and while the rule seems to indicated it shoud be a three, other case plays give us the intent of the rule. The intent is not to make ball that was not going towards the basket into a three points when a defender bats/heads in to the basket. That rule is very clearly intended only to apply to balls thrown in such a way that they may enter the basket as thrown....that defensive "touching" doesn't alter the chance to score a three. Sure it doesn't spell it out in so many words but the writers of the rule expect the officials reading it to have some amount of common sense.
I agree.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 16, 2009, 08:14pm
Lighten up, Francis.
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4,690
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
the writers of the rule expect the officials reading it to have some amount of common sense.
Here's common sense: read the rule and follow what it says. That seems like common sense to me. The rule says it's 3 points. The case says it's 2 points. They clearly are contradictory.

5-2-1 needs to be re-written to reflect what they really want the rule to be: if it MIGHT be a try, it's 3 points. If it's obvious that it's NOT a try, then it's still 2 points.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 16, 2009, 09:03pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,379
Ever wonder why the man who invests all your money is called a broker?

Rookie officials take note: I believe that goaltending could not be called on this play, it's not a try, however basket interference could be called, because basket interference does not have to involve a try.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 16, 2009, 11:09pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
Rookie officials take note: I believe that goaltending could not be called on this play, it's not a try, however basket interference could be called, because basket interference does not have to involve a try.
So if BI occurs, Billy, how many points are you going to award?
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 17, 2009, 02:27am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scrapper1 View Post
Here's common sense: read the rule and follow what it says. That seems like common sense to me. The rule says it's 3 points. The case says it's 2 points. They clearly are contradictory.

5-2-1 needs to be re-written to reflect what they really want the rule to be: if it MIGHT be a try, it's 3 points. If it's obvious that it's NOT a try, then it's still 2 points.
The rule is ambiguous....it leaves terms undefined. The case is specific. The goal counts as 2 if it goes in after touching the floor, a teammate inside the arc, or even a defender when such touching occurs after the orignal thow can no longer be successful as originally thrown (see 4.41.4B).

5.2.1C is talking about the very common and typical case of a defender (basically on or near the 3 point line) attempting to block a typical shot that subsequently goes in. The fact that the defender touches the ball doesn't change the status of the attempt/throw. The throw is what it is is when the thrower releases it until a teammate inside the arc touches it or it no longer has a chance to go in with out assistance/redirection.

Taking this one rule literally and in a vacuum, as you want us to do, the defensive team could actually bat the ball around ala volleyball for 5 minutes then tap it into the basket to score 3 for A. In fact, since the thrown ball continues to be eligible to be 3 points until the ball touches the floor or a teammate (as you define it), the defensive team could actually catch the thrown ball (from outside the 3-point arc) ...remembering that you claim that the thrown ball and the chance to score 3 ONLY end when it touches the floor or a teammate....and "shoot" it into A's basket to score 3 for A. Do you really want to continue to suggest that this is the intended meaning?
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association

Last edited by Camron Rust; Tue Mar 17, 2009 at 02:32am.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 17, 2009, 09:40am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 5,687
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
The rule is ambiguous....it leaves terms undefined. The case is specific. The goal counts as 2 if it goes in after touching the floor, a teammate inside the arc, or even a defender when such touching occurs after the orignal thow can no longer be successful as originally thrown (see 4.41.4B).
Which terms are undefined? "Try" and "tap" are specifically defined, so that only leaves a "thrown ball" as the only possible undefined term. I would think it's meaning is still obvious.
You have just completely re-written 4-41. Nowhere in 4-41 does it include the term "throw". A try and a throw are two completely different terms.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
5.2.1C is talking about the very common and typical case of a defender (basically on or near the 3 point line) attempting to block a typical shot that subsequently goes in. The fact that the defender touches the ball doesn't change the status of the attempt/throw.
We agree. It would also apply to the alley-oop pass that originates outside the arc and deflects off the defender's hand into the basket.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
The throw is what it is is when the thrower releases it until a teammate inside the arc touches it or it no longer has a chance to go in with out assistance/redirection.
While I don't necessarily disagree with your thought process, you are adding in something that is not backed by rule. You are interchanging the definition of a "try" with "throw", and we both know they aren't the same. A player who is fouled during a "try" and during a "throw" are not treated equally.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
In fact, since the thrown ball continues to be eligible to be 3 points until the ball touches the floor or a teammate (as you define it), the defensive team could actually catch the thrown ball (from outside the 3-point arc) ...remembering that you claim that the thrown ball and the chance to score 3 ONLY end when it touches the floor or a teammate....and "shoot" it into A's basket to score 3 for A. Do you really want to continue to suggest that this is the intended meaning?
Huh?? When did I ever say that a change of possession (due to the catch) still has "throw" continuing? Now you're starting to channel Nevada's other-world plays...

I have said all along this does not change our judgement as to a try vs. pass/throw. If A1 is fouled during a throw, rather than a shot, and the ball goes in, it will be a common foul, not a shooting foul, and the basket does not count. Don't confuse this rule as saying a throw is treated the same as a shot. All it is saying is it the point value of the thrown ball going through the basket is the same as if it were a shot. Nothing more, nothing less.
__________________
M&M's - The Official Candy of the Department of Redundancy Department.

(Used with permission.)
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 16, 2009, 10:55am
Lighten up, Francis.
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4,690
By rule, this should be a 3. Any thrown ball that starts outside the arc and then goes in a player's own basket without touching the floor, a teammate or an official counts as 3. I think it's 5-2-1.

Having said that, there's NO WAY that this type of play should be awarded 3 points. It was obviously not a try for goal, it was just a lucky bounce.

There is a case play (I can't remember the reference) in which a 3-point try falls short of the goal, bounces off a defender and then goes in the basket. It is ruled as a 2-point basket because the try clearly ended. This, IMHO, clearly contradicts the rule but is the correct ruling.

5-2-1 needs to be re-written so that if it applies only to the "alley-oops" play (where it MIGHT have been a try) and not to "any" thrown ball (which is obviously NOT a try).
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 16, 2009, 11:06am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 5,687
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scrapper1 View Post
By rule, this should be a 3. Any thrown ball that starts outside the arc and then goes in a player's own basket without touching the floor, a teammate or an official counts as 3. I think it's 5-2-1.
That's the one.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Scrapper1 View Post
There is a case play (I can't remember the reference) in which a 3-point try falls short of the goal, bounces off a defender and then goes in the basket. It is ruled as a 2-point basket because the try clearly ended. This, IMHO, clearly contradicts the rule but is the correct ruling.
I don't think it really contradicts it, because the case play clearly states it's a try, and once a try ends the bounce off the player becomes a second action, so to speak.

5.2.1 Sit. C (b) covers the OP's exact play.
__________________
M&M's - The Official Candy of the Department of Redundancy Department.

(Used with permission.)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Official Head-to-Head Rule superhornet Softball 10 Sat Aug 06, 2005 10:50am
Hoop-It-Up gostars Basketball 1 Sat Sep 04, 2004 07:49am
Hoop-It-Up OverAndBack Basketball 24 Fri Aug 20, 2004 01:20pm
Hoop Wizard Dan_ref Basketball 3 Wed Dec 03, 2003 04:38pm
Good hoop? Bchill24 Basketball 27 Fri Nov 15, 2002 10:31am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:27pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1