The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Nevada-La Tech Correctable Error (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/52265-nevada-la-tech-correctable-error.html)

just another ref Sat Mar 14, 2009 01:58am

Nevada-La Tech Correctable Error
 
Isn't the NCAA correctable error rule basically the same as NFHS? Tech was incorrectly awarded 1&1 in a 2 shot situation. Player missed the first. Nevada rebounded, went down and scored. Tech inbounded, crossed the division line and called timeout. After a lengthy delay, the Tech player was given his other free throw. Then Tech got the ball back, and according to the announcers, Tech was not charged with a timeout.

BktBallRef Sat Mar 14, 2009 09:54am

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 588236)
Isn't the NCAA correctable error rule basically the same as NFHS?


Yes, correctable errors are handled the same way as in NFHS.

co2ice Sat Mar 14, 2009 10:21am

I watched the game and Randy McCall got it right! I love when officials get together and come to the right conclusion! It showed this crew really where in charge and new their stuff.

BBall_Junkie Sat Mar 14, 2009 10:25am

Quote:

Originally Posted by co2ice (Post 588260)
I watched the game and Randy McCall got it right! I love when officials get together and come to the right conclusion! It showed this crew really where in charge and new their stuff.

While I agreee that they ultimately got it right I am sure they are kicking themselves for not being on top of the foul count and avoiding that situation all together.

Scrapper1 Sat Mar 14, 2009 10:45am

I agree they got it right. Unrelated question: why in the world are LA Tech and Nevada in the same conference? :confused:

Adam Sat Mar 14, 2009 10:59am

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 588236)
Isn't the NCAA correctable error rule basically the same as NFHS? Tech was incorrectly awarded 1&1 in a 2 shot situation. Player missed the first. Nevada rebounded, went down and scored. Tech inbounded, crossed the division line and called timeout. After a lengthy delay, the Tech player was given his other free throw. Then Tech got the ball back, and according to the announcers, Tech was not charged with a timeout.

Okay, I hate to rain on the "they-got-it-right" parade, but isn't it too late once Tech inbounds the throwin following Nevada's basket?

In NFHS, it has to be corrected in the first dead ball after the clock has properly started.

just another ref Sat Mar 14, 2009 11:02am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 588271)
Okay, I hate to rain on the "they-got-it-right" parade, but isn't it too late once Tech inbounds the throwin following Nevada's basket?

In NFHS, it has to be corrected in the first dead ball after the clock has properly started.

I was in the middle of typing that up, Snaq.

2.10.2 Situation: B1 fouls A1. Team A is in the bonus, but the official erroneously awards the ball to Team A for a throw-in. A1's throw-in is intercepted by B1 who scores a goal. A1's throw-in is controlled by A2 who dribbles into Team A's midcourt and then asks for a timeout. During the timeout, the scorer advises the referee that Team A was in the bonus when B1 fouled A1. Ruling: It is too late to correct the error. The error could have been corrected any time during the dead ball following the goal by B1, as this was the first dead ball after the clock started following the error.


What is the difference in this and the OP?

bob jenkins Sat Mar 14, 2009 11:11am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 588271)
Okay, I hate to rain on the "they-got-it-right" parade, but isn't it too late once Tech inbounds the throwin following Nevada's basket?

In NFHS, it has to be corrected in the first dead ball after the clock has properly started.

Yes, it's too late in both NCAA and NFHS; assuming the play was properly described.

dahoopref Sat Mar 14, 2009 11:51am

I didn't see the game but I'm curious if the official scorer told the crew it was still 1 and 1 and not double-bonus; it has happened to me (and I'm sure some you) before.

If the table scorer did then the crew adjudicated this correctable error properly.

BktBallRef Sat Mar 14, 2009 11:53am

Quote:

Originally Posted by dahoopref (Post 588295)
I didn't see the game but I'm curious if the official scorer told the crew it was still 1 and 1 and not double-bonus; it has happened to me (and I'm sure some you) before.

If the table scorer did then the crew adjudicated this correctable error properly.


Sorry partner but that makes no difference whatsoever.

dahoopref Sat Mar 14, 2009 12:36pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BktBallRef (Post 588296)
Sorry partner but that makes no difference whatsoever.

Please correct me if I'm wrong, but if the table scorekeepr discovered it should've been a 2 shot foul (instead of 1 and 1) when the ball is in play then would the officials have until the 2nd live ball to correct the error?:confused:

Adam Sat Mar 14, 2009 12:43pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by dahoopref (Post 588301)
Please correct me if I'm wrong, but if the table scorekeepr discovered it should've been a 2 shot foul (instead of 1 and 1) when the ball is in play then would the officials have until the 2nd live ball to correct the error?:confused:

You asked. :)
The error must be corrected during the first dead ball after the clock has properly started following the error; not following the discovery. The error occurred with the clock stopped (on a free throw), so the error in this case needed to be corrected during the dead ball following the score off the rebound. That's the very brief time between the ball going through the basket and the new 5 second throwin count starting.

mbyron Sat Mar 14, 2009 12:45pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by dahoopref (Post 588301)
Please correct me if I'm wrong, but if the table scorekeepr discovered it should've been a 2 shot foul (instead of 1 and 1) when the ball is in play then would the officials have until the 2nd live ball to correct the error?:confused:

In a way, yes, but we wouldn't describe it this way. As Snaqs said: correct it during the first dead ball after the clock has properly started.

BktBallRef Sat Mar 14, 2009 12:46pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by dahoopref (Post 588301)
Please correct me if I'm wrong, but if the table scorekeepr discovered it should've been a 2 shot foul (instead of 1 and 1) when the ball is in play then would the officials have until the 2nd live ball to correct the error?:confused:

Consider yourself corrected. :)

It has nothing to do with what the scorer does. The error must be discovered by the first dead ball after the clock legally starts.

dahoopref Sat Mar 14, 2009 01:16pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 588305)
You asked. :)
The error must be corrected during the first dead ball after the clock has properly started following the error; not following the discovery. The error occurred with the clock stopped (on a free throw), so the error in this case needed to be corrected during the dead ball following the score off the rebound. That's the very brief time between the ball going through the basket and the new 5 second throwin count starting.

Quote:

Originally Posted by BktBallRef (Post 588308)
Consider yourself corrected. :)

It has nothing to do with what the scorer does. The error must be discovered by the first dead ball after the clock legally starts.

I appreciate the information. I agree with everything you both wrote and do not dispute it. Thanks.

The only place I am getting confused is from the 2008-09 NCAA Rulebook Pg 49 Rule 2 Section 12 Art 3.

Art. 3. When the officials’ error as in Rule 2-12.1 is made while the game
clock is running
and the ball is dead, it must be recognized and corrected by
an official before the second live ball to be correctable.

So let's go back to my original scenario: B1 is given an foul and the scorekeeper tells the official it is 1 and 1. A1 misses the first shot of the 1 and 1, B2 gets the rebound (clock now running) and proceeds to B's front court. The scorekeeper now realizes Team B has 10 team fouls and his error in not originally awarding the double-bonus for A1. Team B scores on a 2pt shot (dead ball #1). A1 receives the inbound pass A1 then calls a timeout (dead ball #2) when the scorekeeper advises the officials of the correctable error.

Since the error was discovered when the clock was running and was caught before the 2nd live ball, wouldn't this error still be correctable?

Thanks for your input.

mbyron Sat Mar 14, 2009 01:21pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by dahoopref (Post 588322)
Since the error was discovered when the clock was running and was caught before the 2nd live ball, wouldn't this error still be correctable?

The phrase "second live ball" refers to second from the correctable error, not second from the time of discovery. So, no.

dahoopref Sat Mar 14, 2009 01:55pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbyron (Post 588323)
The phrase "second live ball" refers to second from the correctable error, not second from the time of discovery. So, no.

Thanks for your clarification.

Adam Sat Mar 14, 2009 02:00pm

"when the clock is running and the ball is dead" refers specifically to a three point shot that is erroneously counted as two or a two point shot that is counted as three. These are the only correctable errors that can happen while the clock is running.

BktBallRef Sat Mar 14, 2009 04:28pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 588334)
"when the clock is running and the ball is dead" refers specifically to a three point shot that is erroneously counted as two or a two point shot that is counted as three. These are the only correctable errors that can happen while the clock is running.

No, that's not true. 2-10-3 does apply to 2-10-1e. But that is not the only CE that can happen while the clock is running.

If two shots are merited, only one is given and is missed, and the clock then starts, a CE has occurred while the clock is running. That's why it has to be recognized at the first dead ball.

Adam Sat Mar 14, 2009 04:47pm

I guess I consider all FT errors to occur while the clock is stopped. I can see how one could consider this error to be be a split second later when the clock started. It doesn't matter, though, the point of no return is the same regardless; I think.

Nevadaref Sat Mar 14, 2009 07:06pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 588236)
Isn't the NCAA correctable error rule basically the same as NFHS? Tech was incorrectly awarded 1&1 in a 2 shot situation. Player missed the first. Nevada rebounded, went down and scored. Tech inbounded, crossed the division line and called timeout. After a lengthy delay, the Tech player was given his other free throw. Then Tech got the ball back, and according to the announcers, Tech was not charged with a timeout.

Okay, I was at the game and spoke with both the official scorer and the La Tech coaches after the game. It was the stat guy on the La Tech bench who first caught the error.

Your summary of the events is 100% accurate. The officials did NOT get the play right BY RULE because it was too late to correct the unawarded FT. However, they may have done what was fair by fixing it a few seconds later than allowed. That is going to be a matter of opinion. The score was 68-57 when the FT was missed. It was 70-57 when the time-out was taken and the FT was awarded late. #15 made it to bring the score to 70-58 and La Tech scored a basket on the ensuing possession to make it 70-60. I'll also mention that the player dribbled to half court right in front of the table when La Tech's coach requested the time-out, but the officials administered the POI throw-in from the division line OPPOSITE the table after going back and awarding the forgotten FT.

Now tableside or opposite for the POI throw-in isn't a big deal, but it is one more detail that was handled incorrectly.

Lastly, this incident is from the first semi-final!
-------------------------------------------------------------------
Updated: March 14, 2009, 11:46 AM ET
'Big Blue' torments 'Pistol Pete' for $100


<cite class="source"> Associated Press
</cite>

<!-- end mod-article-title --> <!-- begin story body --> RENO, Nev. -- The mascots for Utah State and New Mexico State got physical with each other down the stretch of the teams' Western Athletic Conference tournament semifinal Friday night.
During a timeout with 7 seconds left and New Mexico State leading 70-69, Utah State's mascot, "Big Blue" the bull, confronted New Mexico State's "Pistol Pete" cowboy mascot and ripped off his fake mustache.
The cowboy then chased the bull to halfcourt, jumped on his back and tried unsuccessfully to pull him to the floor.
"Pistol Pete" then started to try to choke his rival before retreating to his end of the court.
Several newspaper photographers covering the game said they heard a man in a Nevada shirt offer the Utah State mascot $100 to go grab the mustache.
The man confirmed to The Associated Press that was true and that he paid the mascot the $100, but declined to provide his name. He said he did not expect New Mexico State's "Pistol Pete" to respond the way he did.
WAC commissioner Karl Benson was watching the game but said he missed the incident.
After fans for both teams started booing, Utah State's Tai Wesley caught an inbounds pass at the top of the lane and passed to Tyler Newbold on the left wing.
Newbold's 15-foot shot rolled off the rim, hit the backboard and rolled in with 3.1 seconds on the clock to help Utah State (29-4) overcome a 13-point deficit for a 71-70 win to set a school record for victories in a season.
Utah State, the league's regular-season champion, advanced to Saturday night's WAC final against second-seeded Nevada.

Copyright 2009 by The Associated Press

just another ref Sat Mar 14, 2009 08:07pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 588392)
Your summary of the events is 100% accurate.

Thanks, Dad.:D You sound surprised.

Quote:

The officials did NOT get the play right BY RULE because it was too late to correct the unawarded FT. However, they may have done what was fair by fixing it a few seconds later than allowed.
What does fair have to do with anything? I can't believe you of all people said this.

Nevadaref Sat Mar 14, 2009 08:14pm

Please don't misinterpret my post by thinking that I am an advocate of the "fairness" position, but I believe that it was a necessary comment to make as there has to be a plausible reason for the officials doing what they did because during the discussion it did certainly did come up that they were technically past the point of correction because of the advancement of the ball to half court following the throw-in and prior to the time-out request.

Despite that fact, the officials still decided to award the FT.


Catch you later. I'm off to watch the final.

AKOFL Sat Mar 14, 2009 08:24pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 588407)
Please don't misinterpret my post by thinking that I am an advocate of the "fairness" position, but I believe that it was a necessary comment to make as there has to be a plausible reason for the officials doing what they did because during the discussion it did certainly did come up that they were technically past the point of correction because of the advancement of the ball to half court following the throw-in and prior to the time-out request.

Despite that fact, the officials still decided to award the FT.


Catch you later. I'm off to watch the final.

I used to respect Nevedareff, but now I don't know. He is rubbing our face in the fact he gets to watch college games LIVE. I hate him now:rolleyes::p I'm just jealous.

just another ref Sat Mar 14, 2009 09:38pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 588407)
Please don't misinterpret my post by thinking that I am an advocate of the "fairness" position, but I believe that it was a necessary comment to make as there has to be a plausible reason for the officials doing what they did because during the discussion it did certainly did come up that they were technically past the point of correction because of the advancement of the ball to half court following the throw-in and prior to the time-out request.

Despite that fact, the officials still decided to award the FT.


So the D1 guys calling the tournament semifinal discussed the situation and the rules, and decided to go with what was fair instead. The part that surprises me is that you muddied up your post by including that as the reason. And yet you scold me for refusing to acknowledge blarges and making on the spot adjustments during 5th grade games.:)

Nevadaref Sun Mar 15, 2009 05:48pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by AKOFL (Post 588408)
I used to respect Nevedareff, but now I don't know. He is rubbing our face in the fact he gets to watch college games LIVE. I hate him now:rolleyes::p I'm just jealous.

Just landed tickets to Boise for this Friday and Sunday! http://www.runemasterstudios.com/gra...ges/orange.gif

AKOFL Sun Mar 15, 2009 07:25pm

Now your just being mean.

BktBallRef Sun Mar 15, 2009 08:21pm

WTF is Boise? Is the floor blue? Do they have indoor plumbing?

:D

Nevadaref Sun Mar 15, 2009 08:34pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BktBallRef (Post 588598)
WTF is Boise? Is the floor blue? Do they have indoor plumbing?

:D

Sort of. I don't know which floor they will use. The first picture is from the NCAA tournament in 2005. The second was taken during the 2007 season.

https://admin.xosn.com/fls/9900/imag...ies/floor4.jpg

http://www.nmnathletics.com.edgesuit...0403181609.jpg

BktBallRef Sun Mar 15, 2009 08:52pm

I can go to Greensboro for $275. Carolina, Duke, and whoever else. Haven't decided yet.

walter Sun Mar 15, 2009 09:31pm

I'll be in Philly for the weekend action.

just another ref Sun Mar 15, 2009 11:45pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BktBallRef (Post 588611)
I can go to Greensboro for $275. Carolina, Duke, and whoever else.

Staying home and watching on CBS, with the benefit of DVR to aid in the criticism of the officiating: Priceless


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:50am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1