The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 12, 2009, 01:02am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 13
Marquette-St. John's Correctable Error Play

The refs are Jim Burr, J.D. Collins, and Tim Clougherty.
With 13:09 left in the 2nd half, Marquette winning 47-20, St. John's picked up their 7th team foul when they were going for a steal. St. John's coach, Norm Roberts, didn't like the call and got a technical foul. They shoot the two free throws for the technical. Marquette is getting ready to inbound the ball by the table and it appears like they are trying to let them know, but the ball is put into play. 10 seconds runs off, then the horn sounds. They realize that they should be shooting. They shoot the bonus throws with the lane cleared. They then give the ball back to Marquette. During the next timeout, ESPN said that J.D. told them that since they had already inbounded the ball that would use that as the point of interruption. I was thinking that NCAA 2-12-5 would apply, "unless the correction involves the failure to award a merited free throw(s) and there has been no change of team possession since the error was made. In that case, play shall resume as after any normal free throw."

I'm only 20 and in college, so there's a chance I could be interpreting it the wrong way. Here's 2 Final Four refs and Tim has some 1st round game experience, so you would think that they would have handled it right. Did anybody else see this and what would have been the right way to resume play after the correctable error?
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Correctable error casebook play 2.10.1 - NCAA treatment CallMeMrRef Basketball 7 Wed Feb 18, 2009 02:42pm
Is NFHS Case Book Play 2.10.1 Sit. G(d) (re: corr. error situation) really an error? rpirtle Basketball 3 Wed Dec 24, 2008 03:25pm
correctable error cloverdale Basketball 12 Thu Sep 30, 2004 03:19am
correctable error? cardinalfan Basketball 9 Tue Jan 20, 2004 05:59pm
Another Correctable Error Play Blackhawk357 Basketball 4 Tue Feb 18, 2003 08:25pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:07am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1