The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   How would this hypothetical be sorted out? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/52054-how-would-hypothetical-sorted-out.html)

jeffpea Wed Mar 04, 2009 01:57pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Lotto (Post 585350)
Here's how we'd proceed under NCAA rules, where T's work differently: Team B shoots two FTs for the T, then we go to POI, which is A1's substitute shooting 3 FTs. If the foul by B1 is ruled a common foul, then players occupy the lane spaces and play continues normally after the last FT. If the foul by B1 is ruled intentional, no one occupies the lane spaces and A gets a throw-in at the spot nearest where the foul occurred after the last FT.

If this is NCAA-M, you have forgotten that the Flagrant Technical Foul by A1 (his punch to B1s' jaw) results in an ejection of A1 and a throw-in for Team B at a spot nearest the foul. (this occurs after the sub for A1 shoots the 3 FT's first....then B shoots 2 FT's for Flagrant Technical).



By rule, you do not use POI for an Intentional Technical Foul (contact that is deemed excessive during a dead ball) or for a Flagrant Technical Foul (an act that is deemed to be combative or severe contact)

Raymond Wed Mar 04, 2009 01:58pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 585402)
10-3 Art. 17. Fighting as in Rule 4-26.
PENALTY: (Arts. 13 through 17) Flagrant technical fouls. Two free
throws shall be awarded to any player on the offended
team, unless double fouls are assessed. For double flagrant
technical fouls, no free throws are awarded. For any
flagrant technical foul, the ball shall be awarded to the
offended team at the point of interruption. When a single
flagrant technical foul occurs during intermission for
the second or any extra period, play shall resume with a
throw-in to the offended team on either side of midcourt.
...

So yes, Team B should have a throw-in in the OP's scenario.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 585406)
Is this NCAA?

Yep...don't have any NFHS stuff with me.

Lotto Wed Mar 04, 2009 02:35pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by jeffpea (Post 585411)
If this is NCAA-M, you have forgotten that the Flagrant Technical Foul by A1 (his punch to B1s' jaw) results in an ejection of A1 and a throw-in for Team B at a spot nearest the foul. (this occurs after the sub for A1 shoots the 3 FT's first....then B shoots 2 FT's for Flagrant Technical).



By rule, you do not use POI for an Intentional Technical Foul (contact that is deemed excessive during a dead ball) or for a Flagrant Technical Foul (an act that is deemed to be combative or severe contact)

My mistake---I was using NCAAW rules, where you do go to POI after a flagrant T.

Adam Wed Mar 04, 2009 02:38pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by jeffpea (Post 585411)
If this is NCAA-M, you have forgotten that the Flagrant Technical Foul by A1 (his punch to B1s' jaw) results in an ejection of A1 and a throw-in for Team B at a spot nearest the foul. (this occurs after the sub for A1 shoots the 3 FT's first....then B shoots 2 FT's for Flagrant Technical).

Okay, it's the spot nearest the foul, or the division line?

Lotto Wed Mar 04, 2009 02:41pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 585402)
10-3 Art. 17. Fighting as in Rule 4-26.
PENALTY: (Arts. 13 through 17) Flagrant technical fouls. Two free
throws shall be awarded to any player on the offended
team, unless double fouls are assessed. For double flagrant
technical fouls, no free throws are awarded. For any
flagrant technical foul, the ball shall be awarded to the
offended team at the point of interruption. When a single
flagrant technical foul occurs during intermission for
the second or any extra period, play shall resume with a
throw-in to the offended team on either side of midcourt.
...

So yes, Team B should have a throw-in in the OP's scenario.

This is an out of date quote of the rule. 10-3.13-17 PENALTY changed this year. It applies to NCAAW only and now directs the use of POI after a flagrant T.

For NCAAM, the relevant rule is 10-5 RESUMPTION OF PLAY, which states that a single intentional or flagrant T resumes with a throw-in by the offended team at the division line. My mistake in my earlier post for not including this.

bas2456 Wed Mar 04, 2009 02:49pm

Sorry, I guess I should have mentioned it's NFHS rules in my OP

So what I'm gathering is, both players are ejected if I feel like B's actions are instigating a fight?

A1's sub gets three shots, then we play on?

Adam Wed Mar 04, 2009 02:54pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bas2456 (Post 585437)
Sorry, I guess I should have mentioned it's NFHS rules in my OP

So what I'm gathering is, both players are ejected if I feel like B's actions are instigating a fight?

A1's sub gets three shots, then we play on?

A1's sub gets three, then B gets two, then B gets the ball at the division line. It would have to be a he11 of a foul for the initial foul to be ruled flagrant, even if A1 over reacts and punches him.

bas2456 Wed Mar 04, 2009 02:59pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 585438)
A1's sub gets three, then B gets two, then B gets the ball at the division line. It would have to be a he11 of a foul for the initial foul to be ruled flagrant, even if A1 over reacts and punches him.

But if B is also ejected, would you not treat it like a double tech and go POI?

bradfordwilkins Wed Mar 04, 2009 03:18pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bas2456 (Post 585442)
But if B is also ejected, would you not treat it like a double tech and go POI?

Well the question is which of B's actions are deemed the ejection worthy -- the hard foul that started the alteracation right? So we've got an intentional flagrant and a flagrant technical... Sounds like B still shoots and gets the ball..

Adam Wed Mar 04, 2009 03:38pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bas2456 (Post 585442)
But if B is also ejected, would you not treat it like a double tech and go POI?

Then you take away the three free throws. You're only calling B for one foul, right? Or does he get two for doing less than his opponent, who only gets one?

And, as bradford alludes to, B's foul was a flagrant personal followed by A's flagrant technical. This is a false double, penalized in order.

Adam Wed Mar 04, 2009 03:41pm

I should add here that in order for me to consider B's foul a flagrant due to the fight that ensued, it would have had to be bad enough for me to think about it without the fight. I don't want to penalize B with a flagrant just because A can't keep his head.

Raymond Wed Mar 04, 2009 04:06pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Lotto (Post 585432)
This is an out of date quote of the rule. 10-3.13-17 PENALTY changed this year. It applies to NCAAW only and now directs the use of POI after a flagrant T.

For NCAAM, the relevant rule is 10-5 RESUMPTION OF PLAY, which states that a single intentional or flagrant T resumes with a throw-in by the offended team at the division line. My mistake in my earlier post for not including this.

You are correct Lotto, I didn't even pay attention to the fact that 10-3 applies to NCAA-W only. My bad. :o

Rule 10-5 (MEN) CLASS A Unsporting Technical Infractions
Art 1. RESUMPTION OF PLAY:
For any technical foul(s), play shall resume at the point of interruption except for a single intentional or a single flagrant technical foul. For a single intentional or a single flagrant technical foul, the ball shall be awarded to the offended team at a designated spot at the division line on either side of the playing court.

10-3 (WOMEN) Player/Substitute Technical Fouls
Art. 17 Fighting as in Rule 4-26.
PENALTY: (Arts. 13 through 17) Flagrant technical fouls..
Two free throws shall be awarded to any player on the offended
team, unless double fouls are assessed. For double flagrant technical fouls, no free throws are awarded. For any flagrant technical foul, the ball shall be awarded to the offended team at the point of interruption. When a single flagrant technical foul occurs during intermission for the second or any extra period, play shall resume with a throw-in to the offended team on either side of midcourt...


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:47am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1