![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Guys,
Lets not let this digress into something it is not. Juggs was very clear in his first answer that he understands the pertinint rules in this sitch...airborn shooter, act of shooting, try, etc. Juggs alluded to Rule 4.1.1 and 4.1.2 which is very clear in defining airborn shooter. It also says that until he comes back down he is still in the act of shooting. (Remember, airborn shooter in NF rules is basically an exception. See 4-41-1, 4-19-1, 4-19-6, and 4-12-1. I will leave it to you to study.) This means that if contact occurs (even after ball has clearly left A1 hand) then A1 has been fouled in the act of shooting and he will get appropriate number of free throws by rule. In answer to Mark's questions I do not believe Juggs (nor M&M) is denying it could be a foul, just that he will evaluate the contact as it respects the outcome of the play. Not all contact is a foul. We all make those value judgement in every game we officiate, and the best officials are those who have learned when a no-call on the play is appropriate. |
|
|||
|
To further show why a good knowledge of definitions is essential.
The sitch is titled: Contact after the try. There is a whole 'nuther set of rules as to when a try ends. The ball could be dead...it could be alive. Lots of scenarios could occur. The end of player control, the end of team control, the end of a try, the end of the act of shooting by airborn player, the end of act of shooting by player on the floor are not all simultaneous. |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| When is hair contact a contact? | OmniSpiker | Volleyball | 6 | Tue Nov 04, 2008 06:27pm |
| Contact at First | dmore | Baseball | 9 | Wed Apr 25, 2007 04:00pm |
| + POS---Does anyone have a contact there? | jwwashburn | Baseball | 25 | Wed Aug 02, 2006 07:32pm |
| Low Contact | drinkeii | Basketball | 5 | Tue Jul 04, 2006 01:24pm |
| Looking for a contact | MOFFICIAL | Basketball | 3 | Sat Aug 18, 2001 09:14pm |