The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Block/Charge call results in Floyd being ejected (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/51692-block-charge-call-results-floyd-being-ejected.html)

zm1283 Mon Feb 16, 2009 03:17pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Welpe (Post 580058)
As long as you're not blindly defending the officials, right? ;)

Nope, if I think they screw up, I'll say it.

NCAA basketball isn't fixed like the NFL anyway. :p

JugglingReferee Mon Feb 16, 2009 03:23pm

Player control. Excellent call! (I was able to slow it down to a point where the defender had both feet on the ground with separation to the offensive player. That is LGP. After that, B's movement was legal.)

Naturally, the HC is ejected for his behavoir. Good call there too.

JRutledge Mon Feb 16, 2009 04:01pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by zm1283 (Post 580063)
Nope, if I think they screw up, I'll say it.

NCAA basketball isn't fixed like the NFL anyway. :p

And this is the reason we cannot comment to this person? :rolleyes:

Peace

icallfouls Mon Feb 16, 2009 08:32pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by zm1283 (Post 580056)
It looked to me when I watched it the first time that he started to signal a block, albeit VERY slightly, with his left arm. The announcers (I know they're full of it...you don't have to remind me) also say something about how they thought he started to signal a block.

I'm not defending Floyd at all. He's obviously an idiot. As for the call, I think they got it right after watching several times.

FWIW, it is very rare for an official to close when calling a PC foul at all levels. I cannot recall a time where an official came in then gave the PC signal. So I can see where Floyd thought he was going to get the call. McCall closed in all the way to the lane line. Usually the C will blow the whistle and point the other direction right away.

This was a tough call, and this seems like the time when the crew needed to call the Blarge as other crews have done recently.

eyezen Mon Feb 16, 2009 09:27pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by icallfouls (Post 580172)

This was a tough call, and this seems like the time when the crew needed to call the Blarge as other crews have done recently.


Let me get this straight, you are advocating that the 'C' should of went ahead and called a block thus creating a blarge and that other crews around the country are calling blarges on purpose?

Rich Mon Feb 16, 2009 09:50pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by icallfouls (Post 580172)
FWIW, it is very rare for an official to close when calling a PC foul at all levels. I cannot recall a time where an official came in then gave the PC signal. So I can see where Floyd thought he was going to get the call. McCall closed in all the way to the lane line. Usually the C will blow the whistle and point the other direction right away.

This was a tough call, and this seems like the time when the crew needed to call the Blarge as other crews have done recently.

Umm, no.

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Mon Feb 16, 2009 10:16pm

No blarge!! No blarg!!
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by icallfouls (Post 580172)
FWIW, it is very rare for an official to close when calling a PC foul at all levels. I cannot recall a time where an official came in then gave the PC signal. So I can see where Floyd thought he was going to get the call. McCall closed in all the way to the lane line. Usually the C will blow the whistle and point the other direction right away.

This was a tough call, and this seems like the time when the crew needed to call the Blarge as other crews have done recently.


I Call Fouls:

This was NOT a "blarge" and could never (apologies to the late J. Dallas Shirely) be a "blarge". Do NOT even think about a "blarge" because by definiton it is IMPOSSIBLE for a "blarge" to occur.

MTD, Sr.

TrojanHorse Mon Feb 16, 2009 10:34pm

This is my take on the whole thing. Was it a big call, yes. Would the call either way have impacted the game, yes. Was the call correct. Not knowing what to expect, and seeing it the first time, I would have had the same thing. So I have no problem with the call.

At some point a coach has to have some kind of self control. Was he upset, sure, any coach in that situation would have. Heck, I coach, I have had a call go the other way..but I didnt erupt and try to attack a official. Not much you can do but play out the 48 seconds and hope you get a favorable call the next time. Someone made a comment abut the other officials letting Floyd go to far on the court and getting to close to the C. What in the world are you supposed to do. Tackle coach Floyd. Coach Floyd was hell bent on being a child in a tantrum. I have no problem the way it was all handled. Its not High school, so there are different ways to handle coaches.

Bottom line, Coach Floyd cost his team a chance.

mutantducky Mon Feb 16, 2009 10:41pm

I was watching some of that game before and ASU was playing better. Throw a tantrum to distract from the fact that your team is being beat. Like some others I'm leaning to a block but get Floyd a pacifier for the next game.

BillyMac Mon Feb 16, 2009 11:10pm

Edited for television.
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. (Post 580203)
Do NOT even think about a "blarge" because by definition it is IMPOSSIBLE for a "blarge" to occur.

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.: Technically, you're correct, the word, "blarge" does not appear anywhere in the NFHS Rulebook, or the NFHS Casebook. However, you must know that many of us refer to 4.19.8 Situation C, as a blarge, although technically it's just a double foul.

4.19.8 SITUATION C: A1 drives for a try and jumps and releases the ball. Contact occurs between A1 and B1 after the release and before airborne shooter A1 returns one foot to the floor. One official calls a blocking foul on B1 and the other official calls a charging foul on A1. The try is successful. RULING: Even though airborne shooter A1 committed a charging foul, it is not a player-control foul because the two fouls result in a double personal foul. The double foul does not cause the ball to become dead on the try and the goal is scored. Play is resumed at the point of interruption, which is a throw-in for Team B from anywhere along the end line. (4-36)

icallfouls Mon Feb 16, 2009 11:10pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. (Post 580203)
I Call Fouls:

This was NOT a "blarge" and could never (apologies to the late J. Dallas Shirely) be a "blarge". Do NOT even think about a "blarge" because by definiton it is IMPOSSIBLE for a "blarge" to occur.

MTD, Sr.

It was a tongue in cheek statement, because of a couple of recent plays that have been discussed here. :rolleyes:

btaylor64 Mon Feb 16, 2009 11:30pm

i only watched the live play and called this a block in my first post, i actually let it play through to the low angle replay this time and this is absolutely, positively a no brainer block imo. The player does not "beat" the player to the spot when contact is made.

That being said, the contact is made prior to the player going airborne and furthermore the contact doesn't even allow the player to alight so the rule dealing with shooters leaving the floor and the defender having to be there goes out the window. It now becomes "did the defender beat the offensive player to the spot and become legal?" in my eyes the answer to this is a resounding no he does not beat him to the spot. At BEST it is a tie and a tie results in a blocking foul because the defender did not BEAT him to the spot.

Good debate though

Adam Tue Feb 17, 2009 09:10am

Quote:

Originally Posted by btaylor64 (Post 580220)
At BEST it is a tie and a tie results in a blocking foul because the defender did not BEAT him to the spot.

Good debate though

WTF? You got a rule reference for this one? Don't forget to read about LGP and the rights it bestows on the defender.

Raymond Tue Feb 17, 2009 10:15am

Quote:

Originally Posted by btaylor64 (Post 580015)
yes it is illegal if he has yet to establish guarding position and then come in sliding and didn't beat the offensive player to the spot.

Badnewsref,

I would disagree with you in the mechanics of this play. The lead has the best look at the secondary defender and can better assess the lateral movement of the defender than the slot, although i still believe the referee got the play wrong.

Ben,

I don't see how the L had the best look at the secondary defender when there was already a another defender directly in front of the lead.

JugglingReferee Tue Feb 17, 2009 10:24am

The Team A player goes right to the C official and tries to make a case for something in his mind.

What I don't like is that this behavoir has trickled down this year in Basketball Ontario sanctioned games, to 9 and 10 year olds! I couldn't believe it when I saw it!


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:25am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1