The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Sat Feb 14, 2009, 11:27am
Official Forum Member

Newbie works solo

Well I guess if it was going to happen Friday the 13th was the day. Arrive 45min. before tip at last night's assignment (BoysJV). Stretch, get dressed, clock in dressing room reads 15min. to tip, no P, time to go out on the floor.
Do all the pre-game stuff, keeping one eye on the door...horn sounds, the newbie (with a total of 3 BV's under his belt) is working it alone!
Here's where you guys come in. When it became evident that at about 4 min. to tip I'd be going solo, I started playing back in my mind posts I had read about working alone. Here's what I did:
1) Talked to my experienced table crew that I would need there help. Told them that when I came over to report a TO that I'd also be saying to them which team had the throw-in, where the spot was, and if they could run the endline, and if a TO was called during a freethrow the shooter's number, as a way of having a backup if I forgot.
2) Also asked for their help in giving me a heads-up signal if we were going to going to the bonus or double bonus on the next FT....and if we were in the bonus be my backup in keeping track of the shooter's number if we were going down to the other end of the court.
3) Got the two HC's together at the table just before tip to just quickly and simply tell them..."I'm working it alone, I'll be working both ends from the outside...3pt arc to 3pt arc, I might miss some stuff underneath but I'll hustle and do the best I can.
4) Before thrwoing it up in the circle I quickly mentioned to the players..."guys I'm alone, I may miss something let's just play the game and stay cool, I need your help in tracking down the ball when it goes out of play."
5) Last I reminded myself to SLOW DOWN...(which as you know is a major newbie problem).