![]() |
|
|
|||
This is NOT a do over!!
Quote:
It is 01:40amEST (meaning that it is too late to look up both the appropriate NHFS and NCAA rules so I am going to confine my comments to NFHS rules and address NCAA rules tomorrow), so I am only going to say this once. The fact that the Timer has made a mistake in starting the clock when the clock should not have started does not negate the inbounds pass by Team B, nor does the sounding of the horn stop play in this play. The sounding of the horn should have been a hint to the game officials that the clock was started when it should not have been started. There are only two ways that this situation can be handled and in both cases the game officials must ignore the the Timer's horn. There are a number of situations that can occur after the Timer's horn sounds, but none of them involve Team B getting a new throw-in on the endline in its backcourt with the right to move along the endline. I am only going to deal with two possible situations. Situation 1: B3 catches B2's pass, and B3 does not have an uncontested drive to Team B's basket. Situation 2: B3 catches B2's pass, and B3 has an uncontested drive to Team B's basket. Ruling 1: The covering game official should stop play as soon as B3 catches B2's pass, reset the game clock to three (3) seconds, and award Team B a throw-in nearest the spot that B3 caught B2's pass. Ruling 2: The covering game official should start a visible three (3) count as soon as B3 catches B2's pass and sound his whistle to stop play when his count reaches three (3) seconds. But under no circumstances should Team B be made to do a do over throw-in along the endline in its backcourt with the right to run the endline with three (3) seconds on the game clock. NO DO OVERS!! MTD, Sr. P.S. There was a long and spriited debate in a thread in this Forum regarding this type of play with 2.8 seconds remaining in the game a few years ago. And there has been either a Casebook Play or a Pre-season Rules Interpretation within the last two years supporting my rulings. P.S.S, Good night all. Sweet dreams to everybody.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn. Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn. Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials Ohio High School Athletic Association Toledo, Ohio |
|
|||
Quote:
1. He is 100% right that there are no do-overs. It says so in the NFHS Officials Manual. 2. He is also right that if play isn't stopped until an inbounds player has touched the ball, then any stoppage would result in a throw-in nearest to that location, not back on the end line due to the POI rule. 3. He is NOT correct that in this instance the horn sounding doesn't stop play. This is not the timer/scorer blowing the horn to signal the officials. It is the period ending horn that goes off when time has expired, even if this has happened incorrectly. When time has expired erroneously, the referee can correct that with definitely knowledge. What he cannot do is allow the teams to conduct playing action following the sounding of the horn, conduct his own count, and have the action stand! ![]() 4. Furthermore, he is failing to acknowledge that a stoppage DURING the throw-in would make the POI an end line throw-in for the same team after the timing mistake is corrected per 4-36-2b. It's not a do-over, but it does look like one. |
|
|||
Quote:
NevadaRef's Item (3): I will concede that my position is not one of the four (4) listed in R5-S6-A2, but R5-S6-A2 presumes that the clock was started correctly and therefore the Timer's signal is correct, which is not the case in the OP. Furthermore, R2-S12-A7 states: "The Timer shall indicate by signal the expiration of playing time in each quarter or extra period. If a supplementary red light is used, the Timer’s signal is the official expiration of playing time." The automatic sounding of the timer's signal is the same as if the Timer himself had sounded the signal; I was always taught, as a player, to play until I hear a game official's whistle, therefore, the players should ignore the Timer's signal and play until a game official sounds his whistle (at least well coached teams are taught this). NevadaRef's Item (4): My rebuttal of his Item (3) negates the need for a POI. MTD, Sr, P.S. Let the fun begin, ![]()
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn. Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn. Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials Ohio High School Athletic Association Toledo, Ohio Last edited by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.; Mon Feb 09, 2009 at 08:56am. Reason: Corrected typo. |
|
|||
Quote:
When there isn't a try in flight, the sounding of the period-ending horn makes the ball dead, not an official's whistle. An official may sound his whistle anyway if he so desires, but it is superfluous. The only time that a whistle is needed is when there is a try for goal in flight prior to the sounding of the horn. In that case, the official should observe the end of the try and sound the whistle to indicate to the players that the ball is now dead. What you have advocated doing goes completely against the rules for live ball/dead ball. It amounts to yelling "play-on" after an official accidentally sounds his whistle during play! ![]() |
|
|||
![]()
So...how was Bambi? When she comes to my house, I always have her stay over. I make my wife sleep on the couch.
![]()
__________________
Yom HaShoah |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Partner makes major mistake | WestMichBlue | Softball | 9 | Wed May 16, 2007 02:42am |
Why don't they use the Box Timer | TussAgee11 | Basketball | 9 | Mon Apr 03, 2006 12:49pm |
Crew Chief makes a mistake...but they got it right | WindyCityBlue | Baseball | 50 | Mon Oct 11, 2004 08:49am |
Timer mistake........ | zebra44 | Basketball | 5 | Tue Mar 02, 2004 02:36pm |
25 second/time out timer | cmathews | Football | 11 | Mon Sep 15, 2003 09:11am |