![]() |
|
|
|||
![]()
What would you have if A1 goes up for a dunk and prior to leaving the floor B1 establishes LGP. A1 crashes into B1 for a player control foul. A1 continues on the dunk as he is already in motion and gets fouled hard by B2. Ball does not get dunked but hits the rim, bounces up and continues back down through the goal for the basket. I understand that if it had been a blocking foul first and then a charging foul we would have a false double foul BUT is the same true when the player control occurs first? Once the player control foul is called does the ball become dead straight away or is it still live as the attempt as began (which is normally the case). I do not see how could I have a false double foul in this situation but rather just a PC foul. Your help please!
|
|
|||
Only PC. No continuation here. If A1 still has control of the ball, then the ball is dead when Team A commits a foul. If you feel that the foul by B2 was Intentional, then you can call a 'dead ball, Intentional/Technical foul.
|
|
|||
Rule 6 -- Live Ball and Dead Ball. Read it. Learn it. Love it. So many basic --and important -- questions are answered in this rule.
|
|
|||
Inside joke?
Quote:
![]()
__________________
-- #thereferee99 |
|
|||
Quote:
Can't somebody Photoshop a prototype for us? |
|
|||
this sounds better...
Quote:
![]()
__________________
Pope Francis |
|
|||
Eh. Same difference. 'Photoshop' is now like 'Kleenex' and 'Xerox' -- brand names functioning as genera.
__________________
Cheers, mb |
|
|||
What about this????
HS Rule Book Page 32 4-19-1 NOTE ART. 1 . . . A personal foul is a player foul which involves illegal contact with an opponent while the ball is live, which hinders an opponent from performing normal defensive and offensive movements. A personal foul also includes contact by or on an airborne shooter when the ball is dead. NOTE: Contact after the ball has become dead is ignored unless it is ruled intentional or flagrant or is committed by or on an airborne shooter |
|
|||
Quote:
There's a case play very similar to your play. |
|
|||
Quote:
If you're still talking about the OP, there is no airborne shooter.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum. It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow. Lonesome Dove |
|
|||
Quote:
Yes, once the PC is called, the ball is dead. The wierd foul call on this play are likely the dreaded blarge (two officials signalling different fouls). I could see calling a multiple foul IF B1 was late trying to obtain LGP AND B2 hit A1 completely separate of B1. Both of these fouls risk injury to A1 and need to be curtailed. Having said that, I have never seen that scenario.
__________________
Pope Francis |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|