The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 04, 2009, 12:31am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 862
Well if the defender touched the ball after it hit the backboard, is it not goaltending anyways?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 04, 2009, 12:32am
#thereferee99
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 624
Not in high school.

Quote:
Originally Posted by bas2456 View Post
Well if the defender touched the ball after it hit the backboard, is it not goaltending anyways?
It was unclear if the ball was on its downward flight. I don't think it was, but lets say it wasn't.
__________________
-- #thereferee99
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 04, 2009, 12:39am
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,579
You have to have 3 things to have Goaltending.
  1. Ball must be completely above the rim.
  2. Ball must be on its downward flight.
  3. Ball must have a chance to go in.

If any of these things are not present, then you do not have a violation.

It is possible that one of these things was not present and the officials passed on the play. The backboard or the ball touching the backboard has nothing to do with this call the high school level. Only at the college level is the backboard a factor.


Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 04, 2009, 12:46am
#thereferee99
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 624
I'm talking about Basket Interference.
Part of the basketball may have been in the imaginary cylinder with the basket as its base.
Wanting to know where that area is on the back board.

Recently Andris Biedrinch of the Warriors was called for a violation when he knocked the ball off the flange during live action. In NBA it was goaltending (i think) but would have been basket interference in HS.

If the ball is contacting the backboard directly behind the basket part of the basketball MUST be in the cylinder, given the size of the ball.

At some point further away from the center of the backboard this must also be true. How far out can you go and have an automatic, provable by geometry basket interference?
__________________
-- #thereferee99

Last edited by referee99; Wed Feb 04, 2009 at 12:48am.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 04, 2009, 01:04am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: TN
Posts: 361
Rim diameter is 18", Ball diameter is 9". The square in question is 18" tall and 24" wide. So once about 1/4 of the ball is within the square then it has penetrated the imaginary cylinder above the basket. So yes by geometry BI could be called it the ball is contacted after the referee observes that a 1/4 or more of the ball is inside the square.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 04, 2009, 01:20am
#thereferee99
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 624
Sweet.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ref2coach View Post
Rim diameter is 18", Ball diameter is 9". The square in question is 18" tall and 24" wide. So once about 1/4 of the ball is within the square then it has penetrated the imaginary cylinder above the basket. So yes by geometry BI could be called it the ball is contacted after the referee observes that a 1/4 or more of the ball is inside the square.
but what about the flange extending the ring out away from the board? that has to make that imaginary line closer to the center of the back board.
__________________
-- #thereferee99
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 04, 2009, 01:05am
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,579
Quote:
Originally Posted by referee99 View Post
I'm talking about Basket Interference.
Part of the basketball may have been in the imaginary cylinder with the basket as its base.
Wanting to know where that area is on the back board.
The backboard has nothing to do with that. There is not point on the back board that has anything to do with this kind of call. And the ball must be on the cylinder to have BI if you are not touching the ball. And if you are touching the ball, the ball must be above the cylinder.


Quote:
Originally Posted by referee99 View Post
Recently Andris Biedrinch of the Warriors was called for a violation when he knocked the ball off the flange during live action. In NBA it was goaltending (i think) but would have been basket interference in HS.
I do not know all NBA terminology, but I bet that they consider similar things as BI. I do think they cannot hit the backboard, but that is something I am not sure about. I doubt what you described is GTing.

Quote:
Originally Posted by referee99 View Post
If the ball is contacting the backboard directly behind the basket part of the basketball MUST be in the cylinder, given the size of the ball.

At some point further away from the center of the backboard this must also be true. How far out can you go and have an automatic, provable by geometry basket interference?
I think you are honestly trying to figure out a simple rule by using standards that are not present. This is not about the geometry of the backboard. If the ball is in the cylinder, there are things that cannot be done with the ball or the ring, net or ball under the right circumstances. I think you just need to review the rule and leave it at that. The backboard and the geometry of the backboard have nothing to do with the call of basket interference. And the box on the backboard is wider than the ring. Rule 4-6 covers this rule and you will not read anything about the backboard.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 04, 2009, 01:28am
#thereferee99
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 624
hrm.

Quote:
Originally Posted by JRutledge View Post
The backboard has nothing to do with that. There is not point on the back board that has anything to do with this kind of call. And the ball must be on the cylinder to have BI if you are not touching the ball. And if you are touching the ball, the ball must be above the cylinder.

Rut, if the ball was pinned by the defender on the gaudy red X in the image in the OP, can we agree that the defender may be touching the ball while the ball was in the imaginary cylinder with the basket as its base?
__________________
-- #thereferee99
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 04, 2009, 01:34am
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,579
Quote:
Originally Posted by referee99 View Post
Rut, if the ball was pinned by the defender on the gaudy red X in the image in the OP, can we agree that the defender may be touching the ball while the ball was in the imaginary cylinder with the basket as its base?
If the touching was not in the cylinder, where the ball touches the backboard might not be relevant.

As I said, I think you are taking a judgment call and trying to make a one size fits all application. If the ball is not in the cylinder, it is not BI. If you think it is in the cylinder (and certain things are present), then call a violation. You will find that at full speed you are not going to get a simple judgment based on a marking. If the ball hits the backboard does not mean it was touched at the very same spot.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 04, 2009, 08:24am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,978
Quote:
Originally Posted by referee99 View Post
Rut, if the ball was pinned by the defender on the gaudy red X in the image in the OP, can we agree that the defender may be touching the ball while the ball was in the imaginary cylinder with the basket as its base?
That would be goaltending, not BI. As JRut has said, the backboard has nothing to do with BI.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:53am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1