The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Would you have done it different? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/51395-would-you-have-done-different.html)

bob jenkins Wed Feb 04, 2009 08:46am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 575580)
LDUB is right. If you do issue the DOG, you have no rules backing later when you go straight to the T for what should have been a DOG warning.

I agree that there's no formal / rules book DOG warning here. But, there are certainly occasions where players coaches are told the behavior that's expected rather than being issued an immediate T. Sometimes, those "warnings" are in situations where the T would be for situations which delay the game.

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Wed Feb 04, 2009 08:58am

Quote:

Originally Posted by WreckRef (Post 575266)
A is down by 3 with 15 seconds left, gets down the court and with B2 standing perfectly straight up, A1 decides to jump into him while attempting a 3 pointer. Team A, their coach and fans are screaming for a foul as B3 grabs the air ball and dribbles out the clock.


WreckRef:

A number of esteemed posters have said that this is a good no call. I disagree for the following reasons.

1) There is no such thing as a no call. Either an infraction of the rules has occured or an infraction of the rules has NOT occured. But this reason is about semantics and is left to be discussed in another thread.

2) If you would have called this a charging foul in the first fifteen (15) seconds of the game it, then it should have been a charging foul in the last fifteen seconds of the game. You were lucky that A1's field goal attempt was an air ball.

Let me give you a very true life example:
1993 YBOA Boys' National Championship Tournament, Fifth Place game between a team from Florida (Team H) and a team from Tennessee (Team V). Five seconds left in the fourth quarter when Team V makes two free throws to take a three point lead. Team V presses Team H. H1's inbounds pass is caught by H2 at the division line and H2 starts to drive toward his basket, jumps into the air, releases the ball for a three-point field goal attempt, which touches nothing but net (which sends Team H's fans into joyous bedlam) and then, before returning to the court, crashes into V2 who had established a legal guarding position before H2 had become and airborne shooter. I still have a headache from slapping the back of my head with the charging call.

MTD. Sr.

Nevadaref Wed Feb 04, 2009 08:01pm

The first situation is either a technical foul or a verbal admonition to the player if the the referee is kind. By rule a technical foul is warranted.
You cannot assess a team delay of game warning for this as it is not one of the four items listed in that rule.

Incorrectly issuing that team DOG warning earlier in the game caused problems later when you had to charge a team T for the breaking of the throw-in boundary plane. That should have been only the first DOG warning. See how important it is to handle the first situation properly?

Your decision on the final play seems fine. By your description this is either a PC foul or nothing. Don't penalize the defender for just standing there. He hasn't done anything wrong.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:34pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1