The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   9-4; Through the Basket from Below (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/51376-9-4-through-basket-below.html)

rgncjn Mon Feb 02, 2009 09:09pm

9-4; Through the Basket from Below
 
I need some opinions and direction regarding the ball passing through the basket from below.

Rulebook 9-4 states, "... or cause it to enter and pass through the basket from below.

The Casebook states, "The ball becomes dead when it enters from below and passes through."

My questions lies in whether the ball must pass through the basket and the entire ball be above rim level for the violation; or is a violation still warranted if the ball passes through the net and approximately half of the ball rises above the rim level, before beginning the downward path.

Image: Figure A = Violation, Would Figure B warrant a violation?
http://img18.imageshack.us/img18/810...3419fd2.th.jpg

williebfree Mon Feb 02, 2009 09:15pm

AND Passes THROUGH
 
I would not call the violation unless the ball is above the rim; however, I do not have an issue with others who would call it if any part of the ball enters the rim from below.

BillyMac Mon Feb 02, 2009 10:34pm

Things That Make You Go Hmmm ...
 
I actually had this call last week, first time in twenty-eight years, but in my case the ball didn't come back down through the basket, it rolled off the rim, to the side. Easy Call.

MatthewPV Mon Feb 02, 2009 11:26pm

Do we then go to the arrow?

BillyMac Mon Feb 02, 2009 11:28pm

Alternating Possession ???
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by MatthewPV (Post 575130)
Do we then go to the arrow?

I believe that there are only two choices here. It's either a violation, or it's not a violation.

MatthewPV Mon Feb 02, 2009 11:32pm

So whomever last touches it, it would be the other teams ball based on the violation, right?

BillyMac Mon Feb 02, 2009 11:41pm

"You Are Correrct, Sir" (Ed McMahon)
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by MatthewPV (Post 575133)
So whomever last touches it, it would be the other teams ball based on the violation, right?

Rule 9 Violations SECTION 4 TRAVEL, KICK, FIST:
A player shall not travel with the ball, as in 4-44, intentionally kick it, as in 4-29, strike it with the fist or cause it to enter and pass through the basket from below.
NOTE: Kicking the ball is a violation only when it is an intentional act; accidentally striking the ball with the foot or leg is not a violation.
PENALTY: The ball is dead when the violation occurs and is awarded to the opponents for a throw-in from the designated out-of-bounds spot nearest the violation.

williebfree Mon Feb 02, 2009 11:41pm

Yes
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by MatthewPV (Post 575133)
So whomever last touches it, it would be the other teams ball based on the violation, right?

I had this play occur in an 8th grade girls game. A1 drives to hoop. As she swooped a shot B1 makes contact on A1's wrist. The ball enters the basket from below bounces off the backboard and falls back through the hoop.

In one of those "amnesiatic" moments, I could not recall the diminutive last line of the rule 9-4-4 which has a heading of "Travel, Kick, Fist", I awarded the basket and one FT.

Correct ruling: Ball becomes dead when the violation occurred (entered basket from below). A1 shoots two (as a result of B1 foul)

Johnny Ringo Fri Aug 14, 2009 07:26am

Does the ball have to clear the cylinder from below in order for this to be called a violation?

gslefeb Fri Aug 14, 2009 08:08am

To me the phrase "passes through" would indicate the entire ball would need to be above the rim.

Adam Fri Aug 14, 2009 02:39pm

The ball can never go above the cylinder; by definition. :)

Johnny Ringo Fri Aug 14, 2009 04:01pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 620467)
The ball can never go above the cylinder; by definition. :)

Explain, please!

AKOFL Fri Aug 14, 2009 04:11pm

The rim is at 10 feet, The cylinder contiues up up up.

Nevadaref Fri Aug 14, 2009 05:17pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by gslefeb (Post 620422)
To me the phrase "passes through" would indicate the entire ball would need to be above the rim.

That is correct. According to the pictures provided in the OP, A is a violation while B is not.

The only debate is whether the ball must also come completely free of the net. Those who say yes argue that the net is part of the basket.
Those who say no point out that the definition of the basket states that the net is suspended below the ring, not pushed up into it and above the level of the ring.

1-10-1 . . . Each basket shall consist of a single metal ring, 18 inches in inside
diameter, its flange and braces, and a white-cord 12-mesh net, 15 to 18 inches in
length, suspended from beneath the ring.

Adam Sun Aug 16, 2009 12:03am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Johnny Ringo (Post 620494)
Explain, please!

Quote:

Originally Posted by AKOFL (Post 620496)
The rim is at 10 feet, The cylinder contiues up up up.

In math, a cylinder continues indefinitely.
In basketball, it basically extends to the ceiling. On an outdoor court, it would extend indefinitely upwards.

Camron Rust Sun Aug 16, 2009 01:59am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 620684)
In math, a cylinder continues indefinitely.
In basketball, it basically extends to the ceiling. On an outdoor court, it would extend indefinitely upwards.

Which still means the ball can't go above the cylinder. :D

BillyMac Sun Aug 16, 2009 06:06am

Wrong Cylinder ???
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 620684)
In math, a cylinder continues indefinitely.

It does? Don't you mean a right cylinder?

A cylinder is one of the most basic curvilinear geometric shapes, the surface formed by the points at a fixed distance from a given straight line, the axis of the cylinder. The solid enclosed by this surface and by two planes perpendicular to the axis is called a cylinder. In common usage, a cylinder is taken to mean a finite section of a right circular cylinder with its ends closed to form two circular surfaces.

bob jenkins Sun Aug 16, 2009 06:52am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 620690)
It does? Don't you mean a right cylinder?

No, he doesn't. The "right" means that the "ends" of the finite section are perpendicular (at a "right angle") to the "sides".

In theory, a cylinder is analogous to a line -- it has no end points. As the rest of the quote shows, in practice, it's used as being analogous to a line segment.


IIRC (I don't have the books with me) the rule on "passing through" doesn't mention the cylinder. The only rule that does has to do with BI (and it uses a pharase like "the cylinder, the bottom end of which is the rim." So, rather than JohnnyRingo asking, "the ball needs to leave the cylinder?," he should have asked, "the entire ball needs to enter the cylinder?"

BillyMac Sun Aug 16, 2009 09:48am

Always Listen To bob ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 620694)
The "right" means that the "ends" of the finite section are perpendicular (at a "right angle") to the "sides". In theory, a cylinder is analogous to a line, it has no end points. As the rest of the quote shows, in practice, it's used as being analogous to a line segment.

Thanks. I got it mixed up. This is what threw me: "A cylinder is taken to mean a finite section of a right circular cylinder with its ends closed to form two circular surfaces", from Wikepedia. How can one look at a finite section of something that is already finite? The definition implies that the right cylinder is infinite. Either I misunderstood the definition, or the definition is poorly written. I didn't follow my own rule here: It's alright to use Wikepedia for your first source, but don't use it as your only source.

In summary: A cylinder has no "top", or "bottom" (the circular planes), so the "sides" go on infinitely, the center being a line. A right cylinder has a "top", and a "bottom", perpendicular to the "sides", is therefore finite, the center being a line segment, and volume, and surface area, can be defined, and measured.

Our basketball cylinder, as described in basketball interference, has a bottom, the ring, but has no top, theoretically, the center being a ray, so it's not a true cylinder. Is is a right cylinder, with only a "bottom", and no "top"?

Johnny Ringo Sun Aug 16, 2009 10:29am

Would you say that the ball, if going upward from underneath the basket, clears the ring that is when you would call the violation?

bob jenkins Sun Aug 16, 2009 11:36am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 620706)
from Wikepedia.

There's your mistake.

bob jenkins Sun Aug 16, 2009 11:37am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Johnny Ringo (Post 620710)
Would you say that the ball, if going upward from underneath the basket, clears the ring that is when you would call the violation?

Yes -- and, for me, personally, I wouldn't split hairs here. I'd give the benefit of the doubt to "it went through the basket."

mbyron Mon Aug 17, 2009 07:08am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 620715)
Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac
from Wikepedia.

There's your mistake.

Right -- it's 'Wikipedia'. ;)

mbyron Mon Aug 17, 2009 07:20am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 620706)
How can one look at a finite section of something that is already finite?

Every section of a finite figure or solid is itself finite, including the section that constitutes the figure. Infinite figures are more difficult to define and depend on the kind of space (Euclidean, Reimannian, etc.).

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 620706)
Our basketball cylinder, as described in basketball interference, has a bottom, the ring, but has no top, theoretically, the center being a ray, so it's not a true cylinder. Is it a right cylinder, with only a "bottom", and no "top"?

Technically not a right circular cylinder unless both ends are closed.

riverfalls57 Mon Aug 17, 2009 04:16pm

What signal do you use for this violation? How about for a fist violation?

Adam Mon Aug 17, 2009 04:31pm

Same signal you use for a throwin violation.

M&M Guy Mon Aug 17, 2009 04:48pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by riverfalls57 (Post 620966)
What signal do you use for this violation? How about for a fist violation?

Since there is no specific signal for either violation, the normal accepted method is to simply blow the whistle and use the open palm for a violation, then verbalize the specifics. "Ball came up through the basket from below." "Used the fist." Since signals are simply a method of communication, some officials might use some sort of hand signal (maybe a fist into a palm for the fist violation, but be careful about trying to come up with a signal for ball up through the basket...). But it's usually better to stick with the approved signals, and simply use your voice to communicate the violations that do not have a signal associated with it.

The FT not contacting the rim is another example of a violation that doesn't have a signal. I've seen many officials use the "swirly"/reset the shot clock signal, but it is not an approved signal.

BillyMac Mon Aug 17, 2009 05:31pm

It Would Be The "Funnest" Signal ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by M&M Guy (Post 620974)
I've seen many officials use the "swirly" signal, but it is not an approved signal.

I would love to see the NFHS make the "Swirly" an approved signal. Let's start a petition.

Adam Mon Aug 17, 2009 05:49pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by M&M Guy (Post 620974)
Since there is no specific signal for either violation, the normal accepted method is to simply blow the whistle and use the open palm for a violation, then verbalize the specifics. "Ball came up through the basket from below." "Used the fist." Since signals are simply a method of communication, some officials might use some sort of hand signal (maybe a fist into a palm for the fist violation, but be careful about trying to come up with a signal for ball up through the basket...). But it's usually better to stick with the approved signals, and simply use your voice to communicate the violations that do not have a signal associated with it.

The FT not contacting the rim is another example of a violation that doesn't have a signal. I've seen many officials use the "swirly"/reset the shot clock signal, but it is not an approved signal.


Kinda like the traveling signal on a throwin violation. It signifies a different violation.

Nevadaref Tue Aug 18, 2009 04:47am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 620988)
I would love to see the NFHS make the "Swirly" an approved signal. Let's start a petition.

I'll give you a swirly...

Welpe Mon Oct 05, 2009 12:57pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by M&M Guy (Post 620974)
Since there is no specific signal for either violation, the normal accepted method is to simply blow the whistle and use the open palm for a violation, then verbalize the specifics. "Ball came up through the basket from below." "Used the fist." Since signals are simply a method of communication, some officials might use some sort of hand signal (maybe a fist into a palm for the fist violation, but be careful about trying to come up with a signal for ball up through the basket...). But it's usually better to stick with the approved signals, and simply use your voice to communicate the violations that do not have a signal associated with it.

The FT not contacting the rim is another example of a violation that doesn't have a signal. I've seen many officials use the "swirly"/reset the shot clock signal, but it is not an approved signal.


Sorry to bring this up again but I came across this while looking for a signal for a "fist" violation. Thanks for this post M&M, as I was about to ask about this very thing.

The football official in me was expecting to see an associated signal number for a violation or foul. I was more than a bit perplexed to find that was not the case. :)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:22am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1