The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 28, 2009, 01:49pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Michigan
Posts: 280
Made a call last night - BC V

TI by div line - A passes to teammate who jumped from FC - caught ball - landed in BC - I whistle for BCV - correct call?

I'm not sure when reading this from the case book.

9.9.1 SITUATION D: Team A is awarded a throw-in near the division line. A1's
throw-in is deflected by B1; A2 jumps from Team As frontcourt, catches the ball in the air and lands in the backcourt. RULING: Backcourt violation on Team A. The throw-in ends when it is legally touched by B1. A2 gains player and team control in the air after having left the floor from Team As frontcourt, therefore having frontcourt status. As soon as A2 lands in the backcourt, he/she has committed a back court violation. The exception granted during a throw-in ends when the throw-in
ends and is only for the player making the initial touch on the ball.
__________________
Refsmitty
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 28, 2009, 01:53pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,191
You've got the case book, now open the rule book (same number as the case play) and you'll discover that this is not a violation. There is an exception for a player who catches the ball during a throwin, a jump ball, or while on defense.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 28, 2009, 01:59pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 109
In the case book play, if A2 were to tap the ball into the backcourt and then go chase it down (rather than catch it while in the air), would there be a BC violation?

I think the rule book would say no since there has not been team control in the FC.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 28, 2009, 02:00pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,370
Quote:
Originally Posted by stosh View Post
In the case book play, if A2 were to tap the ball into the backcourt and then go chase it down (rather than catch it while in the air), would there be a BC violation?

I think the rule book would say no since there has not been team control in the FC.
You would be correct in your thinking.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 28, 2009, 02:07pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,191
Quote:
Originally Posted by stosh View Post
In the case book play, if A2 were to tap the ball into the backcourt and then go chase it down (rather than catch it while in the air), would there be a BC violation?

I think the rule book would say no since there has not been team control in the FC.
But that's not why the OP is not a violation. TC is established in the FC when the ball is caught. The exception, however, is what allows this.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 28, 2009, 03:04pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Michigan
Posts: 280
Got it Snaq! Thanks

ART. 3 . . . A player from the team not in control (defensive player or during a
jump ball or throw-in) may legally jump from his/her frontcourt, secure control of
the ball with both feet off the floor and return to the floor with one or both feet in
the backcourt. The player may make a normal landing and it makes no difference
whether the first foot down is in the frontcourt or backcourt.
__________________
Refsmitty
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 28, 2009, 03:05pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,191
Now you own it.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 28, 2009, 03:22pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 937
Ball was not tipped by B

In the OP sit. the throw-in was not tipped by B...so no BC by A.
This exact play was recently highlighted on the website 60 Seconds on Officiating. http://www.ref.60.com/
Referencing NFHS 4-4; 4-13; 7.6.2 and 9.9 they do a short review on Throw-ins and the Division Line:

"It is critical to remember 2 key components of a throw in:
1.There is no team control during a throw-in.
2.A throw-in ends when the ball is released and legally touches or is touched by another player (inbounds or out of bounds).
This means that during a throw-in, any player may catch the ball in mid-air and land in his/her backcourt without committing a backcourt violation. However, if the released ball is deflected by any player, the deflection would end the throw-in and any mid-air catch by any player and backcourt landing would be a violation, if the player leaped from his/her frontcourt."
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I've Never Made That Call Before... BretMan Softball 36 Fri Oct 10, 2008 08:42am
I need help on call I made tonight. TGR Basketball 10 Mon Feb 12, 2007 02:45am
Is there a call to be made here? Snorg Baseball 8 Thu Aug 17, 2006 11:45am
A Call That Should Not Have Been Made, Buttttt whiskers_ump Softball 1 Sun Apr 13, 2003 03:37pm
Question for refs about a call made last night at a boys HS game. South Bay HHVBC Basketball 21 Thu Jan 16, 2003 07:08pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:17pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1