![]() |
|
|
|||
In the case book play, if A2 were to tap the ball into the backcourt and then go chase it down (rather than catch it while in the air), would there be a BC violation?
I think the rule book would say no since there has not been team control in the FC. |
|
|||
You would be correct in your thinking.
|
|
|||
Ball was not tipped by B
In the OP sit. the throw-in was not tipped by B...so no BC by A.
This exact play was recently highlighted on the website 60 Seconds on Officiating. http://www.ref.60.com/ Referencing NFHS 4-4; 4-13; 7.6.2 and 9.9 they do a short review on Throw-ins and the Division Line: "It is critical to remember 2 key components of a throw in: 1.There is no team control during a throw-in. 2.A throw-in ends when the ball is released and legally touches or is touched by another player (inbounds or out of bounds). This means that during a throw-in, any player may catch the ball in mid-air and land in his/her backcourt without committing a backcourt violation. However, if the released ball is deflected by any player, the deflection would end the throw-in and any mid-air catch by any player and backcourt landing would be a violation, if the player leaped from his/her frontcourt." |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
I've Never Made That Call Before... | BretMan | Softball | 36 | Fri Oct 10, 2008 08:42am |
I need help on call I made tonight. | TGR | Basketball | 10 | Mon Feb 12, 2007 02:45am |
Is there a call to be made here? | Snorg | Baseball | 8 | Thu Aug 17, 2006 11:45am |
A Call That Should Not Have Been Made, Buttttt | whiskers_ump | Softball | 1 | Sun Apr 13, 2003 03:37pm |
Question for refs about a call made last night at a boys HS game. | South Bay HHVBC | Basketball | 21 | Thu Jan 16, 2003 07:08pm |