The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Player pushes Official (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/51212-player-pushes-official.html)

Jurassic Referee Mon Jan 26, 2009 03:41pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Suppref (Post 572589)
I understand that emails don't show inflection, however, what I was try to say is once the player pushes the official, he's should be ejected, now he's bench personell, at this point every time he said or did something from his location on the floor to the bench, I would add another T. When we get to three the coach is gone too. I think if the coach has to leave because of player behavior, there will be repercussions that the player will have to deal with later.

I've actually done this very procedure in a adult rec league, flag foul, he disagreed, T, T ,T - see ya in a couple of weeks. Sometimes you just have to show 'em who's in charge.

As already stated, you are completely wrong. The player isn't officially disqualified and become bench personnel until his head coach is notified by an official. Sez so right in NFHS rule 4-14-2. Iow the coach will <b>NOT</b> receive any indirect "T"s until after you have notified him of the players disqualification.

If you used that procedure in an adult rec league, you screwed the coach with your failure to know the appropriate and applicable rule.

If you're gonna show 'em who's in charge, it's not a bad idea to learn the rules first.

Adam Mon Jan 26, 2009 03:42pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee (Post 572606)
As already stated, you are completely wrong. The player isn't officially disqualified and become bench personnel until his head coach is notified by an official. Sez so right in NFHS rule 4-14-2. Iow the coach will <b.NOT</b> receive any indirect "T"s intil you notify him of the players disqualification.

Of you did that porocedure in an adult rec league, you screwed the coach with your failure to know the appropriate rule.

If you're gonna show 'em who's in charge, it's not a bad idea to learn the rules first.

Looks to me like he's gonna take the opportunity to find three more T's against the perpetrator for the sole purpose of ejecting the coach. That's even worse than not knowing the rules, IMO.

JRutledge Mon Jan 26, 2009 03:46pm

Maybe I missed something in the article, but I did not read anything that suggested the player was not ejected other than the implication by the person writing the story. And we all know how accurate those people are when it comes to rules. For all you know, it was rather clear he would not have been in the game and that a report was filed with the appropriate authorities to take further action. There are no specific signals that we give to eject someone other than what some might practice based on experience.

Peace

deecee Mon Jan 26, 2009 03:48pm

no you should not -- players and coaches should NOT touch an official 98% of the time -- your stich falls in the 2% of the time where its not a big deal.

beachbum Mon Jan 26, 2009 04:44pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by deecee (Post 572611)
no you should not -- players and coaches should NOT touch an official 98% of the time -- your stich falls in the 2% of the time where its not a big deal.

thanks. I had to make a quick decision, and I thought I did right. The kid had the look of "oh my god, I touched him and he may throw me out look"

Amesman Mon Jan 26, 2009 05:11pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by beachbum (Post 572650)
thanks. I had to make a quick decision, and I thought I did right. The kid had the look of "oh my god, I touched him and he may throw me out look"

You have to look at the intent. These are kids after all and, albeit rare, some might just not know better. Besides, they're stripes we wear and a whistle we hold, not a crown and sceptre. You did right.

Suppref Mon Jan 26, 2009 05:13pm

Ok, ok
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee (Post 572606)
As already stated, you are completely wrong. The player isn't officially disqualified and become bench personnel until his head coach is notified by an official. Sez so right in NFHS rule 4-14-2. Iow the coach will <b>NOT</b> receive any indirect "T"s until after you have notified him of the players disqualification.

If you used that procedure in an adult rec league, you screwed the coach with your failure to know the appropriate and applicable rule.

If you're gonna show 'em who's in charge, it's not a bad idea to learn the rules first.


Clearly, I shouldn't post anything, I should just read and learn from you masters.

I was just trying to make a point that as officiating is my avocation, that a frustrated athlete should in no way be able to disrespect me as a person or official.

And to call me out for "If you're gonna show 'em who's in charge, it's not a bad idea to learn the rules first." is a little harsh. I've been involved in basketball for 40 years, 20 as an official. I know we try to get it right but lighten up a little.

This forum will not hear from me again. :(

Good luck!

Adam Mon Jan 26, 2009 05:16pm

You're the one who said you'd find Ts where there aren't any for the sole purpose of DQing the head coach.

Suppref Mon Jan 26, 2009 05:31pm

Correct...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 572664)
You're the one who said you'd find Ts where there aren't any for the sole purpose of DQing the head coach.

A player is the direct extension of the coach, if the player thinks pushing an official (read me), then the coach is not doing his job.

I like a good arguement as much as the next guy, this forum is just not the place to take things as seriously as was directed at me.

-- ;)

shishstripes Mon Jan 26, 2009 05:32pm

No, he wasn't touching you in an unsportsmanlike manner or to be disrespectful. Just trying to show you something.

zm1283 Mon Jan 26, 2009 05:50pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Suppref (Post 572668)
A player is the direct extension of the coach, if the player thinks pushing an official (read me), then the coach is not doing his job.

I like a good arguement as much as the next guy, this forum is just not the place to take things as seriously as was directed at me.

-- ;)

Not in this case he's not.

Adam Mon Jan 26, 2009 05:52pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Suppref (Post 572668)
A player is the direct extension of the coach, if the player thinks pushing an official (read me), then the coach is not doing his job.

I like a good arguement as much as the next guy, this forum is just not the place to take things as seriously as was directed at me.

-- ;)

Dude, you've been on this board longer than I have, and this is what sends you packing? That was mild.

The NFHS disagrees with you, BTW, in that they don't assess player Ts to coaches unless they're on the bench. Looking to pile on is a bad idea here, and would really tell everyone you're a hot head (whether or not that's true.)

youngump Mon Jan 26, 2009 06:16pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Suppref (Post 572668)
A player is the direct extension of the coach, if the player thinks pushing an official (read me), then the coach is not doing his job.

I like a good arguement as much as the next guy, this forum is just not the place to take things as seriously as was directed at me.

-- ;)

If you believe that then why not just T/eject the coach? Why make the stretchy iffy technical indirect calls?
________
Live sex

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Mon Jan 26, 2009 11:50pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Suppref (Post 572572)
add up to a head coaches disqualification.

When a player fouls out he becomes bench personell, in Ct anyway!!


Suppref:

I do not know to which IAABO Board you belong (I don't have either my H.S. or College IABBO Handbooks in front of me to look up what Board covers Norwalk), but if I were you I would start studying the rule book and the Refresher Exam. I know that there are questions on the Refresher Exam (because I am on the IAABO Rules Examination Committee) that deal with when a disqualified player becomes bench personnel.

So, my charge to you is to tell me Forum when does a DQ'ed player becomes bench personnel?

MTD, Sr.


P.S. Suppref, I just checked the IAABO website. Norwalk, is in Board #9, and Board #9's Intepreter/Trainer is Lou Filippetti, and Lou is a personal friend of mine, so you had better have the correct answer for the Forum.

Adam Tue Jan 27, 2009 08:02am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. (Post 572755)
Suppref:

I do not know to which IAABO Board you belong (I don't have either my H.S. or College IABBO Handbooks in front of me to look up what Board covers Norwalk), but if I were you I would start studying the rule book and the Refresher Exam. I know that there are questions on the Refresher Exam (because I am on the IAABO Rules Examination Committee) that deal with when a disqualified player becomes bench personnel.

So, my charge to you is to tell me Forum when does a DQ'ed player becomes bench personnel?

MTD, Sr.


P.S. Suppref, I just checked the IAABO website. Norwalk, is in Board #9, and Board #9's Intepreter/Trainer is Lou Filippetti, and Lou is a personal friend of mine, so you had better have the correct answer for the Forum.

Mark, he knows the rule. He's advocating "finding" three more techs on him after he's DQd so his coach can feel the pain, too.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:06pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1