![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
FIBA rules are very clear on this - an unsportsmanlike foul must be assessed. It is in the interpretations for Art. 36 Unsportsmanlike Fouls. The case the OP has FIBA interprets the "correct" ruling as the following -
Because the team B player is obviously not makeing any effort to play the ball and an unsportsmanlike advantage is gained by not allowing the game clock to restart. An unsportsmanlike foul must be called without a warning given. Now having said that, in the case where the ball has left the hands of the team A player and then the foul occurs, this should be judged as a normal personal foul unless the severity of the contact warrants an upgrade to an unsportsmanlike or disqualifying foul. This is a new interpretation for the rule changes that occurred after the Olympics. And Yes I have had to make this call since my season started. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
you will have to determine if the foul requires more than a personal. I just don't know how the FIBBY's came up with that unsporting thing, but you have to do what you have to do! I don't see it as not allowing the clock to start. Just for kicks what if this ocurrs after a basket and the clock is running?
__________________
New and improved: if it's new it's not improved; if it's improved it's not new. |
|
|||
|
It wasn't your primary was it? From where you were watching the [Original Post] play, you didn't get that gooda look, did you?
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
![]() But there have been a very few, select times when it has, they also happened to be obvious, so it was a call easily backed by the rule.
__________________
M&M's - The Official Candy of the Department of Redundancy Department. (Used with permission.) |
|
|||
|
Quote:
B2 is not playing the ball - but could be trying to anticipate where A2 will be going to receive a pass, and might foul A2 by accident. The exact same situation can happen with the ball inbounds, and it is not an unsportsmanlike foul. Bad rule!
__________________
Pope Francis |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|