The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   What have you got? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/51083-what-have-you-got.html)

Rita C Wed Jan 21, 2009 12:40am

What have you got?
 
I'm lead administering a spot throw-in. A2 is moving to get to a spot when B1 grabs her but good. I have just delivered the ball.

Your call?

Rita

just another ref Wed Jan 21, 2009 01:09am

"Grabs her but good" could mean a lot of things to a lot of people. I would say it's a had to be there thing, but if the foul takes place after it is at the disposal of the thrower, (live ball) it sounds like either a common foul or an intentional foul.

JugglingReferee Wed Jan 21, 2009 05:45am

Totally had to be there. It's hard to sell an intentional foul on a throw-in, so if you're on the fence, go with the common foul for a hold. If it's just a grab, I have a common foul. If it's a grab the holding forces A's momentum to change suddenly/excessively, and A is significantly displaced, then I could easily see an excessive contact foul. Could you have used yoru voice at all to prevent the foul, though?

mbyron Wed Jan 21, 2009 08:33am

You must first decide whether the ball is at the disposal of the thrower.

If not, then the ball is dead: ignore the contact unless flagrant or excessive (intentional), in which case call a T (flagrant or intentional).

If so, then the ball is live: call a personal foul unless flagrant or excessive (intentional), in which case call a flagrant personal or an intentional foul.

Ref_in_Alberta Wed Jan 21, 2009 10:08am

FIBA rules are very clear on this - an unsportsmanlike foul must be assessed. It is in the interpretations for Art. 36 Unsportsmanlike Fouls. The case the OP has FIBA interprets the "correct" ruling as the following -

Because the team B player is obviously not makeing any effort to play the ball and an unsportsmanlike advantage is gained by not allowing the game clock to restart. An unsportsmanlike foul must be called without a warning given.

Now having said that, in the case where the ball has left the hands of the team A player and then the foul occurs, this should be judged as a normal personal foul unless the severity of the contact warrants an upgrade to an unsportsmanlike or disqualifying foul.

This is a new interpretation for the rule changes that occurred after the Olympics. And Yes I have had to make this call since my season started.

OHBBREF Wed Jan 21, 2009 02:40pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbyron (Post 570721)
You must first decide whether the ball is at the disposal of the thrower. .

In the OP the ball was clearly at the disposal.
you will have to determine if the foul requires more than a personal.


I just don't know how the FIBBY's came up with that unsporting thing, but you have to do what you have to do!
I don't see it as not allowing the clock to start.
Just for kicks what if this ocurrs after a basket and the clock is running?

M&M Guy Wed Jan 21, 2009 02:59pm

Isn't this pretty much 4.19.3Sit C?

Intentional foul.

mick Wed Jan 21, 2009 08:24pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by M&M Guy (Post 570904)
Isn't this pretty much 4.19.3Sit C?

Intentional foul.

It wasn't your primary was it? From where you were watching the [Original Post] play, you didn't get that gooda look, did you? :)

JugglingReferee Wed Jan 21, 2009 08:49pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Ref_in_Alberta (Post 570769)
FIBA rules are very clear on this - an unsportsmanlike foul must be assessed. It is in the interpretations for Art. 36 Unsportsmanlike Fouls. The case the OP has FIBA interprets the "correct" ruling as the following -

Because the team B player is obviously not makeing any effort to play the ball and an unsportsmanlike advantage is gained by not allowing the game clock to restart. An unsportsmanlike foul must be called without a warning given.

Now having said that, in the case where the ball has left the hands of the team A player and then the foul occurs, this should be judged as a normal personal foul unless the severity of the contact warrants an upgrade to an unsportsmanlike or disqualifying foul.

This is a new interpretation for the rule changes that occurred after the Olympics. And Yes I have had to make this call since my season started.

You are correct that the FIBA ruling is that an unsportsmanlike foul must be called. However, I believe it is an INCORRECT rule. Instead, it should be a referee's discretion.

B2 is not playing the ball - but could be trying to anticipate where A2 will be going to receive a pass, and might foul A2 by accident. The exact same situation can happen with the ball inbounds, and it is not an unsportsmanlike foul.

Bad rule!

M&M Guy Thu Jan 22, 2009 09:51am

Quote:

Originally Posted by mick (Post 570962)
It wasn't your primary was it? From where you were watching the [Original Post] play, you didn't get that gooda look, did you? :)

Most of the time, it doesn't happen directly in front of me in my primary. :)

But there have been a very few, select times when it has, they also happened to be obvious, so it was a call easily backed by the rule.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:46pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1