The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 17, 2009, 09:02pm
Fav theme: Roundball Rock
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Near Dog River (sorta)
Posts: 8,558
Quote:
Originally Posted by mplagrow View Post
A1 is throwing the ball in from under his own basket. He heaves a long pass, and while the ball is in the air, coach A yells for a time out. The ref waits until A2 catches the ball in bounds, and grants the time out with the throw-in awarded nearest the spot A2 caught the ball. Is this right?
I do not grant these timeouts. A timeout request is only valid if the ball is in player possession. Otherwise, a coach could use a pending timeout as a tool to prevent a turnover. The coach must re-request the timeout when his team has the ball in player possession.
__________________
Pope Francis
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Was the ruling correct? NewGaRef Basketball 7 Thu Dec 28, 2006 03:54pm
What is the correct ruling? rwest Softball 42 Wed Feb 23, 2005 10:34pm
Where to get a correct ruling from zanzibar Basketball 9 Mon Jan 31, 2005 07:07pm
How to correct? Bart Tyson Basketball 10 Mon Jan 26, 2004 10:06pm
Correct Ruling sm_bbcoach Baseball 1 Fri May 30, 2003 09:42pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:18am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1