The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Correct ruling? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/51023-correct-ruling.html)

mplagrow Sat Jan 17, 2009 08:02pm

Correct ruling?
 
A1 is throwing the ball in from under his own basket. He heaves a long pass, and while the ball is in the air, coach A yells for a time out. The ref waits until A2 catches the ball in bounds, and grants the time out with the throw-in awarded nearest the spot A2 caught the ball. Is this right?

JugglingReferee Sat Jan 17, 2009 09:02pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mplagrow (Post 569698)
A1 is throwing the ball in from under his own basket. He heaves a long pass, and while the ball is in the air, coach A yells for a time out. The ref waits until A2 catches the ball in bounds, and grants the time out with the throw-in awarded nearest the spot A2 caught the ball. Is this right?

I do not grant these timeouts. A timeout request is only valid if the ball is in player possession. Otherwise, a coach could use a pending timeout as a tool to prevent a turnover. The coach must re-request the timeout when his team has the ball in player possession.

SamIAm Sat Jan 17, 2009 09:24pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JugglingReferee (Post 569705)
I do not grant these timeouts. A timeout request is only valid if the ball is in player possession. Otherwise, a coach could use a pending timeout as a tool to prevent a turnover. The coach must re-request the timeout when his team has the ball in player possession.

I agree with your ruling, but I don't see how a pending timeout could be a tool that would prevent a turnover any more than the current process.

co2ice Sat Jan 17, 2009 09:56pm

The other night I had a coach yell time out as one of his players launched a three-pointer. The ball was clearly in flight, it bounced high off the rim and over the back board, I was trail and whistled it dead and then asked if he still wanted the TO. He said " I did before it went OB.... but not now." I had to explain there is no team control on a tap/try, He looked at me like I was on another planet....... :rolleyes:

justacoach Sat Jan 17, 2009 10:18pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by co2ice (Post 569710)
The other night I had a coach yell time out as one of his players launched a three-pointer. The ball was clearly in flight, it bounced high off the rim and over the back board, I was trail and whistled it dead and then asked if he still wanted the TO. He said " I did before it went OB.... but not now." I had to explain there is no team control on a tap/try, He looked at me like I was on another planet....... :rolleyes:

What does Team Control have to do with granting a TO???

derwil Sat Jan 17, 2009 11:28pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by co2ice (Post 569710)
I had to explain there is no team control on a tap/try, He looked at me like I was on another planet....... :rolleyes:

Earth to referee, earth to referee. Come in, over.

Must have team control during a live ball. For example - who has team control during a throw in? No team control on throw in, but time outs are granted all the time.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:00pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1