The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Triping Over Players on Floor... (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/50993-triping-over-players-floor.html)

bob jenkins Sat Jan 17, 2009 11:25am

Quote:

Originally Posted by mdray (Post 569475)
if B1 is laying on the floor, right behind and out of the field of vision of A1, and non-incidental contact (A1 falling to the floor) occurs, that's a blocking foul on B1(caused by an illegal screen if you will)


Case 10.6.1E, last in the 2004-05 case book (typos are mine):B1 attempts to steal the ball from stationary A1 who is holding the ball. b1 misses the ball and falls to the floor. In dribbling away, A1 contacts' B1's leg, loses control of the ball and falls to the floor. RULING: No infraction or foul has occurred and play continues. Unless B1 made an effrot to trip or block A1, he/she is entitled to a position on the court even if it is momentarily lying on the floor after falling down.

That should clear up how the FED *wanted* the play called. Open for discussion, of course, is the unresolved "are case plays that are no longer published still valid?"

BillyMac Sat Jan 17, 2009 02:52pm

Great Citation ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 569607)
Case 10.6.1E, 2004-05 Case Book: B1 attempts to steal the ball from stationary A1 who is holding the ball. B1 misses the ball and falls to the floor. In dribbling away, A1 contacts' B1's leg, loses control of the ball and falls to the floor. RULING: No infraction or foul has occurred and play continues. Unless B1 made an effort to trip or block A1, he/she is entitled to a position on the court even if it is momentarily lying on the floor after falling down.

Thanks. I only thought Nevadaref pulled up interpretations from many years ago. You also saved Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. a trip up to his very, very cold attic.

BillyMac Sat Jan 17, 2009 02:54pm

Good Perspective ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Kelvin green (Post 569500)
Did A trip over B on the floor? Or
Did B trip A while on the floor? In my mind there is a difference. We don't call a tripping foul everytime someone falls down do we?

Similar to what I say, usually to coaches who politely ask: "There's a difference between tripping, and being tripped".

mdray Mon Jan 19, 2009 09:34am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 569607)
Case 10.6.1E, last in the 2004-05 case book (typos are mine):B1 attempts to steal the ball from stationary A1 who is holding the ball. b1 misses the ball and falls to the floor. In dribbling away, A1 contacts' B1's leg, loses control of the ball and falls to the floor. RULING: No infraction or foul has occurred and play continues. Unless B1 made an effrot to trip or block A1, he/she is entitled to a position on the court even if it is momentarily lying on the floor after falling down.

That should clear up how the FED *wanted* the play called. Open for discussion, of course, is the unresolved "are case plays that are no longer published still valid?"

thanks for citing this...what if A1 had not lost control of the ball when he/she fell to the floor....the caseplay cited would seem to imply that a travel call would be the correct call at that point....

jdw3018 Mon Jan 19, 2009 09:40am

Quote:

Originally Posted by mdray (Post 570035)
thanks for citing this...what if A1 had not lost control of the ball when he/she fell to the floor....the caseplay cited would seem to imply that a travel call would be the correct call at that point....

All that's important is that if a player goes to the ground while maintaining player control, it is a travel if there is not a foul or other violation first.

In this case, yes, absolutely, it's a travel.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:09pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1