The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 15, 2009, 12:54pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
If it is a 2, then the one official correctly makes no signal. If this official did not know at the time that his partner signaled the 3, but the question comes up later, then the 2 officials decide it was a 2, I have no problem calling this a scoring error.

But I don't think this is exactly what was suggested above.
I have a problem with it. It's an officials error (2-10) and needs to be corrected within the time frame prescribed or not at all.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 15, 2009, 01:18pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 265
I agree with snaqwells. If it is an officials error then it is a correctable error and needs to be corrected in the timeframe allowed. If it was signaled correctly on the court but the scorekeeper but it in the book wrong the official can correct that anytime until they approve the final score.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 15, 2009, 02:38pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
I have a problem with it. It's an officials error (2-10) and needs to be corrected within the time frame prescribed or not at all.
If one official had the call right, I think that is sufficient grounds to make the correction.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 15, 2009, 02:42pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
If one official had the call right, I think that is sufficient grounds to make the correction.
There was (rightfully) no signal. Therefore, there was no call. The scorer did not make an error, the officials did.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:56pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1