The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Ponytail (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/50913-ponytail.html)

Mark Padgett Tue Jan 13, 2009 01:04pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by fullor30 (Post 568013)
Line of what??:)

It was the baseline, not the endline. If he was going to have his nose on another kind of line, he'd have to wait until he got to the locker room. :p

M&M Guy Tue Jan 13, 2009 01:14pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by chartrusepengui (Post 567986)
If a player A1 is making a try and is guarded by B1. B2 is standing next to B1 but facing a different direction. She hears B1 yell help, as she turns, her pony tail swings and makes contact with A1 on the try. Are you going to call a foul on B2 for the pony tail contact here? Or for any other ponytail/hair contact?

I would judge a foul on the contact just as I would for any other contact.

Also, from the 2005-06 Interps:
SITUATION 9: A1 recovers a loose ball on the playing court near the sideline, with his/her body entirely in bounds. However, A1's head is hovering out of bounds and his/her hair (which is in a long ponytail) is touching the floor, out of bounds. RULING: A1 is called for the out-of-bounds violation. (7-1-1; 7-1-2; 9-3-1)

Freddy Tue Jan 13, 2009 01:17pm

What's Your "Line"?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark Padgett (Post 568016)
. . . his nose on another kind of line, he'd have to wait until he got to the locker room. :p

That would've been one of those close, "razor's edge" calls you often have to make. :D

(Almost all games tonight in SW Michigan, mine included, have been cancelled. As you can tell, all I have to do now is watch Law and Order reruns :( and monitor the discussion board :).)

chartrusepengui Tue Jan 13, 2009 01:17pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by M&M Guy (Post 568019)
I would judge a foul on the contact just as I would for any other contact.

Also, from the 2005-06 Interps:
SITUATION 9: A1 recovers a loose ball on the playing court near the sideline, with his/her body entirely in bounds. However, A1's head is hovering out of bounds and his/her hair (which is in a long ponytail) is touching the floor, out of bounds. RULING: A1 is called for the out-of-bounds violation. (7-1-1; 7-1-2; 9-3-1)

I stand corrected - I didn't look back far enough for this OOB sit. Guess I will be calling this from now on.

Thanks!

SamIAm Tue Jan 13, 2009 01:43pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by chartrusepengui (Post 568022)
I stand corrected - I didn't look back far enough for this OOB sit. Guess I will be calling this from now on.

Thanks!

or
Quote:

Originally Posted by chartrusepengui (Post 568022)
I don't believe I'm calling a pony tail OOB

In volleyball ( I know, I know) when the pony tail/hair touches the net it is NOT a net foul and this is specified in the rules. Until something is specified for BB I'm not calling this.

I may be wrong - but I'm not calling it!

What happened in 59 minutes to make you change your mind?

Adam Tue Jan 13, 2009 01:45pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Ch1town (Post 568008)
Guess I'll have to see this happen to understand. Out of curiousity what level of ball was this?
Good thing she didn't have dreds. That may have been an intentional. j/k :D

Personally, I'd say an injury is sufficient advantage to call a foul. Sort of like a poke in the eye when swiping for the ball. If I see it, I'll call it.

chartrusepengui Tue Jan 13, 2009 02:03pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by SamIAm (Post 568033)
or


What happened in 59 minutes to make you change your mind?

Quote:

Also, from the 2005-06 Interps:
SITUATION 9: A1 recovers a loose ball on the playing court near the sideline, with his/her body entirely in bounds. However, A1's head is hovering out of bounds and his/her hair (which is in a long ponytail) is touching the floor, out of bounds. RULING: A1 is called for the out-of-bounds violation. (7-1-1; 7-1-2; 9-3-1)
This


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:03am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1