The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Ponytail (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/50913-ponytail.html)

Judtech Tue Jan 13, 2009 12:15pm

Ponytail
 
A friend of mine brought this up awhile ago and said something similar happened last nite.
Play 1 - Girl dives on floor for ball and slides to a stop near the sideline. Her ponytail, following the laws of Thermodynamics, continues to 'head' to the sideline. She is about 4" inbounds, however, the pony tail comes to rest out of bounds. He blows the whistle for OB

Play 2 - A1 B1 scramble under basket for loose ball. A1 is partially sitting and B1 is reaching for the ball. As A1 leans on her elbow, her ponytail is touching OB. Both players now have a firm grasp on the ball. In this case it was called a JUMP and went to AP

From what I understand, in BOTH cases the players were wearing legally approved hair control devices:)

chartrusepengui Tue Jan 13, 2009 12:18pm

I don't believe I'm calling a pony tail OOB

In volleyball ( I know, I know) when the pony tail/hair touches the net it is NOT a net foul and this is specified in the rules. Until something is specified for BB I'm not calling this.

I may be wrong - but I'm not calling it!

bigdogrunnin Tue Jan 13, 2009 12:18pm

Is the hair not part of the body? OOB in both situations.

JRutledge Tue Jan 13, 2009 12:21pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bigdogrunnin (Post 567981)
Is the hair not part of the body? OOB in both situations.

I believe there was a ruling or interpretation on this topic and the hair was considered out of bounds. :)

Peace

chartrusepengui Tue Jan 13, 2009 12:23pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bigdogrunnin (Post 567981)
Is the hair not part of the body? OOB in both situations.

If a player A1 is making a try and is guarded by B1. B2 is standing next to B1 but facing a different direction. She hears B1 yell help, as she turns, her pony tail swings and makes contact with A1 on the try. Are you going to call a foul on B2 for the pony tail contact here? Or for any other ponytail/hair contact?

NCAAREF Tue Jan 13, 2009 12:26pm

My 2 cents
 
You guys ar:oe "really splitting hairs"....ugh.....

JugglingReferee Tue Jan 13, 2009 12:36pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Judtech (Post 567978)
A friend of mine brought this up awhile ago and said something similar happened last nite.

Play 1 - Girl dives on floor for ball and slides to a stop near the sideline. Her ponytail, following the laws of Thermodynamics, continues to 'head' to the sideline. She is about 4" inbounds, however, the pony tail comes to rest out of bounds. He blows the whistle for OB

Play 2 - A1 B1 scramble under basket for loose ball. A1 is partially sitting and B1 is reaching for the ball. As A1 leans on her elbow, her ponytail is touching OB. Both players now have a firm grasp on the ball. In this case it was called a JUMP and went to AP

From what I understand, in BOTH cases the players were wearing legally approved hair control devices:)

OB I believe, in both cases. Hair is part of the body.

Thermodynamics? What does the heat energy of this girl's hair have to do with anything? Perhaps you mean the laws of momentum?

Ch1town Tue Jan 13, 2009 12:44pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by chartrusepengui (Post 567986)
If a player A1 is making a try and is guarded by B1. B2 is standing next to B1 but facing a different direction. She hears B1 yell help, as she turns, her pony tail swings and makes contact with A1 on the try. Are you going to call a foul on B2 for the pony tail contact here? Or for any other ponytail/hair contact?

Marginal contact is not a foul :)

Freddy Tue Jan 13, 2009 12:46pm

"You May Be Right, I May Be Crazy"
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by chartrusepengui (Post 567980)

I may be wrong - but I'm not calling it!

:confused:

When this phrase is stated, does anybody else get uncomfortable?

Judtech Tue Jan 13, 2009 12:47pm

My bad, it is actually the first of Newton's Laws of Motion. I was distracted by changing the heat settings on my THERMOstat:p

Johnny Ringo Tue Jan 13, 2009 12:50pm

I had a play similar to the one describe in earlier post.

Play: helpside defender turns quickly and pony tail hits girl in the face as she is dribbling. In reflex, the dribbler reached for her face ... ball squirtted away and she fell to the floor ... I had foul on the defender ... nobody argued.

Ch1town Tue Jan 13, 2009 12:54pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Johnny Ringo (Post 568003)
I had a play similar to the one describe in earlier post.

Play: helpside defender turns quickly and pony tail hits girl in the face as she is dribbling. In reflex, the dribbler reached for her face ... ball squirtted away and she fell to the floor ... I had foul on the defender ... nobody argued.

Guess I'll have to see this happen to understand. Out of curiousity what level of ball was this?
Good thing she didn't have dreds. That may have been an intentional. j/k :D

grunewar Tue Jan 13, 2009 12:58pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Johnny Ringo (Post 568003)
I had a play similar to the one describe in earlier post.

Play: helpside defender turns quickly and pony tail hits girl in the face as she is dribbling. In reflex, the dribbler reached for her face ... ball squirtted away and she fell to the floor ... I had foul on the defender ... nobody argued.

A similar thread on ponytails from 2003.....and look who started it. :eek:

http://forum.officiating.com/basketb...-ponytail.html

Mark Padgett Tue Jan 13, 2009 12:59pm

I called a kid OOB once when his nosehairs were touching the line.

fullor30 Tue Jan 13, 2009 01:02pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark Padgett (Post 568012)
I called a kid OOB once when his nosehairs were touching the line.

Line of what??:)

Mark Padgett Tue Jan 13, 2009 01:04pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by fullor30 (Post 568013)
Line of what??:)

It was the baseline, not the endline. If he was going to have his nose on another kind of line, he'd have to wait until he got to the locker room. :p

M&M Guy Tue Jan 13, 2009 01:14pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by chartrusepengui (Post 567986)
If a player A1 is making a try and is guarded by B1. B2 is standing next to B1 but facing a different direction. She hears B1 yell help, as she turns, her pony tail swings and makes contact with A1 on the try. Are you going to call a foul on B2 for the pony tail contact here? Or for any other ponytail/hair contact?

I would judge a foul on the contact just as I would for any other contact.

Also, from the 2005-06 Interps:
SITUATION 9: A1 recovers a loose ball on the playing court near the sideline, with his/her body entirely in bounds. However, A1's head is hovering out of bounds and his/her hair (which is in a long ponytail) is touching the floor, out of bounds. RULING: A1 is called for the out-of-bounds violation. (7-1-1; 7-1-2; 9-3-1)

Freddy Tue Jan 13, 2009 01:17pm

What's Your "Line"?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark Padgett (Post 568016)
. . . his nose on another kind of line, he'd have to wait until he got to the locker room. :p

That would've been one of those close, "razor's edge" calls you often have to make. :D

(Almost all games tonight in SW Michigan, mine included, have been cancelled. As you can tell, all I have to do now is watch Law and Order reruns :( and monitor the discussion board :).)

chartrusepengui Tue Jan 13, 2009 01:17pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by M&M Guy (Post 568019)
I would judge a foul on the contact just as I would for any other contact.

Also, from the 2005-06 Interps:
SITUATION 9: A1 recovers a loose ball on the playing court near the sideline, with his/her body entirely in bounds. However, A1's head is hovering out of bounds and his/her hair (which is in a long ponytail) is touching the floor, out of bounds. RULING: A1 is called for the out-of-bounds violation. (7-1-1; 7-1-2; 9-3-1)

I stand corrected - I didn't look back far enough for this OOB sit. Guess I will be calling this from now on.

Thanks!

SamIAm Tue Jan 13, 2009 01:43pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by chartrusepengui (Post 568022)
I stand corrected - I didn't look back far enough for this OOB sit. Guess I will be calling this from now on.

Thanks!

or
Quote:

Originally Posted by chartrusepengui (Post 568022)
I don't believe I'm calling a pony tail OOB

In volleyball ( I know, I know) when the pony tail/hair touches the net it is NOT a net foul and this is specified in the rules. Until something is specified for BB I'm not calling this.

I may be wrong - but I'm not calling it!

What happened in 59 minutes to make you change your mind?

Adam Tue Jan 13, 2009 01:45pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Ch1town (Post 568008)
Guess I'll have to see this happen to understand. Out of curiousity what level of ball was this?
Good thing she didn't have dreds. That may have been an intentional. j/k :D

Personally, I'd say an injury is sufficient advantage to call a foul. Sort of like a poke in the eye when swiping for the ball. If I see it, I'll call it.

chartrusepengui Tue Jan 13, 2009 02:03pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by SamIAm (Post 568033)
or


What happened in 59 minutes to make you change your mind?

Quote:

Also, from the 2005-06 Interps:
SITUATION 9: A1 recovers a loose ball on the playing court near the sideline, with his/her body entirely in bounds. However, A1's head is hovering out of bounds and his/her hair (which is in a long ponytail) is touching the floor, out of bounds. RULING: A1 is called for the out-of-bounds violation. (7-1-1; 7-1-2; 9-3-1)
This


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:43pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1