The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 27, 2000, 11:25pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Posts: 2,217
Post

What if A1 and B1 grab the rebound simultaneously, and A1 immediately takes two steps while attempting to wrest the ball from B1? Does the held ball occur immediately, meaning that the travel happened after the ball was dead?

I have seen traveling called in held ball situations. This weekend our opponents lost the ball when one of our players on defense grabbed the ball, tugged hard, and forced the other player to lose her balance and take several steps. I thought that it was the wrong call, but was not sure.

Looking further, it says in 4-25-1, "a held ball occurs when opponents have their hands so firmly on the ball that control cannot be obtained without undue roughness." It seems to me that the second situation I have described here should really be a held ball, and I believe that the rebound would be as well. Is this correct?

[This message has been edited by Hawks Coach (edited February 28, 2000).]
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:51pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1