The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Travel? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/50791-travel.html)

Ch1town Thu Jan 08, 2009 04:39pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by jevaque (Post 566309)
If A1 dives on the floor for a loose ball mishandles it and he loses it stops sliding then B2 also going for the ball trips over A1. what ya got??:confused:

A MS game?

OHBBREF Thu Jan 08, 2009 04:39pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by jevaque (Post 566309)
If A1 dives on the floor for a loose ball mishandles it and he loses it stops sliding then B2 also going for the ball trips over A1. what ya got??:confused:

A mad scramble for the ball,
A1 was legally on the floor (got there first) wasn't moving
B tripped over A going to get the ball show me where the foul is?

Now if A1 is slidding and wipes out B2 then there is a foul on A but otherwise it is ugly but there really isn't a difinative foul here.

OHBBREF Thu Jan 08, 2009 04:45pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by jevaque (Post 566311)
who all agrees with this???

PC unless the ball goes in the basket prior to contact, in which case it's just an injury time out for A1 and or B1.

By rule he's got you,
there is nothing wrong with being on the floor
there is nothing wrong with being under the basket (NBA excluded)
and as long as that position was obtained before the shooter went airborne
I do not see where the issue is.

Now making the call is something altogether different - this is one of those does it fit the game calls in my opinion.
So with my luck it happens in the first 90 seconds of the game.

M&M Guy Thu Jan 08, 2009 04:45pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Ch1town (Post 566312)
A MS game?

:D

jevaque, sounds like you're trying to grasp some of these concepts, and perhaps you don't quite agree. Do you have a rule book handy? If so, do you have any rules basis for your disagreement?

deecee Thu Jan 08, 2009 04:45pm

JEVAQUE -- not all contact is a foul. This is one situation where its not.

Adam Thu Jan 08, 2009 04:46pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by jevaque (Post 566309)
If A1 dives on the floor for a loose ball mishandles it and he loses it stops sliding then B2 also going for the ball trips over A1. what ya got??:confused:

Likely a no-call.

Coach will likely think it's "something," though. Still trying to find the signal for "something."

Adam Thu Jan 08, 2009 04:47pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by OHBBREF (Post 566317)
By rule he's got you,
there is nothing wrong with being on the floor
there is nothing wrong with being under the basket (NBA excluded)
and as long as that position was obtained before the shooter went airborne
I do not see where the issue is.

Now making the call is something altogether different - this is one of those does it fit the game calls in my opinion.

I could agree with a no-call here as long as B1 doesn't get injured by the contact. No way it's a block, though.

M&M Guy Thu Jan 08, 2009 04:53pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 566320)
Likely a no-call.

Coach will likely think it's "something," though. Still trying to find the signal for "something."

You're looking for it in the wrong place - it's listed under "Giving Him The Business".

deecee Thu Jan 08, 2009 04:59pm

The something signal is simple -- make a fist and extend the "first, middle and ring finger" but keep them pressed together. Then just ask the coach to read between the lines. There you now have "something.".

Adam Thu Jan 08, 2009 05:14pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by deecee (Post 566325)
The something signal is simple -- make a fist and extend the "first, middle and ring finger" but keep them pressed together. Then just ask the coach to read between the lines. There you now have "something.".

You really need to stop reading Padgett's rule book. It's not the official version.

deecee Thu Jan 08, 2009 05:30pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 566329)
You really need to stop reading Padgett's rule book. It's not the official version.

Well its the "official enough" version. Now his case book is the only one of a kind.

mbyron Fri Jan 09, 2009 09:53am

Quote:

Originally Posted by M&M Guy (Post 566324)
You're looking for it in the wrong place - it's listed under "Giving Him The Business".

I had occasion to look up Ron Cherry's famous YouTube video of the same title in honor of his white-hatting last night.

Rich Fri Jan 09, 2009 10:44am

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbyron (Post 566497)
I had occasion to look up Ron Cherry's famous YouTube video of the same title in honor of his white-hatting last night.

Stupid, contrived moment. Now, the Ben Dreith one was priceless.

Fritz Fri Jan 09, 2009 02:23pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 566321)
I could agree with a no-call here as long as B1 doesn't get injured by the contact. No way it's a block, though.

Seems like at the youth level, we get this sitch every other game. Defender falls down due to puberty or whatever, dribbler then drives by, over or around the fallen player and trips over him through NO action by the defender. Loses ball out of bounds and the OC comes unglued with "Come on ref, you gotta call something there!"

"OK Coach; {whack} Technical Foul on the Head Coach!"

deecee Fri Jan 09, 2009 02:25pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Fritz (Post 566743)
Seems like at the youth level, we get this sitch every other game. Defender falls down due to puberty or whatever, dribbler then drives by, over or around the fallen player and trips over him through NO action by the defender. Loses ball out of bounds and the OC comes unglued with "Come on ref, you gotta call something there!"

"OK Coach; {whack} Technical Foul on the Head Coach!"

I know I wont T for that statement alone.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:49pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1