The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Travel? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/50791-travel.html)

Ch1town Thu Jan 08, 2009 03:43pm

Travel?
 
Forgive me if this has been discussed before.

A1 has control of the ball and is falling to the floor but lands on B1 (who is on the ground) but never touches the floor. B3 creates a held ball situation by grabbing the ball.

What do we have, travel or held ball?

deecee Thu Jan 08, 2009 03:45pm

i dont see why we wouldnt have a travel -- why would the fact that a player is already on the ground not make it a travel?

i can already see the player control fouls coming out here -- "but the guy on the floor had LGP" :)

Ch1town Thu Jan 08, 2009 03:53pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by deecee (Post 566255)
i dont see why we wouldnt have a travel -- why would the fact that a player is already on the ground not make it a travel?

My thoughts as well but while discussing with another official, we looked at the rule & it says a player holding the ball may not fall to the floor . In this sitch the player fell on another player, never touching the floor.

Quote:

Originally Posted by deecee (Post 566255)
i can already see the player control fouls coming out here -- "but the guy on the floor had LGP" :)

B1 on the floor had nothing to do with A1 falling. Lets say B1 tripped over a volleyball line.

OHBBREF Thu Jan 08, 2009 03:54pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by deecee (Post 566255)
why would the fact that a player is already on the ground not make it a travel?

if the pivot foot didn't hit the floor again ...
nor any other part of their body except the hand or ball ever hit the floor ...?


think about it it will come to you ...

jevaque Thu Jan 08, 2009 03:55pm

if A1 tripped on B1 and fell on him then its a blocking foul on B1, B1 does not have LGP

Adam Thu Jan 08, 2009 04:05pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by jevaque (Post 566263)
if A1 tripped on B1 and fell on him then its a blocking foul on B1, B1 does not have LGP

Not if B1 isn't moving (NFHS rules). If he's not moving, he doesn't need LGP and it can't be a block.

Adam Thu Jan 08, 2009 04:05pm

BTW, I do not have a travel on the original play. The floor is key here.

M&M Guy Thu Jan 08, 2009 04:06pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by jevaque (Post 566263)
if A1 tripped on B1 and fell on him then its a blocking foul on B1, B1 does not have LGP

In NCAA you would be correct; in Fed. you may not be correct. B1 may not have LGP, but B1 is still entitled to a spot on the floor and is not automatically responsible for the contact.

OHBBREF Thu Jan 08, 2009 04:08pm

D a
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by jevaque (Post 566263)
if A1 tripped on B1 and fell on him then its a blocking foul on B1, B1 does not have LGP

why does legal guarding position apply? :confused:

B1's position on the floor could be legal? :o

is it not A1's job to avoid contact with a defender who has a legal position on the floor? :rolleyes:

deecee Thu Jan 08, 2009 04:16pm

So why doesn't the intent of the rule apply here? - when do we get to be lieteral and focus on the intent of rules?

BktBallRef Thu Jan 08, 2009 04:24pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by jevaque (Post 566263)
if A1 tripped on B1 and fell on him then its a blocking foul on B1, B1 does not have LGP

Not true.

Under NFHS rules, every player is entitled to a spot on the floor as long as he gained the spot legally.

A defender does not have to have LGP to be fouled.

jevaque Thu Jan 08, 2009 04:31pm

so if B1 is laying under the basket and A1 goes up for a shot and lands on B1 what do you guys have?????

Adam Thu Jan 08, 2009 04:33pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by jevaque (Post 566304)
so if B1 is laying under the basket and A1 goes up for a shot and lands on B1 what do you guys have?????

PC unless the ball goes in the basket prior to contact, in which case it's just an injury time out for A1 and or B1.

jevaque Thu Jan 08, 2009 04:35pm

If A1 dives on the floor for a loose ball mishandles it and he loses it stops sliding then B2 also going for the ball trips over A1. what ya got??:confused:

jevaque Thu Jan 08, 2009 04:39pm

who all agrees with this???

Originally Posted by jevaque View Post
so if B1 is laying under the basket and A1 goes up for a shot and lands on B1 what do you guys have?????

PC unless the ball goes in the basket prior to contact, in which case it's just an injury time out for A1 and or B1.

Ch1town Thu Jan 08, 2009 04:39pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by jevaque (Post 566309)
If A1 dives on the floor for a loose ball mishandles it and he loses it stops sliding then B2 also going for the ball trips over A1. what ya got??:confused:

A MS game?

OHBBREF Thu Jan 08, 2009 04:39pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by jevaque (Post 566309)
If A1 dives on the floor for a loose ball mishandles it and he loses it stops sliding then B2 also going for the ball trips over A1. what ya got??:confused:

A mad scramble for the ball,
A1 was legally on the floor (got there first) wasn't moving
B tripped over A going to get the ball show me where the foul is?

Now if A1 is slidding and wipes out B2 then there is a foul on A but otherwise it is ugly but there really isn't a difinative foul here.

OHBBREF Thu Jan 08, 2009 04:45pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by jevaque (Post 566311)
who all agrees with this???

PC unless the ball goes in the basket prior to contact, in which case it's just an injury time out for A1 and or B1.

By rule he's got you,
there is nothing wrong with being on the floor
there is nothing wrong with being under the basket (NBA excluded)
and as long as that position was obtained before the shooter went airborne
I do not see where the issue is.

Now making the call is something altogether different - this is one of those does it fit the game calls in my opinion.
So with my luck it happens in the first 90 seconds of the game.

M&M Guy Thu Jan 08, 2009 04:45pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Ch1town (Post 566312)
A MS game?

:D

jevaque, sounds like you're trying to grasp some of these concepts, and perhaps you don't quite agree. Do you have a rule book handy? If so, do you have any rules basis for your disagreement?

deecee Thu Jan 08, 2009 04:45pm

JEVAQUE -- not all contact is a foul. This is one situation where its not.

Adam Thu Jan 08, 2009 04:46pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by jevaque (Post 566309)
If A1 dives on the floor for a loose ball mishandles it and he loses it stops sliding then B2 also going for the ball trips over A1. what ya got??:confused:

Likely a no-call.

Coach will likely think it's "something," though. Still trying to find the signal for "something."

Adam Thu Jan 08, 2009 04:47pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by OHBBREF (Post 566317)
By rule he's got you,
there is nothing wrong with being on the floor
there is nothing wrong with being under the basket (NBA excluded)
and as long as that position was obtained before the shooter went airborne
I do not see where the issue is.

Now making the call is something altogether different - this is one of those does it fit the game calls in my opinion.

I could agree with a no-call here as long as B1 doesn't get injured by the contact. No way it's a block, though.

M&M Guy Thu Jan 08, 2009 04:53pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 566320)
Likely a no-call.

Coach will likely think it's "something," though. Still trying to find the signal for "something."

You're looking for it in the wrong place - it's listed under "Giving Him The Business".

deecee Thu Jan 08, 2009 04:59pm

The something signal is simple -- make a fist and extend the "first, middle and ring finger" but keep them pressed together. Then just ask the coach to read between the lines. There you now have "something.".

Adam Thu Jan 08, 2009 05:14pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by deecee (Post 566325)
The something signal is simple -- make a fist and extend the "first, middle and ring finger" but keep them pressed together. Then just ask the coach to read between the lines. There you now have "something.".

You really need to stop reading Padgett's rule book. It's not the official version.

deecee Thu Jan 08, 2009 05:30pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 566329)
You really need to stop reading Padgett's rule book. It's not the official version.

Well its the "official enough" version. Now his case book is the only one of a kind.

mbyron Fri Jan 09, 2009 09:53am

Quote:

Originally Posted by M&M Guy (Post 566324)
You're looking for it in the wrong place - it's listed under "Giving Him The Business".

I had occasion to look up Ron Cherry's famous YouTube video of the same title in honor of his white-hatting last night.

Rich Fri Jan 09, 2009 10:44am

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbyron (Post 566497)
I had occasion to look up Ron Cherry's famous YouTube video of the same title in honor of his white-hatting last night.

Stupid, contrived moment. Now, the Ben Dreith one was priceless.

Fritz Fri Jan 09, 2009 02:23pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 566321)
I could agree with a no-call here as long as B1 doesn't get injured by the contact. No way it's a block, though.

Seems like at the youth level, we get this sitch every other game. Defender falls down due to puberty or whatever, dribbler then drives by, over or around the fallen player and trips over him through NO action by the defender. Loses ball out of bounds and the OC comes unglued with "Come on ref, you gotta call something there!"

"OK Coach; {whack} Technical Foul on the Head Coach!"

deecee Fri Jan 09, 2009 02:25pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Fritz (Post 566743)
Seems like at the youth level, we get this sitch every other game. Defender falls down due to puberty or whatever, dribbler then drives by, over or around the fallen player and trips over him through NO action by the defender. Loses ball out of bounds and the OC comes unglued with "Come on ref, you gotta call something there!"

"OK Coach; {whack} Technical Foul on the Head Coach!"

I know I wont T for that statement alone.

mbyron Fri Jan 09, 2009 03:43pm

"Clumsy is not a foul, coach."

Ch1town Fri Jan 09, 2009 03:50pm

Nice, short response, consider it stolen :D

mbyron Fri Jan 09, 2009 04:16pm

Related, and works for violations too: "no rule against clumsy, coach."


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:16pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1