The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 06, 2009, 03:22pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by referee99 View Post
no monsieur. not the french!
Poi is Hawaiian, not French.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 06, 2009, 03:23pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbyron View Post
Poi is Hawaiian, not French.
Mahalo.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 06, 2009, 03:42pm
certified Hot Mom tester
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: only in my own mind, such as it is
Posts: 12,918
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbyron View Post
Poi is Hawaiian, not French.
You can only have poi in the game if you accompany it with a crab dribble.
__________________
Yom HaShoah
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 06, 2009, 03:54pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Lincoln Co, Missouri
Posts: 823
Remember in NFHS there is no team control during a throw in so in a) you also have a AP throw in 6-4-3-g
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 06, 2009, 04:00pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by eyezen View Post
Remember in NFHS there is no team control during a throw in so in a) you also have a AP throw in 6-4-3-g
I'm assuming 6-4-3g has the throwin over (ball legally touched) but team control not yet established. Right?
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 06, 2009, 04:03pm
Lighten up, Francis.
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4,694
Quote:
Originally Posted by eyezen View Post
Remember in NFHS there is no team control during a throw in so in a) you also have a AP throw in 6-4-3-g
In the original situation, the throw-in pass was "approaching" the 2 players, so it had not been touched inbounds. That means that the throw-in hadn't ended; and that means that the POI is a new throw-in to the team that just threw the ball in.

If the ball had been touched before the double foul, then we would have no team control and NOT during the throw-in, so we would go to the arrow.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 06, 2009, 04:11pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Lincoln Co, Missouri
Posts: 823
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scrapper1 View Post
In the original situation, the throw-in pass was "approaching" the 2 players, so it had not been touched inbounds. That means that the throw-in hadn't ended; and that means that the POI is a new throw-in to the team that just threw the ball in.

If the ball had been touched before the double foul, then we would have no team control and NOT during the throw-in, so we would go to the arrow.
I don't see where touching is relevant here, when the ball is at disposal, there is no team control during the throw in. If a double foul occurs before team control is established the you need to go to the arrow. Touching is only relevant to determine where the ball would be put in at.

Not entirely the same, but bear with me. During a shot attempt a double foul occurs do you not go to the arrow for the subsequent throw-in? Why? Because team control is not established. During a throw in would be the same. At disposal, no one has team control, so subsequent throw in is via the AP.

Last edited by eyezen; Tue Jan 06, 2009 at 04:14pm.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 06, 2009, 04:15pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by eyezen View Post
I don't see where touching is relevant here, when the ball is at disposal, there is no team control during the throw in. If a double foul occurs before team control is established the you need to go to the arrow. Touching is only relevant to determine where the ball would be put in at.

Not entirely the same, but bear with me. During a shot attempt a double foul occurs do you not go to the arrow for the subsequent throw-in? Why? Because team control is not established. During a throw in would be the same. At disposal, no one has team control, so subsequent throw in is via the AP.

Read 4-36-2a defintion of Point of Interruption
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 06, 2009, 04:26pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Lincoln Co, Missouri
Posts: 823
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
Read 4-36-2a defintion of Point of Interruption
I did, it says "A throw in to the team that was in control at a spot nearest to where the ball was located when the interuption occured".

Which team is that during a throw in?
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 06, 2009, 04:22pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
In case your rule book isn't handy, eyezen, the definition of POI says if the interrupting event occurs during a throwin, the POI is the throwin.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 06, 2009, 04:28pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Lincoln Co, Missouri
Posts: 823
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scrapper1 View Post
In the original situation, the throw-in pass was "approaching" the 2 players, so it had not been touched inbounds. That means that the throw-in hadn't ended; and that means that the POI is a new throw-in to the team that just threw the ball in.
I agree if the original throw in was an AP throw in. The original AP throw in had not completed.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 06, 2009, 04:31pm
Ch1town
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
eyezen, I fought this same battle on the board a little while back & got KO'd early. After re-reading POI & maybe viewing a couple of case plays you'll see they are right.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 06, 2009, 04:35pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Lincoln Co, Missouri
Posts: 823
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ch1town View Post
eyezen, I fought this same battle on the board a little while back & got KO'd early. After re-reading POI & maybe viewing a couple of case plays you'll see they are right.
It's not a battle. Its a civil discussion. And I could be wrong. Which case plays? I'll be more than happy to read them.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:46pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1