The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Player oob (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/50717-player-oob.html)

OHBBREF Tue Jan 06, 2009 02:27pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 565193)
Let's assume it's contact that is a foul if it happens anywhere else on the court. Let's assume that the contact knocked the player to the floor, preventing him/her from returning to the inbounds area. Let's assume the basket is missed.

It certainly does affect play. On what basis do you have incidental contact?

I was working from the OP and that was not involved, however I am still 99 out of a hundred times calling this incidental contact, unless it is excessive, Flagrant or intentional. becuase if the player is out OOB they are not a part of the play at that moment, because they are not on the floor.

So now you answer the question
Assume the basket goes in and the colission knocks B to the floor, it is a Dead ball and B cannot get the ball to inbound it, are you going to make the foul call with contact during a dead ball?

Adam Tue Jan 06, 2009 02:33pm

It was part of the OP, I just made it more specific.
Quote:

Originally Posted by tjchamp (Post 564807)
If B2 had been in bounds, no doubt you call a pushing foul.

If it's a foul you'd call with the player in bounds, it's a foul when he's out of bounds (assuming LGP isn't an issue)

Quote:

Originally Posted by OHBBREF (Post 565249)
I was working from the OP and that was not involved, however I am still 99 out of a hundred times calling this incidental contact, unless it is excessive, Flagrant or intentional. becuase if the player is out OOB they are not a part of the play at that moment, because they are not on the floor.

So now you answer the question
Assume the basket goes in and the colission knocks B to the floor, it is a Dead ball and B cannot get the ball to inbound it, are you going to make the foul call with contact during a dead ball?

It doesn't matter if B can get to the ball, it's incidental unless it's intentional or flagrant. Since the ball is dead, this is easy. The OP was very clear on asking about if the ball was still live.

Now, if the collision happened before the basket went in, I'd treat it like rebounding contact. If A3 knocks B2 to the floor in rebounding action prior to the ball going in, do you call it?

OHBBREF Tue Jan 06, 2009 02:57pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 565255)
Now, if the collision happened before the basket went in, I'd treat it like rebounding contact. If A3 knocks B2 to the floor in rebounding action prior to the ball going in, do you call it?

If B2 had an oportunity to be involved in the play - in other words if the ball came off the rim in an area where possibly B could have gotten a rebound had they not been knocked down I may have a foul call. However if the ball was to the left and B is to the right side I'm probably going to rule the contact incidental since it has no bering on the play on the ball.

Adam Tue Jan 06, 2009 03:06pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by OHBBREF (Post 565269)
If B2 had an oportunity to be involved in the play - in other words if the ball came off the rim in an area where possibly B could have gotten a rebound had they not been knocked down I may have a foul call. However if the ball was to the left and B is to the right side I'm probably going to rule the contact incidental since it has no bering on the play on the ball.

it doesn't have to have a bearing on the "play on the ball," IMO. What if B is the point guard and his teammate is looking to pass to him now? Displacement does not really require an obvious advantage in this situation. Normal pushing and shoving? Okay, I'm with you. Knocking an opponent down during a live ball needs to be called, though.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:00am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1