The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Player oob (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/50717-player-oob.html)

tjchamp Mon Jan 05, 2009 05:45pm

Player oob
 
Can a player standing out of bounds draw a foul (other than intentional or flagrant)? For example, B2 is out of bounds under the basket (momentum or some other legal reason). At the same time, A1 has just finished a layup and has come to the ground, then runs into B2 out of bounds. If B2 had been in bounds, no doubt you call a pushing foul.

1. Ball still on rim when contact occurs (live ball)
2. Goal has scored, but team B has yet to get control of ball (dead ball period)

I'm thinking no-call in both cases. B2 is out of bounds, so he cannot have a "legal" guarding position. Also, a foul prevents the opponent from performing normal offensive or defensive movements. Being oob, would already prevent him from performing those.

Adam Mon Jan 05, 2009 05:50pm

1. foul on A1. If the foul does not require LGP, then the player may be out of bounds.
2. Ignore it unless it's intentional or flagrant.

If the contact prevents B2 from getting back onto the court, for example, you have your advantage/disadvantage.

All players are entitled to their spot.

Spence Mon Jan 05, 2009 10:10pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by tjchamp (Post 564807)
Can a player standing out of bounds draw a foul (other than intentional or flagrant)? For example, B2 is out of bounds under the basket (momentum or some other legal reason). At the same time, A1 has just finished a layup and has come to the ground, then runs into B2 out of bounds. If B2 had been in bounds, no doubt you call a pushing foul.

1. Ball still on rim when contact occurs (live ball)
2. Goal has scored, but team B has yet to get control of ball (dead ball period)

I'm thinking no-call in both cases. B2 is out of bounds, so he cannot have a "legal" guarding position. Also, a foul prevents the opponent from performing normal offensive or defensive movements. Being oob, would already prevent him from performing those.

Unless it was a violent collision I'd probably go with incidental contact. I'm trying to picture how hard a player shooting at the rim, even coming off a drive, can run into a player standing under the basket out of bounds.

Adam Mon Jan 05, 2009 11:25pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Spence (Post 564903)
Unless it was a violent collision I'd probably go with incidental contact. I'm trying to picture how hard a player shooting at the rim, even coming off a drive, can run into a player standing under the basket out of bounds.

Let's assume it knocks B2 to the floor. Still going incidental?

Go back to the OP. This is contact that you would judge a foul if B2 was standing in bounds. You have no basis to change that ruling if B2 is standing still when A1 runs into him.

deecee Tue Jan 06, 2009 12:13am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 564928)
Let's assume it knocks B2 to the floor. Still going incidental?

ive worked games where shoelaces knock a player to the ground :D

Adam Tue Jan 06, 2009 12:21am

Quote:

Originally Posted by deecee (Post 564961)
ive worked games where shoelaces knock a player to the ground :D

Nice. :) I've had players get knocked over by anxiety. They were anxious about getting run over so they fell before the contact could happen.

However....

But you know what I meant.

OHBBREF Tue Jan 06, 2009 08:04am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 564809)
2. Ignore it unless it's intentional or flagrant.

If the contact prevents B2 from getting back onto the court, for example, you have your advantage/disadvantage.

All players are entitled to their spot.

Legally obtained position on the floor
OOB is not addressed - so yes ignore unless it is intentional or flagrant.

Adam Tue Jan 06, 2009 09:05am

Quote:

Originally Posted by OHBBREF (Post 565033)
Legally obtained position on the floor
OOB is not addressed - so yes ignore unless it is intentional or flagrant.

Are you serious? B2 obtained his position legally by momentum. That's a given for the case play; otherwise you have a violation.

If B2 obtained his position legally, and gets knocked to the floor by what would be a common foul anywhere else on the floor, call the foul!

ma_ref Tue Jan 06, 2009 11:44am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 565057)
Are you serious? B2 obtained his position legally by momentum. That's a given for the case play; otherwise you have a violation.

If B2 obtained his position legally, and gets knocked to the floor by what would be a common foul anywhere else on the floor, call the foul!

You can't obtain legal position OOB. It is not part of the playing court. The fact that the player ended up there via a legal method (momentum, etc) simply means there was no violation commited by the player, but still doesn't change the fact that they have no legal position on the playing court. So unless the contact is flagrant or intentional, I'm going with nothing if a player gets contacted OOB.

Adam Tue Jan 06, 2009 11:54am

Quote:

Originally Posted by ma_ref (Post 565143)
You can't obtain legal position OOB. It is not part of the playing court.

Bull puckey. Where is the rule that says this? You can't find it.

You can't have LGP standing OOB, but that's it. This foul doesn't require LGP since B2 is not moving.

Show me the rule that says B2 isn't entitled to a position just because it's out of bounds.

OHBBREF Tue Jan 06, 2009 12:53pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by tjchamp (Post 564807)
B2 is out of bounds under the basket (momentum or some other legal reason). At the same time, A1 has just finished a layup and has come to the ground, then runs into B2 out of bounds.

Where is the foul? That is incidental contact unless it is intentional or flagrant
the shooter came down and ran into another player who is not part of the play and the contact does not effect the play, if the player contacted is OOB. it did not prevent him from doing anything - s/he can not rebound the ball from OOB, and if the basket goes it is dead ball, so you are going to make a foul call - dead ball contact OOB - in this situation?

ma_ref Tue Jan 06, 2009 01:05pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 565153)
Bull puckey. Where is the rule that says this? You can't find it.

You can't have LGP standing OOB, but that's it. This foul doesn't require LGP since B2 is not moving.

Show me the rule that says B2 isn't entitled to a position just because it's out of bounds.

Yeah, I think I was confusing things with LGP being an issue here, which it's not.

Adam Tue Jan 06, 2009 01:08pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by OHBBREF (Post 565185)
Where is the foul? That is incidental contact unless it is intentional or flagrant
the shooter came down and ran into another player who is not part of the play and the contact does not effect the play, if the player contacted is OOB. it did not prevent him from doing anything - s/he can not rebound the ball from OOB, and if the basket goes it is dead ball, so you are going to make a foul call - dead ball contact OOB - in this situation?

Let's assume it's contact that is a foul if it happens anywhere else on the court. Let's assume that the contact knocked the player to the floor, preventing him/her from returning to the inbounds area. Let's assume the basket is missed.

It certainly does affect play. On what basis do you have incidental contact?

just another ref Tue Jan 06, 2009 02:12pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 565153)
Bull puckey.

Not sure why, but I just got a cold chill. IT IS ALIVE

Adam Tue Jan 06, 2009 02:15pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 565234)
Not sure why, but I just got a cold chill. IT IS ALIVE

I figured someone should offer a memorial every now and then. :)

I'd tell M&M to STFU, but I'm too busy laughing about a moving screen I read about.

OHBBREF Tue Jan 06, 2009 02:27pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 565193)
Let's assume it's contact that is a foul if it happens anywhere else on the court. Let's assume that the contact knocked the player to the floor, preventing him/her from returning to the inbounds area. Let's assume the basket is missed.

It certainly does affect play. On what basis do you have incidental contact?

I was working from the OP and that was not involved, however I am still 99 out of a hundred times calling this incidental contact, unless it is excessive, Flagrant or intentional. becuase if the player is out OOB they are not a part of the play at that moment, because they are not on the floor.

So now you answer the question
Assume the basket goes in and the colission knocks B to the floor, it is a Dead ball and B cannot get the ball to inbound it, are you going to make the foul call with contact during a dead ball?

Adam Tue Jan 06, 2009 02:33pm

It was part of the OP, I just made it more specific.
Quote:

Originally Posted by tjchamp (Post 564807)
If B2 had been in bounds, no doubt you call a pushing foul.

If it's a foul you'd call with the player in bounds, it's a foul when he's out of bounds (assuming LGP isn't an issue)

Quote:

Originally Posted by OHBBREF (Post 565249)
I was working from the OP and that was not involved, however I am still 99 out of a hundred times calling this incidental contact, unless it is excessive, Flagrant or intentional. becuase if the player is out OOB they are not a part of the play at that moment, because they are not on the floor.

So now you answer the question
Assume the basket goes in and the colission knocks B to the floor, it is a Dead ball and B cannot get the ball to inbound it, are you going to make the foul call with contact during a dead ball?

It doesn't matter if B can get to the ball, it's incidental unless it's intentional or flagrant. Since the ball is dead, this is easy. The OP was very clear on asking about if the ball was still live.

Now, if the collision happened before the basket went in, I'd treat it like rebounding contact. If A3 knocks B2 to the floor in rebounding action prior to the ball going in, do you call it?

OHBBREF Tue Jan 06, 2009 02:57pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 565255)
Now, if the collision happened before the basket went in, I'd treat it like rebounding contact. If A3 knocks B2 to the floor in rebounding action prior to the ball going in, do you call it?

If B2 had an oportunity to be involved in the play - in other words if the ball came off the rim in an area where possibly B could have gotten a rebound had they not been knocked down I may have a foul call. However if the ball was to the left and B is to the right side I'm probably going to rule the contact incidental since it has no bering on the play on the ball.

Adam Tue Jan 06, 2009 03:06pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by OHBBREF (Post 565269)
If B2 had an oportunity to be involved in the play - in other words if the ball came off the rim in an area where possibly B could have gotten a rebound had they not been knocked down I may have a foul call. However if the ball was to the left and B is to the right side I'm probably going to rule the contact incidental since it has no bering on the play on the ball.

it doesn't have to have a bearing on the "play on the ball," IMO. What if B is the point guard and his teammate is looking to pass to him now? Displacement does not really require an obvious advantage in this situation. Normal pushing and shoving? Okay, I'm with you. Knocking an opponent down during a live ball needs to be called, though.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:05am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1