The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Running the endline after a made hoop (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/50656-running-endline-after-made-hoop.html)

rbruno Fri Jan 02, 2009 03:02pm

Running the endline after a made hoop
 
Gentlemen:

This happened in a Christmas travel team tournament last week.
NHSF rules.
After a made hoop by Team B, player A-1 picks up the loose ball and steps out of bounds. He runs two steps or so behind the endline before passing to A-2 who has now stepped completely out of bounds next to him. A-2 drops the pass and then picks it up again and completes the throw in to A-3 inbounds.
Team B coach is calling for a violation saying that A-2 cannot drop and pick up the ball "like that". We play on and after the game I explain to him that A-2 has done nothing illegal and can do whatever behind the endline after a made hoop etc. as long as they (A-1, A-2) release the throw in within 5 seconds.
Can't find any precident in the rule/case book to back me up on this, but I'm sure I am correct..... am I??

Adam Fri Jan 02, 2009 03:04pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by rbruno (Post 563714)
Can't find any precident in the rule/case book to back me up on this, but I'm sure I am correct..... am I??

The fact that you couldn't find anything to back you up isn't relevant. The fact is, you can't find anything in there to back the coach up. If it's not illegal, it's legal.

tjones1 Fri Jan 02, 2009 03:14pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 563716)
The fact that you couldn't find anything to back you up isn't relevant. The fact is, you can't find anything in there to back the coach up. If it's not illegal, it's not legal.

What he said... well sort of... ;)

If it's not illegal, then it's legal.

mutantducky Fri Jan 02, 2009 03:16pm

If after a made basket a player picks up the ball, and is set to throw in but tosses the ball to the ref. Does the ref stop the count, throw the ball back? I saw that once and the coach wanted a violation but none was called and I didn't think any should have been.
A delay of game warning for a player that tosses to a ref and the ball bounces off so the player has to chase it. keep counting five seconds or pause? Or blow the whistle to stop the clock and no delay?

Nevadaref Fri Jan 02, 2009 03:18pm

The play was perfectly legal. The coach was wrong. Big surprise. :eek:

A player may bounce the ball OOB prior to making the throw-in pass. What's the difference between purposely bouncing it and dropping it to the floor accidentally? In this case nothing.

9.2.2 SITUATION D: A1 dribbles the ball on floor on the out-of-bounds area before making a throw-in. RULING: Legal, a player may bounce the ball on the out-of-bounds area prior to making a throw-in.

Nevadaref Fri Jan 02, 2009 03:21pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mutantducky (Post 563721)
If after a made basket a player picks up the ball, and is set to throw in but tosses the ball to the ref. Does the ref stop the count, throw the ball back? I saw that once and the coach wanted a violation but none was called and I didn't think any should have been.
A delay of game warning for a player that tosses to a ref and the ball bounces off so the player has to chase it. keep counting five seconds or pause? Or blow the whistle to stop the clock and no delay?

Don't take this thread in that direction. Go put your comment in this thread:

http://forum.officiating.com/basketb...ame-sitch.html

Adam Fri Jan 02, 2009 03:30pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by tjones1 (Post 563720)
What he said... well sort of... ;)

If it's not illegal, then it's legal.

Oops. I fixed it.

Adam Fri Jan 02, 2009 03:31pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 563725)
Don't take this thread in that direction. Go put your comment in this thread:

http://forum.officiating.com/basketb...ame-sitch.html

Better yet, read the thread first. You'll find every possible answer there.

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Fri Jan 02, 2009 05:04pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 563716)
The fact that you couldn't find anything to back you up isn't relevant. The fact is, you can't find anything in there to back the coach up. If it's not illegal, it's legal.


Snaqs:

Are you talking logic lessons from Yogi Berra? :D

MTD, Sr.

Nevadaref Fri Jan 02, 2009 05:12pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. (Post 563745)
Snaqs:

Are you talking logic lessons from Yogi Berra? :D

MTD, Sr.

YouTube - Aflac

dbking Fri Jan 02, 2009 09:38pm

This was recently posted on KS official newsletter web site.
Team B can roll the ball to each other, bounce pass it, dribble it. All are legal. Just have to make sure that the ball is released for throw in before 5 count is up.

refnrev Fri Jan 02, 2009 09:54pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by tjones1 (Post 563720)
What he said... well sort of... ;)

If it's not illegal, then it's legal.

TJ are you becoming the new grammar guy? Before long you'll be using really really big words like mbyron!:p

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Fri Jan 02, 2009 09:59pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 563747)


I laugh till I cry everytime I see that commercial. It probably my all time favorite commercial.

MTD, Sr.

mbyron Sat Jan 03, 2009 09:28am

Quote:

Originally Posted by refnrev (Post 563786)
TJ are you becoming the new grammar guy? Before long you'll be using really really big words like mbyron!:p

Please don't complain, or the mods will begin bowdlerizing my posts! ;)

icallfouls Sat Jan 03, 2009 10:49am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 563723)
The play was perfectly legal. The coach was wrong. Big surprise. :eek:

A player may bounce the ball OOB prior to making the throw-in pass. What's the difference between purposely bouncing it and dropping it to the floor accidentally? In this case nothing.

9.2.2 SITUATION D: A1 dribbles the ball on floor on the out-of-bounds area before making a throw-in. RULING: Legal, a player may bounce the ball on the out-of-bounds area prior to making a throw-in.

Extra bit of info.
Can a player bounce pass to another player OOB after a made basket?

This is one that we batted around here for a few days, the answer was surprizing.

NO. The pass must be a direct pass to the teammate also OOB, not a bounce pass. This is from the NFHS, and our State R.I.

However, a player dribbling OOB is not a violation.

In case you all wanted to know.

refnrev Sat Jan 03, 2009 11:11am

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbyron (Post 563875)
Please don't complain, or the mods will begin bowdlerizing my posts! ;)

I don't think so. I'm pretty sure you get kicked off the off the forum if your caught bowdlerizing! Isn't that a felony in most states?:):p:rolleyes::confused:

BillyMac Sat Jan 03, 2009 11:59am

"If the world were perfect, it wouldn't be." ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. (Post 563789)
I laugh till I cry every time I see that commercial.

I'm sure that ChuckElias doesn't laugh, and just cries, when he sees that commercial.

Like ChuckElias, I'm a Red Sox fan also, but unlike almost all Red Sox fans, I'm one of the few who is not a Yankee hater, and Yogi is one of my favorite Yankees. I loved his aggressive attitude at the plate. He is probably one of the all time leaders in home runs hit on balls outside the strike zone, in some cases way outside the strike zone. As a hitter, he never met a pitch he didn't like.

BillyMac Sat Jan 03, 2009 12:03pm

This Is News To Me, Bad News, But Still News ???
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by icallfouls (Post 563886)
Can a player bounce pass to another player OOB after a made basket? NO. The pass must be a direct pass to the teammate also OOB, not a bounce pass. This is from the NFHS.

I disagree, but I can't find a citation to support my interpretation. Can you please offer a citation to support your interpretation?

Adam Sat Jan 03, 2009 12:28pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by icallfouls (Post 563886)
Extra bit of info.
Can a player bounce pass to another player OOB after a made basket?

This is one that we batted around here for a few days, the answer was surprizing.

NO. The pass must be a direct pass to the teammate also OOB, not a bounce pass. This is from the NFHS, and our State R.I.

However, a player dribbling OOB is not a violation.

In case you all wanted to know.

Show me the NFHS interpretation, and the R.I. interp, if you could. This is legal as the rules are written.

dbking Sat Jan 03, 2009 01:26pm

From the Land of OZ
 
This is directly from the KSHSAA website.

SITUATION OF THE WEEK #1

Team A scores, B1 retrieves the ball and steps out of bounds. B2 steps out of bounds on the opposite side of the end line. B1 bounce passes the ball to B2. Is this legal?

RULING: NFHS Rule 7-5-7a – Any player of the team may make a direct throw-in or he/she may pass the ball along the end line to a teammate(s) outside the boundary. The rule does not specify the ball cannot be bounced to the other player. The ball could be passed via a chest pass, overhead pass, bounce pass or could be rolled to the other player (B2) but all this must take place within 5 seconds.

Adam Sat Jan 03, 2009 01:43pm

Kansas may have screwed up on the coaching box rule :), but y'all got this one right.

BillyMac Sat Jan 03, 2009 01:45pm

Agree, Additional Citations Please ???
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by dbking (Post 563942)
NFHS Rule 7-5-7a.

7-5-7a: A throw-in anywhere along the end line after a goal or an awarded goal for basket interference or goaltending by a defensive player, as in 9-12 Penalty 1, the team not credited with the score shall make a throw-in from the end of the court where the goal was made and from any point outside the endline. a. Any player of the team may make a direct throw-in or he/she may pass the ball along the end line to a teammate(s) outside the boundary.

dbking: I agree with you, but would love to see additional citations from outside the Sunflower State, hopefully from the NFHS. What's going on in the Ocean State? Maybe the salt air isn't good for you?

Adam Sat Jan 03, 2009 01:47pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 563947)
A throw-in anywhere along the end line after a goal or an awarded goal for basket interference or goaltending by a defensive player, as in 9-12 Penalty 1, the team not credited with the score shall make a throw-in from the end of the court where the goal was made and from any point outside the end
line. a. Any player of the team may make a direct throw-in or he/she may pass the ball along the end line to a teammate(s) outside the boundary.

dbking: I agree with you, but would love to see additional citations from outside the Sunflower State, hopefully from the NFHS.

Billy, IMO, we don't need more citations. There's nowhere else where the rules differentiate between a bounce pass and any other kind of pass. Back to what I said on another topic. If it isn't illegal, it's legal. There is no rule that makes this illegal.

BillyMac Sat Jan 03, 2009 01:58pm

Consider Me Your Agent (10%) ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 563948)
If it isn't illegal, it's legal.

Good quote.

"If it isn't illegal, it's legal." © 2009 Snaqwells

Mark Padgett Sat Jan 03, 2009 02:09pm

"It isn't illegal unless I say it is." © Dick Cheney

bob jenkins Sat Jan 03, 2009 05:16pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark Padgett (Post 563955)
"It isn't illegal unless I say it is." © Dick Cheney

"it isn't ******* illegal." c Rod Blagojavich

Adam Sat Jan 03, 2009 05:38pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 564011)
"it isn't ******* illegal." c Rod Blagojavich

I thought that was Mrs. Blogojavich. I must have misread the transcripts. :)

Nevadaref Sun Jan 04, 2009 02:43am

Quote:

Originally Posted by icallfouls (Post 563886)
Extra bit of info.
Can a player bounce pass to another player OOB after a made basket?

This is one that we batted around here for a few days, the answer was surprizing.

NO. The pass must be a direct pass to the teammate also OOB, not a bounce pass. This is from the NFHS, and our State R.I.

However, a player dribbling OOB is not a violation.

In case you all wanted to know.

Extra, extra bit of information. :D

That is not true. :(

mbyron Sun Jan 04, 2009 10:46am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 563951)
Good quote.

"If it isn't illegal, it's legal." © 2009 Snaqwells

Unfortunately, like most generalizations, there are exceptions. Still, it works in in the vast majority of cases.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:12am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1