The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Correctable?--end of half shot (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/50571-correctable-end-half-shot.html)

BillyMac Sun Dec 28, 2008 02:00pm

Referee, Umpire(s), Table ???
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 562137)
The R gets to make the decision when the officials disagree on whether or not a goal shall count.

2-5-3: The referee shall: Decide whether a goal shall count if the officials disagree.

Good point to include this rule in the thread.

Also, if the table gets involved:

3-13-3: If the timer’s signal fails to sound, or is not heard, the timer shall go onto the court or use other means to immediately notify the referee. If in the meantime, a goal has been made or a foul has occurred, the referee shall consult the timer:
ART. 1 . . . If table officials agree that time expired before the ball was in flight, the goal shall not count.
ART. 2 . . . If table officials agree that the quarter or extra period ended, as in 5-6-2 before the foul occurred, the foul shall be disregarded, unless it was intentional or flagrant.
ART. 3 . . . If table officials disagree, the goal shall count and/or the foul shall be penalized, unless the referee has knowledge which alters such ruling.

just another ref Sun Dec 28, 2008 02:23pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 562137)
Ok, let's say that the covering official (U) counts the goal and the other official (R) saw it as late, but is unaware that his partner scored it.
They fail to discuss the play during halftime because each one thought it was handled properly and are unaware of any problem.

When play resumes in the 3rd quarter the same team who was credited with the goal at the end of the 2nd quarter has the AP arrow. They inbound and score a basket on that possession. The opposing coach now requests a time-out because he believes that the score is wrong. He can't understand why his team is trailing by six instead of only four. He thought that he was only down two at halftime.

So now the R becomes aware that his partner incorrectly counted the goal at the end of the 1st half. Since this is a correctable error and the R gets to make the decision when the officials disagree on whether or not a goal shall count, he can still make the change.


Okay, the coach thought the goal didn't count even though the official signaled that it did, and then didn't notice the wrong score until after play had started and there was another score.

uh-huh

Let's just say it is EXTREMELY unlikely that the time limit would come into play for this type of correction.

Nevadaref Sun Dec 28, 2008 02:28pm

Ok, try this one.

The R incorrectly counts the goal at the end of the 2nd quarter. Both the U1 and U2 tell him that it was late. The R won't budge. The U1 and U2 don't want to make a scene on the court, so the crew goes to the lockerroom for the intermission. During the intermission and while in the lockerroom the U1 and U2 get in the R's face and tell him that he flat-out blew the call and that he needs to stop being so stubborn and correct it.
After some good yelling the R finally relents.
When the crew takes the court again, the R goes to the table and changes the call.

OHBBREF Mon Dec 29, 2008 08:21am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 562143)
After some good yelling the R finally relents.
When the crew takes the court again, the R goes to the table and changes the call.

Question:
Did the R have leave the game or change his shirt due to Blood Saturation?
Then the U's need to take him back to the lockroom and "Yell" some more


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:30am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1