![]() |
Correctable?--end of half shot
FED Rules.
Christmas tourney, my crew is in changing room when officials from ongoing game come in at halftime. R had last shot responsibilities and counted basket at buzzer. Now he is talking to his partners about the play and he realizes that he blew the call, ball was released after buzzer. U1 has no opinion but U2 says ball definitely was released late. Discussion ensues amongst all of us whether it is a correctable error. I say it is (erroneously awarding a basket). We pulled out rules and case books but nothing directly addressed this situation. Crew decided not take the points off the board. Game turned into a blow-out and 2 points had no affect on outcome. Opinions, interps, or relevant case plays please. OT: When we arrived at the game in 2nd quarter there was a long delay. Turns out a player threw up during a live ball. No one word if he threw up on anybody's shoes. |
Not sure whether this is a correctable error(2-10) or not. As per the passage you cite, I don't see why it wouldn't be. But this is certainly a call that can be changed when the official realizes his mistake, either on his own or after receiving input from a partner.
|
It's a correctable error for the reason that you gave.
2.10.1 Sit C says that you are still within the proper time frame for correction. |
For Coaches, And Fanboys, Without Casebooks ...
Quote:
The time frame is certainly within correctable error guidelines. This situation deals with the only correctable error that doesn't involve free throws, or no free throws. I've always wondered exactly what "erroneously counting or canceling a score" meant. Casebook plays describe examples involving basketball interference, and three/two point shots. I believe that we can all agree that this is within the time frame to be correctable, so let's view this situation without the distraction of halftime, or any other time frame issue. Shot "at" buzzer ending first period. Trail official counts it. While players are heading to bench, officials meet at center circle to discuss the last second shot, and decide, as a group, that the buzzer came before the release. Basket is waved off. That's how I would view this situation. My only question, is this a true correctable error, or is this officials getting together to to make a decision, i.e. correction, advice, or help, on an out of bounds call? |
Quote:
I sorta had the same question, but decided the answer is: What's the difference? |
If the official had counted a properly timed shot as a three instead of a two, they could fix it as a correctable error. This is no different.
|
Curiosity Killed The Cat, Not The Official ...
Quote:
|
Quote:
There are other aspects of the game in which a mistake by the officials or table crew either cannot be fixed at all once it happens or can be changed whenever it is noticed prior to the end of the game. Think of throw-ins to the wrong team and booking keeping mistakes. Therefore, whether the situation in the OP is classified as a correctable error or simply a missed call and a partner providing help would impact WHEN this mistake can fixed. If it is a CE then the goal can be cancelled even after the 2nd half has started. The officials would have until the first dead ball after the clock has properly started in the 3rd quarter becomes live to make the correction. If it is merely a help situation, then once the ball becomes live to begin the 3rd quarter the goal must stand, just like any OOB call. It's too late to fix it once play restarts. |
Error, Or Help ???
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
Quote:
Two point shot made with a toe on the 3 point line during play. The covering official incorrectly signals a three. The clock is running and his partner doesn't halt play despite clearly observing the location of the shooter's feet. After the throw-in the opposing team advances the ball to the other end of the court and a foul is called. The officials must correct the error and properly award only two points for the previous goal before the ball becomes live again. |
Thanks, Got It, I Think ...
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
They fail to discuss the play during halftime because each one thought it was handled properly and are unaware of any problem. When play resumes in the 3rd quarter the same team who was credited with the goal at the end of the 2nd quarter has the AP arrow. They inbound and score a basket on that possession. The opposing coach now requests a time-out because he believes that the score is wrong. He can't understand why his team is trailing by six instead of only four. He thought that he was only down two at halftime. So now the R becomes aware that his partner incorrectly counted the goal at the end of the 1st half. Since this is a correctable error and the R gets to make the decision when the officials disagree on whether or not a goal shall count, he can still make the change. |
Referee, Umpire(s), Table ???
Quote:
Good point to include this rule in the thread. Also, if the table gets involved: 3-13-3: If the timer’s signal fails to sound, or is not heard, the timer shall go onto the court or use other means to immediately notify the referee. If in the meantime, a goal has been made or a foul has occurred, the referee shall consult the timer: ART. 1 . . . If table officials agree that time expired before the ball was in flight, the goal shall not count. ART. 2 . . . If table officials agree that the quarter or extra period ended, as in 5-6-2 before the foul occurred, the foul shall be disregarded, unless it was intentional or flagrant. ART. 3 . . . If table officials disagree, the goal shall count and/or the foul shall be penalized, unless the referee has knowledge which alters such ruling. |
Quote:
Okay, the coach thought the goal didn't count even though the official signaled that it did, and then didn't notice the wrong score until after play had started and there was another score. uh-huh Let's just say it is EXTREMELY unlikely that the time limit would come into play for this type of correction. |
Ok, try this one.
The R incorrectly counts the goal at the end of the 2nd quarter. Both the U1 and U2 tell him that it was late. The R won't budge. The U1 and U2 don't want to make a scene on the court, so the crew goes to the lockerroom for the intermission. During the intermission and while in the lockerroom the U1 and U2 get in the R's face and tell him that he flat-out blew the call and that he needs to stop being so stubborn and correct it. After some good yelling the R finally relents. When the crew takes the court again, the R goes to the table and changes the call. |
Quote:
Did the R have leave the game or change his shirt due to Blood Saturation? Then the U's need to take him back to the lockroom and "Yell" some more |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:44am. |