The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 20, 2008, 06:58pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 2,279
Eventful day

Had three JVB games today. First game we had a player reach across the boundary line and contact the ball. Called the T but kicked it when I gave it to the team and not the player.

The next game A1 and B1 were going for a rebound and ended up on the floor. B's team had gotten the rebound and started up court when A1 kicked at B1 but didn't really contact him. If he did it was very minor. I felt like I couldn't let it go though so we went with the intentional personal. What do you guys think? It definitely wasn't flagrant.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 20, 2008, 07:08pm
certified Hot Mom tester
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: only in my own mind, such as it is
Posts: 12,918
Lightbulb

Quote:
Originally Posted by zm1283 View Post
Had three JVB games today. First game we had a player reach across the boundary line and contact the ball. Called the T but kicked it when I gave it to the team and not the player.
One way to remember this is that if a single player accounts for the technical, the T is on him (he reached through and hit the ball). If the player contributed only 50% (or less) to the technical (second or third, etc. player to violate the boundary without hitting the ball) then the T is on the team.

Also remember that hitting the ball and getting the T also counts as a warning.
__________________
Yom HaShoah
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 20, 2008, 07:12pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 2,279
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark Padgett View Post
One way to remember this is that if a single player accounts for the technical, the T is on him (he reached through and hit the ball). If the player contributed only 50% (or less) to the technical (second or third, etc. player to violate the boundary without hitting the ball) then the T is on the team.

Also remember that hitting the ball and getting the T also counts as a warning.
Got it, thanks.

Yeah I had the scorer record the warning for delay because of the T.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 20, 2008, 07:15pm
Ch1town
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by zm1283 View Post
The next game A1 and B1 were going for a rebound and ended up on the floor. B's team had gotten the rebound and started up court when A1 kicked at B1 but didn't really contact him. If he did it was very minor. I felt like I couldn't let it go though so we went with the intentional personal. What do you guys think? It definitely wasn't flagrant.
I don't think it fits the intentional "personal" foul category as there was no contact. By rule, once you put air in it, I believe the only two options you had were an unsporting technical foul (frustrasted player) or a flagrant technical foul (damn knucklehead).

Last edited by Ch1town; Sat Dec 20, 2008 at 07:23pm.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 20, 2008, 07:17pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,191
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ch1town View Post
I don't think it fits the "personal" foul category as there was no contact. By rule, once you put air in it, I believe the only two options you had were an unsporting technical foul (frustrasted player) or a flagrant technical foul (damn knucklehead).
If you think there was contact (even the slightest amount), an intentional personal might work here. If you're sure there wasn't, go with the T.

Personally, I like the T better on this.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 20, 2008, 07:19pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 2,279
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ch1town View Post
I don't think it fits the "personal" foul category as there was no contact. By rule, once you put air in it, I believe the only two options you had were an unsporting technical foul (frustrasted player) or a flagrant technical foul (damn knucklehead).
Is unsporting technical the live ball T? Would that be the same if a player told another one to F-off during a live ball?

It wasn't a flagrant for sure. If it were, why would it be a flagrant technical and not a flagrant personal?
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 20, 2008, 07:24pm
Ch1town
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by zm1283 View Post
Is unsporting technical the live ball T? Would that be the same if a player told another one to F-off during a live ball?

It wasn't a flagrant for sure. If it were, why would it be a flagrant technical and not a flagrant personal?
Yes

Personal fouls involve contact & your post led me to believe that you were unsure. I think if we are unsure then it didn't happen, keeps us out of trouble.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 20, 2008, 07:27pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 2,279
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ch1town View Post
Yes

Personal fouls involve contact & your post led me to believe that you were unsure. I think if we are unsure then it didn't happen, keeps us out of trouble.
Thanks guys, I appreciate the help.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:16am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1