The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   2 steps without dribbling on fastbreak (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/50442-2-steps-without-dribbling-fastbreak.html)

LDUB Fri Dec 19, 2008 09:56pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by btaylor64 (Post 559935)
you do have a pivot foot it just is not designated yet.

What about after a jump stop when neither foot can be the pivot foot?

Quote:

Originally Posted by btaylor64 (Post 559935)
Trying to be smart and literal about the rules will get you nowhere.

The same can be said for trying to make up your own phrase to describe a rule instead of using the rule book term. You said "you must have a pivot foot in order to dribble" when all you had to say was that a dribble cannot be started after lifting the pivot foot.

btaylor64 Fri Dec 19, 2008 10:10pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by LDUB (Post 559936)
What about after a jump stop when neither foot can be the pivot foot?

You aren't allowed to dribble in that situation. I don't know where you are going with this????



Quote:

Originally Posted by LDUB (Post 559936)
The same can be said for trying to make up your own phrase to describe a rule instead of using the rule book term. You said "you must have a pivot foot in order to dribble" when all you had to say was that a dribble cannot be started after lifting the pivot foot.


I didn't make up my own phrase. it sounds like i paraphrased the rule and didn't quote it. Either way they are both correct. What do you mean "all i had to say was"??? I said what you said in the exact amount of words it took you to say your rule book quote?

This is a moot point... and the point being "a dribble cannot be started after lifting the pivot foot"

refnrev Fri Dec 19, 2008 10:58pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 559902)
The traveling rule is all about the pivot foot. If you understand which foot is the pivot foot and what can be done with the pivot foot, then everything else because very easy. The problem is we call thing that "look funny" but we do not identify the pivot foot or what was done with that foot.

Peace

Rut's got a good point. Lots of times things look funny but are legal. Thats when I make it a point to shake my head back and forth to signify that i saw it but "I got nothin.'"

just another ref Sat Dec 20, 2008 01:53am

Quote:

Originally Posted by jevaque (Post 559846)
why is it not a travel on a fast break when a player catches the ball and then takes his or her 2 steps towards the basket for a lay-up and it is any other time????:confused:

If the truth be told the reason many of these are not travels is because it is so difficult to see exactly when the dribbler catches the ball.

If it mighta been a travel it ain't a travel.

But with the benefit of slow motion replay, a considerable percentage of lay-ups would indeed be travels.

Camron Rust Sat Dec 20, 2008 03:27am

Quote:

Originally Posted by btaylor64 (Post 559939)
You aren't allowed to dribble in that situation. I don't know where you are going with this????

You sure can. But you must do so before either foot is lifted.

Adam Sat Dec 20, 2008 01:07pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 560010)
You sure can. But you must do so before either foot is lifted.

Yup Yup.

btaylor64 Sat Dec 20, 2008 06:59pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 560010)
You sure can. But you must do so before either foot is lifted.

I have to disagree with you. If you have no pivot foot, which is the case in this one, or you have lifted your pivot foot in the air prior to dribbling then you have exhausted your opportunity to dribble as you no longer have a pivot foot and your only options are shooting or passing.

Adam Sat Dec 20, 2008 07:10pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by btaylor64 (Post 560166)
I have to disagree with you. If you have no pivot foot, which is the case in this one, or you have lifted your pivot foot in the air prior to dribbling then you have exhausted your opportunity to dribble as you no longer have a pivot foot and your only options are shooting or passing.

What's your rule basis for this? Where does it say you must have a pivot foot in order to dribble?

Camron Rust Sat Dec 20, 2008 07:58pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by btaylor64 (Post 560166)
I have to disagree with you. If you have no pivot foot, which is the case in this one, or you have lifted your pivot foot in the air prior to dribbling then you have exhausted your opportunity to dribble as you no longer have a pivot foot and your only options are shooting or passing.

Rule 4-44-4 b would disagree with you....
4-44 Traveling...
ART 4. After coming to a stop when neither foot can be a pivot:
a One or both fee may be lifted, but may not be returned to the floor before the ball is released on a pass or a try for a goal
b. Neither foot may be lifted before the ball is released to start a dribble.

BillyMac Sat Dec 20, 2008 08:17pm

I Am Curious (Yellow) ???
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 560192)
Neither foot may be lifted before the ball is released to start a dribble.

I don't want to have a dog in this fight, but I'm curious. What if a player grabbed a rebound, and while both feet were still in the air, started a dribble? Legal?

bob jenkins Sat Dec 20, 2008 09:31pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 560196)
I don't want to have a dog in this fight, but I'm curious. What if a player grabbed a rebound, and while both feet were still in the air, started a dribble? Legal?

Of course.

Camron Rust Sun Dec 21, 2008 09:00pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 560196)
I don't want to have a dog in this fight, but I'm curious. What if a player grabbed a rebound, and while both feet were still in the air, started a dribble? Legal?

As Bob said...of course.

Why you might wonder...because it is BEFORE the pivot foot (which is yet to be determined) is lifted. ;)

Adam Mon Dec 22, 2008 11:42am

Quote:

Originally Posted by btaylor64 (Post 560166)
I have to disagree with you. If you have no pivot foot, which is the case in this one, or you have lifted your pivot foot in the air prior to dribbling then you have exhausted your opportunity to dribble as you no longer have a pivot foot and your only options are shooting or passing.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 560192)
Rule 4-44-4 b would disagree with you....
4-44 Traveling...
ART 4. After coming to a stop when neither foot can be a pivot:
a One or both fee may be lifted, but may not be returned to the floor before the ball is released on a pass or a try for a goal
b. Neither foot may be lifted before the ball is released to start a dribble.

Game, set, match!


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:21am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1