The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   2 steps without dribbling on fastbreak (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/50442-2-steps-without-dribbling-fastbreak.html)

jevaque Fri Dec 19, 2008 05:31pm

2 steps without dribbling on fastbreak
 
why is it not a travel on a fast break when a player catches the ball and then takes his or her 2 steps towards the basket for a lay-up and it is any other time????:confused:

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Fri Dec 19, 2008 05:43pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by jevaque (Post 559846)
why is it not a travel on a fast break when a player catches the ball and then takes his or her 2 steps towards the basket for a lay-up and it is any other time????:confused:



jevaque:

By definition, if A1 catches a pass, gains control of the ball (assuming he did not already have control of ball), or stops his dribble with both feet in the air, then he is allowed to land on one foot (his left (LF) foot for this illustration), jump off the LF, land on his RF, then jump in the air off his RF and release the ball for a try or pass. That is not traveling.

MTD, Sr.

bob jenkins Fri Dec 19, 2008 05:56pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by jevaque (Post 559846)
why is it not a travel on a fast break when a player catches the ball and then takes his or her 2 steps towards the basket for a lay-up and it is any other time????:confused:

Because the rules don't say anything about "two steps" (or any other number of steps).

If the player doesn't move his / her pivot foot in excess of what's allowed, it's legal. If s/he does, it's illegal -- whether on a fast-break layup or any other time.

jevaque Fri Dec 19, 2008 06:01pm

so its really one step correct? just as if you were standing with the ball and left foot is pivot and then u step out with ur right foot and jump off ur rt. foot to pass or shoot..

bob jenkins Fri Dec 19, 2008 06:03pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by jevaque (Post 559860)
so its really one step correct?

Wrong.

Nevadaref Fri Dec 19, 2008 06:07pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by jevaque (Post 559860)
so its really one step correct? just as if you were standing with the ball and left foot is pivot and then u step out with ur right foot and jump off ur rt. foot to pass or shoot..

No, bob just told you that there is no set amount of steps. The rule does work that way. The traveling rule hinges upon the movement of the pivot foot. You need to learn how a pivot foot is established and how it can legally be moved and how it can't. Then you will understand your posed situation.

BillyMac Fri Dec 19, 2008 07:33pm

"Let's have a little traveling music Sammy"
 
The traveling rule is one of the most misunderstood rules in basketball. To start a dribble, the ball must be released before the pivot foot is lifted. On a pass or a shot, the pivot foot may be lifted, but may not return to the floor before the ball is released.

JRutledge Fri Dec 19, 2008 07:40pm

The traveling rule is all about the pivot foot. If you understand which foot is the pivot foot and what can be done with the pivot foot, then everything else because very easy. The problem is we call thing that "look funny" but we do not identify the pivot foot or what was done with that foot.

Peace

JugglingReferee Fri Dec 19, 2008 08:05pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 559902)
The traveling rule is all about the pivot foot. If you understand which foot is the pivot foot and what can be done with the pivot foot, then everything else because very easy. The problem is we call things that "look funny" but we do not identify the pivot foot or what was done with that foot.

Peace

becomes?

JRutledge Fri Dec 19, 2008 08:09pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JugglingReferee (Post 559910)
becomes?

What do you think?

Peace

JugglingReferee Fri Dec 19, 2008 08:16pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 559911)
What do you think?

Peace

I think your brain was moving faster than your fingers.

JRutledge Fri Dec 19, 2008 08:34pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JugglingReferee (Post 559914)
I think your brain was moving faster than your fingers.

It is called a typo. Those tend to happen from time to time. ;)

Peace

btaylor64 Fri Dec 19, 2008 09:19pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by jevaque (Post 559846)
why is it not a travel on a fast break when a player catches the ball and then takes his or her 2 steps towards the basket for a lay-up and it is any other time????:confused:

virtually, on the play you are talking about in particular, the "two steps" you refer to are legal, because the player catches the ball and lands on his first foot, which is now considered his pivot, followed by his second, which is his non pivot. A player is allowed to come off of his pivot foot but is not allowed to put that pivot foot back down, until he shoots or passes. He is not allowed to dribble as he has no pivot foot at this point in time, and as we all know you must have a pivot foot in order to dribble.

LDUB Fri Dec 19, 2008 09:37pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by btaylor64 (Post 559932)
as we all know you must have a pivot foot in order to dribble.

A player can start a dribble before establishing a pivot foot. After some jump stops neither foot may be the pivot foot but a dribble can be started.

btaylor64 Fri Dec 19, 2008 09:52pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by LDUB (Post 559934)
A player can start a dribble before establishing a pivot foot. After some jump stops neither foot may be the pivot foot but a dribble can be started.

you do have a pivot foot it just is not designated yet. plays such as the one stated and a play where the player jumps in the air and then decides that he/she wanted to dribble instead are cases in which they no longer have a pivot foot. Trying to be smart and literal about the rules will get you nowhere.

LDUB Fri Dec 19, 2008 09:56pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by btaylor64 (Post 559935)
you do have a pivot foot it just is not designated yet.

What about after a jump stop when neither foot can be the pivot foot?

Quote:

Originally Posted by btaylor64 (Post 559935)
Trying to be smart and literal about the rules will get you nowhere.

The same can be said for trying to make up your own phrase to describe a rule instead of using the rule book term. You said "you must have a pivot foot in order to dribble" when all you had to say was that a dribble cannot be started after lifting the pivot foot.

btaylor64 Fri Dec 19, 2008 10:10pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by LDUB (Post 559936)
What about after a jump stop when neither foot can be the pivot foot?

You aren't allowed to dribble in that situation. I don't know where you are going with this????



Quote:

Originally Posted by LDUB (Post 559936)
The same can be said for trying to make up your own phrase to describe a rule instead of using the rule book term. You said "you must have a pivot foot in order to dribble" when all you had to say was that a dribble cannot be started after lifting the pivot foot.


I didn't make up my own phrase. it sounds like i paraphrased the rule and didn't quote it. Either way they are both correct. What do you mean "all i had to say was"??? I said what you said in the exact amount of words it took you to say your rule book quote?

This is a moot point... and the point being "a dribble cannot be started after lifting the pivot foot"

refnrev Fri Dec 19, 2008 10:58pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 559902)
The traveling rule is all about the pivot foot. If you understand which foot is the pivot foot and what can be done with the pivot foot, then everything else because very easy. The problem is we call thing that "look funny" but we do not identify the pivot foot or what was done with that foot.

Peace

Rut's got a good point. Lots of times things look funny but are legal. Thats when I make it a point to shake my head back and forth to signify that i saw it but "I got nothin.'"

just another ref Sat Dec 20, 2008 01:53am

Quote:

Originally Posted by jevaque (Post 559846)
why is it not a travel on a fast break when a player catches the ball and then takes his or her 2 steps towards the basket for a lay-up and it is any other time????:confused:

If the truth be told the reason many of these are not travels is because it is so difficult to see exactly when the dribbler catches the ball.

If it mighta been a travel it ain't a travel.

But with the benefit of slow motion replay, a considerable percentage of lay-ups would indeed be travels.

Camron Rust Sat Dec 20, 2008 03:27am

Quote:

Originally Posted by btaylor64 (Post 559939)
You aren't allowed to dribble in that situation. I don't know where you are going with this????

You sure can. But you must do so before either foot is lifted.

Adam Sat Dec 20, 2008 01:07pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 560010)
You sure can. But you must do so before either foot is lifted.

Yup Yup.

btaylor64 Sat Dec 20, 2008 06:59pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 560010)
You sure can. But you must do so before either foot is lifted.

I have to disagree with you. If you have no pivot foot, which is the case in this one, or you have lifted your pivot foot in the air prior to dribbling then you have exhausted your opportunity to dribble as you no longer have a pivot foot and your only options are shooting or passing.

Adam Sat Dec 20, 2008 07:10pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by btaylor64 (Post 560166)
I have to disagree with you. If you have no pivot foot, which is the case in this one, or you have lifted your pivot foot in the air prior to dribbling then you have exhausted your opportunity to dribble as you no longer have a pivot foot and your only options are shooting or passing.

What's your rule basis for this? Where does it say you must have a pivot foot in order to dribble?

Camron Rust Sat Dec 20, 2008 07:58pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by btaylor64 (Post 560166)
I have to disagree with you. If you have no pivot foot, which is the case in this one, or you have lifted your pivot foot in the air prior to dribbling then you have exhausted your opportunity to dribble as you no longer have a pivot foot and your only options are shooting or passing.

Rule 4-44-4 b would disagree with you....
4-44 Traveling...
ART 4. After coming to a stop when neither foot can be a pivot:
a One or both fee may be lifted, but may not be returned to the floor before the ball is released on a pass or a try for a goal
b. Neither foot may be lifted before the ball is released to start a dribble.

BillyMac Sat Dec 20, 2008 08:17pm

I Am Curious (Yellow) ???
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 560192)
Neither foot may be lifted before the ball is released to start a dribble.

I don't want to have a dog in this fight, but I'm curious. What if a player grabbed a rebound, and while both feet were still in the air, started a dribble? Legal?

bob jenkins Sat Dec 20, 2008 09:31pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 560196)
I don't want to have a dog in this fight, but I'm curious. What if a player grabbed a rebound, and while both feet were still in the air, started a dribble? Legal?

Of course.

Camron Rust Sun Dec 21, 2008 09:00pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 560196)
I don't want to have a dog in this fight, but I'm curious. What if a player grabbed a rebound, and while both feet were still in the air, started a dribble? Legal?

As Bob said...of course.

Why you might wonder...because it is BEFORE the pivot foot (which is yet to be determined) is lifted. ;)

Adam Mon Dec 22, 2008 11:42am

Quote:

Originally Posted by btaylor64 (Post 560166)
I have to disagree with you. If you have no pivot foot, which is the case in this one, or you have lifted your pivot foot in the air prior to dribbling then you have exhausted your opportunity to dribble as you no longer have a pivot foot and your only options are shooting or passing.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 560192)
Rule 4-44-4 b would disagree with you....
4-44 Traveling...
ART 4. After coming to a stop when neither foot can be a pivot:
a One or both fee may be lifted, but may not be returned to the floor before the ball is released on a pass or a try for a goal
b. Neither foot may be lifted before the ball is released to start a dribble.

Game, set, match!


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:33pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1