The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Interesting backcourt violation (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/50428-interesting-backcourt-violation.html)

hilltopperref Fri Dec 19, 2008 08:06am

Interesting backcourt violation
 
Had this happen last night. I think my partner got it right but feel free to chime in.

Situation;

A1 attempts a 3 pont shot. B1 blocks the attempt. The ball is batted to almost half court when the ball goes off of A2's shoe. A1 retrieves the ball in the backcourt, partner call a violation. A team coach goes nuts. I think my partner got it right. what do you think

Nevadaref Fri Dec 19, 2008 08:11am

Quote:

Originally Posted by hilltopperref (Post 559617)
Had this happen last night. I think my partner got it right but feel free to chime in.

Situation;

A1 attempts a 3 pont shot. B1 blocks the attempt. The ball is batted to almost half court when the ball goes off of A2's shoe. A1 retrieves the ball in the backcourt, partner call a violation. A team coach goes nuts. I think my partner got it right. what do you think

Nope. Team control ended when the try was released.
Your partner kicked it.

Bad Zebra Fri Dec 19, 2008 08:21am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 559618)
...Your partner kicked it.

Nope. Player A2 kicked it. :D

bob jenkins Fri Dec 19, 2008 08:43am

Quote:

Originally Posted by hilltopperref (Post 559617)
I think my partner got it right.

Why do you think this?

mbyron Fri Dec 19, 2008 08:53am

I had an unusual BC call. A1 is dribbling in his front court, and B1 knocks the ball out of his hand toward the BC. A1 fumbles the ball in the FC, steps into the BC and recovers the ball. Tweet!

The coach was unhappy. "He didn't have control!" Me: "he doesn't have to, coach." We go on. At the half, I ask him what he had, and end up explaining that the rule requires team control, not player control. He thanked me. Sweet!

hilltopperref Fri Dec 19, 2008 09:01am

At the time it seemed right, but now that I think about it, it is not.

mutantducky Fri Dec 19, 2008 03:50pm

aw yes the sweet smell of hindsight

zm1283 Fri Dec 19, 2008 05:29pm

I had one the other day where A1 was dribbling in the frontcourt. B1 knocks it away. As A1 goes to recover the ball that was still in the frontcourt, his just starts dribbling again. Only problem was his first dribble lands on the division line.

Another one happened where A1 was dribbling in the frontcourt. B1 slaps it away. A1 jumps from the frontcourt, catches it in the air, and lands in the backcourt. A's coach tried to use the "momentum" argument, but to no avail.

BillyMac Fri Dec 19, 2008 06:51pm

Backcourt
 
The four elements for having this violation are: there must be team control; the ball must have achieved frontcourt status; the team in team control must be the last to touch the ball in frontcourt; that same team must be the first to touch after the ball has been in the backcourt.

Nevadaref Fri Dec 19, 2008 06:58pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 559883)
The four elements for having this violation are: there must be team control; the ball must have achieved frontcourt status; the team in team control must be the last to touch the ball in frontcourt; that same team must be the first to touch after the ball has been in the backcourt.

Those are the requirements for a backcourt violation under provision 9-9-1.

Please do not fail to note that the same elements are not required for a backcourt violation under 9-9-2.

BillyMac Fri Dec 19, 2008 07:46pm

Good Point ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 559888)
Please do not fail to note that the same elements are not required for a backcourt violation under 9-9-2.

9-9-2: While in team control in its backcourt, a player shall not cause the
ball to go from backcourt to frontcourt and return to backcourt, without the ball touching a player in the frontcourt, such that he/she or a teammate is the first to touch it in the backcourt.

Back In The Saddle Sat Dec 20, 2008 02:01am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Bad Zebra (Post 559623)
Nope. Player A2 kicked it. :D

Only if it's intentional ;)

bob jenkins Sat Dec 20, 2008 08:26am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 559888)
Those are the requirements for a backcourt violation under provision 9-9-1.

Please do not fail to note that the same elements are not required for a backcourt violation under 9-9-2.

That's because Billy mis-typed the requirements.

1) TC
2) Ball in FC (note: PC in FC is not required)
3) A last to touch before goes to BC (not, as was said, "touch in FC")
4) A first to touch after goes to BC (and I would claim that touching in BC is not needed)

referee99 Sat Dec 20, 2008 10:19am

Would try be 'released'...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 559618)
Nope. Team control ended when the try was released.
Your partner kicked it.

... if, say, a player from behind swatted the ball off of the player's hand as they went up? So ball ultimately leaves player with the ball's hand, but not from their action.

Adam Sat Dec 20, 2008 01:22pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by referee99 (Post 560051)
... if, say, a player from behind swatted the ball off of the player's hand as they went up? So ball ultimately leaves player with the ball's hand, but not from their action.

No try, no try-release, team control continues.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:29pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1