The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 18, 2008, 01:26pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 265
Rules Interp. Question

We had a crew that had the following situation. They had an overtime game. The jumpers lined up for the jump ball incorrectly. Team A won the jump and scored on the first possession. As soon as they scored (Before B inbounded) one of the refs realized they jumped incorrectly and sounded his whistle. OK I understand the ruling although they messed it up as they awarded B 2 points and A the ball out of bounds, no clue how they forgot the rule. Anyway. My question and discussion with other officials is where to put the ball into play after you turn the teams around so they are going the right direction. The rule book says to resume play with throw-in at POI. The POI was a made bucket by A. I said that I would have took the ball to the other end of the court (a's correct basket) and allowed B to run the endline. Others said they would have kept it in B's frontcourt and just administered a spot throw-in. Which do you think would be correct.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 18, 2008, 01:27pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,180
Go to the other end -- as if A had scored in the "correct" basket.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 18, 2008, 02:13pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 265
i agree

That is what I think should happen, however many people in my chapter disagree with me.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 18, 2008, 02:19pm
M.A.S.H.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 5,030
I agree with Bob (and you).
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 18, 2008, 02:43pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 569
4-36-2(a) ???
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 18, 2008, 04:58pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 552
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scratch85 View Post
4-36-2(a) ???
How is this citation relevant to this discussion?
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 18, 2008, 03:06pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,673
Send a message via MSN to IREFU2 Send a message via Yahoo to IREFU2
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
Go to the other end -- as if A had scored in the "correct" basket.
I concur as well.
__________________
Score the Basket!!!!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 18, 2008, 04:45pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Add one more log to the agreement woodpile.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 19, 2008, 09:46am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 226
What if Bob misread the OP?? Still agree...

Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
Go to the other end -- as if A had scored in the "correct" basket.
The OP said A scored and they counted the points for B, did it not? If that were the case, then it would be A's throw in under the basket they just scored in.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 19, 2008, 09:49am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by Texref View Post
The OP said A scored and they counted the points for B, did it not? If that were the case, then it would be A's throw in under the basket they just scored in.
The OP also noted that the refs screwed up by doing so. Your question seems to be about how to screw up correctly.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 19, 2008, 09:54am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 226
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbyron View Post
The OP also noted that the refs screwed up by doing so. Your question seems to be about how to screw up correctly.

---From the OP---My question and discussion with other officials is where to put the ball into play after you turn the teams around so they are going the right direction. The rule book says to resume play with throw-in at POI. The POI was a made bucket by A. I said that I would have took the ball to the other end of the court (a's correct basket) and allowed B to run the endline. Others said they would have kept it in B's frontcourt and just administered a spot throw-in. Which do you think would be correct.---

Based on what the officials actually did (which was give B the points) then the throw-in would be for A (running baseline) under the basket they just scored in.

Now, if the OP was asking if they handled the situation in general correctly, the answer would be no. If both teams and officials went the wrong way, score the points as though they happened in the correct basket, in other words, A gets the points they scored, and then administer the throw in (in this case an end line w/ ability to run) to B under A's correct basket.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 19, 2008, 10:28am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by Texref View Post
---From the OP---My question and discussion with other officials is where to put the ball into play after you turn the teams around so they are going the right direction. The rule book says to resume play with throw-in at POI. The POI was a made bucket by A. I said that I would have took the ball to the other end of the court (a's correct basket) and allowed B to run the endline. Others said they would have kept it in B's frontcourt and just administered a spot throw-in. Which do you think would be correct.---

Based on what the officials actually did (which was give B the points) then the throw-in would be for A (running baseline) under the basket they just scored in.

Now, if the OP was asking if they handled the situation in general correctly, the answer would be no. If both teams and officials went the wrong way, score the points as though they happened in the correct basket, in other words, A gets the points they scored, and then administer the throw in (in this case an end line w/ ability to run) to B under A's correct basket.
The problem is that what the OP wrote and I have put in red is not true.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
INT Interp tcannizzo Softball 32 Sun Aug 06, 2006 08:33am
NCAA Rules Interp help NSABlue Softball 1 Wed Mar 15, 2006 09:59am
NFHS Rules interp dpomeroy Football 11 Sun Oct 07, 2001 12:54am
rules interp meetings Brian Watson Basketball 11 Fri May 18, 2001 07:27am
FED Interp, please? JJ Baseball 28 Fri Mar 23, 2001 01:58am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:13pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1