The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Correctable Error? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/50294-correctable-error.html)

BBall_Junkie Thu Dec 11, 2008 04:17pm

W Sohl...

Snaqs, Rocky and Mr. West all have this correct. Once you re-read 2-10 I think you will agree as well.

just another ref Thu Dec 11, 2008 04:28pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 557555)
I'm not a fan, either. I'd like to see A get the ball at the spot of the foul on this.

I agree with you. Correction, though. I said A gets nothing. They do get the opportunity to rebound their own missed free throw. Still kinda sucks.

Scratch85 Thu Dec 11, 2008 04:29pm

Wrinkle: Team A is in the double bonus but is erroneously awarded a 1-1. The first FT is missed and rebounded by B. Team B advances the ball and misses a try, this happens on both ends by both teams a couple of times and no baskets are made. Finally, a violation by Team B causing a dead ball and the clock to stop. Officials are notified of the error during the dead ball.

What is the correction? Do we resume play with the FT or award it to one of the teams? If we award it to one of the teams, where do we spot it?

rwest Thu Dec 11, 2008 04:36pm

Clear the Lane and shoot 1
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Scratch85 (Post 557558)
Wrinkle: Team A is in the double bonus but is erroneously awarded a 1-1. The first FT is missed and rebounded by B. Team B advances the ball and misses a try, this happens on both ends by both teams a couple of times and no baskets are made. Finally, a violation by Team B causing a dead ball and the clock to stop. Officials are notified of the error during the dead ball.

What is the correction? Do we resume play with the FT or award it to one of the teams? If we award it to one of the teams, where do we spot it?

Since we are still in the correctable time provided by rule, we correct the error by having team A shoot one free throw, with the lane cleared. Team A will then get the ball at the spot nearest the violation.

Adam Thu Dec 11, 2008 04:37pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Scratch85 (Post 557558)
Wrinkle: Team A is in the double bonus but is erroneously awarded a 1-1. The first FT is missed and rebounded by B. Team B advances the ball and misses a try, this happens on both ends by both teams a couple of times and no baskets are made. Finally, a violation by Team B causing a dead ball and the clock to stop. Officials are notified of the error during the dead ball.

What is the correction? Do we resume play with the FT or award it to one of the teams? If we award it to one of the teams, where do we spot it?

1. Remember where the ball was to be put in.

2. Shoot the free throw with the lane cleared.

3. Put the ball in to team A at the spot of B's violation.

Adam Thu Dec 11, 2008 04:38pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 557557)
I agree with you. Correction, though. I said A gets nothing. They do get the opportunity to rebound their own missed free throw. Still kinda sucks.

If they'd made the free throw, you could cancel the FT and give A the ball for the throwin. :)

bob jenkins Thu Dec 11, 2008 04:45pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 557554)
So A's unmerited free throws are canceled, and instead A is awarded.........
nothing. This one kinda sucks, doesn't it?

As I've often said (and it's just my interp) -- the rule is written this way so all involved have an incentive to prevent the CE. What looks like an advantage (hey -- we get to shoot unmerited FTs) can turn into a disadvantage (what do you mean the points are taken off and we don't get the ball).

w_sohl Thu Dec 11, 2008 07:16pm

I am so glad that I participated...
 
Thanks guys for making me look this up. I have forever thought that the way I described it was correct. I am going to delete my post so as to not confuse new officials.

I'm kind of embarassed. I've been doing this for far to long to think that was correct.

rockyroad Fri Dec 12, 2008 01:10am

Quote:

Originally Posted by w_sohl (Post 557579)
Thanks guys for making me look this up. I have forever thought that the way I described it was correct. I am going to delete my post so as to not confuse new officials.

I'm kind of embarassed. I've been doing this for far to long to think that was correct.

No worries...even us "old" guys need to get into the books on a regular basis. That's one of the things that makes this board so good. Well, that and all the short jokes.

refnrev Fri Dec 12, 2008 09:17pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by budjones05 (Post 557467)
A1 is fouled by B1. The table says we are in the bonus. A1 shoots and misses the 1st shot when Team B rebounds the ball. The table buzzes us over and says its only 6 fouls...

--------------------

Had just the opposite thing last night. I called a foul. Reported it and looked at scoreboard. It shows 6 fouls. We inbound ball. Later table tells my partner that it should have been 7. Thanks good ness it was noticed when it was in the proper time frame to be a correctable error.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:28pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1