![]() |
Correctable Error?
A1 is fouled by B1. The table says we are in the bonus. A1 shoots and misses the 1st shot when Team B rebounds the ball. The table buzzes us over and says its only 6 fouls. So I give team B the ball because of the POI since they had possession of the ball when the table buzz us over. Did I do this right? And if possible, can I have the case and rule book number. Thanks
|
Rule is 2-10, case play should be similar.
|
Quote:
A.R. 22. Before the bonus rule is in effect, B1 fouls A1. The official errs by awarding A1 a one-and-one attempt. (3) A1 misses the front end of the one-and-one and the game clock starts, at which time the official detects the error; RULING: (3) Team A shall be awarded the ball at a designated spot nearest to where the foul occurred. The free throw(s) and activity during it, other than any technical foul, a flagrant personal foul or an intentional personal foul shall be canceled. Any points scored, time consumed and additional activity that may occur before the recognition of the error, shall not be nullified. |
Quote:
2.10.1G(c) You were right. |
Quote:
I just wanted to clear that up for newer officials. <s>In other words, if A1 hits the first and misses the second now B rebounds and scores, A rebounds and scores and B once again before clock stops or error is recognized B would keep the four points it scored, A gets the two but loses the free throw and then they get the ball OOB nearest the spot where the fould occured.</s> |
Quote:
And if it's not, A would get the ball for an endline due to the POI, not the foul. |
Quote:
My spot may be wrong, but I think it is right.</s> |
Quote:
As for the spot: once you have a change in possession, you'll go to POI after the correction. |
Quote:
<s>Correct and the clock never stopped in my sitch. They were all made baskets with no violations, fouls or timeouts. Clock never stopped so we have yet to have a 2nd live clock after the error was discovered. In my sitch you can still correct.</s> |
Quote:
If the error occurs while the clock is running, it must be discovered and corrected prior to the 2nd live ball. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
This is not correctable
Quote:
|
Quote:
nothing. This one kinda sucks, doesn't it? |
Quote:
|
W Sohl...
Snaqs, Rocky and Mr. West all have this correct. Once you re-read 2-10 I think you will agree as well. |
Quote:
|
Wrinkle: Team A is in the double bonus but is erroneously awarded a 1-1. The first FT is missed and rebounded by B. Team B advances the ball and misses a try, this happens on both ends by both teams a couple of times and no baskets are made. Finally, a violation by Team B causing a dead ball and the clock to stop. Officials are notified of the error during the dead ball.
What is the correction? Do we resume play with the FT or award it to one of the teams? If we award it to one of the teams, where do we spot it? |
Clear the Lane and shoot 1
Quote:
|
Quote:
2. Shoot the free throw with the lane cleared. 3. Put the ball in to team A at the spot of B's violation. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
I am so glad that I participated...
Thanks guys for making me look this up. I have forever thought that the way I described it was correct. I am going to delete my post so as to not confuse new officials.
I'm kind of embarassed. I've been doing this for far to long to think that was correct. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
Had just the opposite thing last night. I called a foul. Reported it and looked at scoreboard. It shows 6 fouls. We inbound ball. Later table tells my partner that it should have been 7. Thanks good ness it was noticed when it was in the proper time frame to be a correctable error. |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:01am. |